Skip to content

out and about

April 27, 2010

. . . . . . .

i’ve been out and about lately … with the warmer weather, less time is spent at home and indoors and more of it is spent outside. and i love taking my Lomo LC-A with me when i leave the flat, since it’s compact and fits in my pocket. i’m really enjoying the lomo shots i’m getting. i have a new type of film loaded in the camera now and i am going to cross-process it … looking forward to that.

also, i’m going to be contributing to “words to shoot by” – head over there to see interpretations of the word RIPPLE this week. such talented photographers! i’m happy to be involved.

finally, i have been listening to josh ritter’s new album on repeat for the past 24 hours. in some ways, i think josh is my favorite singer/songwriter. he is honest and true and his songs just blow me away. and no matter how my music taste may change from year to year, i always listen to a lot of josh. in 2008, i saw him perform outdoors in a small venue (photos here) and it was magic. i’m going to miss him on his upcoming tour sadly, but if you can get tickets to one of his shows, you must go. (you can thank me later)

have a good day!

18 Comments
  1. April 27, 2010 6:41 am

    i saw josh this past year & really loved it. my husband & i danced in the back!
    really great photos.
    i especially love the new “words to shoot by” photos.

  2. tara thayer permalink
    April 27, 2010 7:45 am

    thanks so much for the npr link-i can actually listen to the whole album that way! loving it. as always, you are my go-to source for music. (no pressure.;)

  3. April 27, 2010 8:05 am

    Love the street art, I have just posted about a wonderful Australian street artist on my blog.

  4. April 27, 2010 9:05 am

    Yep. Love the street graffiti too. It has a Banksy look to it. Could it have been?

  5. Jean P. permalink
    April 27, 2010 9:17 am

    Care must be taken to gush only just enough (not too much), but coming here almost every morning is like waking to find a little surprise parcel has been left for me — with pretty pictures on top but goodies inside that often are the loveliest treats of the day. And you make it all look and sound so easy. Thanks, Brian.

  6. April 27, 2010 9:35 am

    i love all the portals in these photos.

    in case you missed it, there’s a great daytrotter session with josh posted last week which you can download:
    http://www.daytrotter.com/dt/josh-ritter-concert/20030754-19717.html

  7. April 27, 2010 9:43 am

    Lovely pictures! My fave is the last one!

  8. April 27, 2010 10:27 am

    blue shoes = yes.

  9. April 27, 2010 11:19 am

    I’m with Hannah. That photo is my favorite of the bunch.

  10. April 27, 2010 1:08 pm

    amazing! i am LOVING that blue door! Wish I could paint my door at home :)

  11. April 27, 2010 1:19 pm

    I LOVE these photos, as always. Thanks for the Words to Shoot By link also, looks like a great project!

  12. April 27, 2010 1:29 pm

    great shots as always, and i like seeing so many at once!

  13. April 27, 2010 8:15 pm

    Yay for the Josh love! I second Stephanie’s nudge about his Daytrotter session – most excellent. I plan on spending some time tomorrow streaming his new album. I’m seeing him in Chicago in 3 weeks. He’s one of my favorite live shows.

  14. April 28, 2010 1:47 am

    Love the photos; thank you for sharing!

    If you’d like, please stop by my blog for a chance to win a fine art photographic giclee print…by me :)

  15. kate permalink
    April 28, 2010 11:54 am

    i LOVE all of these photos and love that you’ve been able to enjoy some nice weather over there this spring. it is such a hopeful time of year:)

  16. April 28, 2010 12:16 pm

    Oh, the last photo of the tulips by the door is just lovely, so sweet and simple. I wonder who they are for? I wish we could know the story.
    And yes indeed, the new Josh Ritter album is beyond fantastic. Every time I think I’ve picked a favorite song on it, another one comes on and I can’t decide.

  17. Ashley permalink
    April 28, 2010 4:17 pm

    For your Josh Ritter love…
    I offer you this little ditty:
    http://www.dailycandy.com/new-york/video/82677/Two-of-Our-Fave-Musicians-Married?refcd=email:441940:14

  18. May 20, 2010 2:46 am

    Love the photos – Cornelissen’s is one of my favourite shops in London!

Comments are closed.