Skip to content

NOLA, part 3

May 26, 2010

. . . . . . . .

the last of the new orleans photos, from my Lomo LC-A.  (by the way, the restaurant pictured above is cochon butcher, which was amazing. i had a pork belly sandwich with cucumber and mint on my way to the airport … wow).

and speaking of traveling, i’m getting ready for a little trip to berlin very soon and so travel is on my mind. when i am going somewhere new, i love to figure out the places i’d like to see and the food i’d like to eat while i’m there. but i will also collect images online or otherwise that get me inspired and excited for my trip. when i’m visiting a place, i always spend lots of time just walking around and exploring and of course i shoot lots of photos while i’m doing that. so i always like to have some visual references before i go. today, i thought i’d share some of my berlin visuals with you:

++ photos at freunde von freunden (i can’t read german, but the photos are amazing … my favorite set is the berlin apartment of fabian murmann – amazing)
++ sandra just visited berlin and you can see lots of her photos here
++ youngna’s berlin project (i’ve always loved this set of photos)

if you have any berlin photos/visuals to share, definitely drop me an email or leave a link in the comments – i’d love to see them.

have a great day.

25 Comments
  1. May 26, 2010 8:35 am

    wow! great links. i really love your first photo here. looks like new england {well, i guess that makes sense, lol}.

  2. May 26, 2010 8:38 am

    oh berlin!!!
    it is on my list for next year.
    well done, brian.

  3. May 26, 2010 8:41 am

    Your posts this week have been particularly splendiferous, Mr. Ferry. Seriously. We’re headed to Berlin soon, too, so all of these Berlin visuals have me pretty excited.

  4. May 26, 2010 8:47 am

    Really great! I haven’t yet been to Berlin.

  5. May 26, 2010 8:54 am

    Berlin is one of my favorite cities to take photos in. You’ll have a splendid time! A selection of my Berlin photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/eejones/sets/72157621888485336/ (Please forgive the hundreds of photos from the fedora photo shoot.)

    Be sure to go to the Maybachmarkt if you can – it’s a Turkish market in Kreuzberg. (Near the U-Bahn stop Schönleinstrasse. It’s generally a nice neighborhood, too.

  6. May 26, 2010 9:01 am

    If I wasn’t so lazy (ehem…) I could have dozens of film pictures to share with you, taken in Berlin back in 1994 and 1999 (I still didn’t scan them). I’ve been there twice, my best friend was german. I love Berlin so much… I was even going to live there for a while, but things happened and it didn’t happen.
    The first time, I stayed in an apartment in Alexanderplatz in those monoblocks made out of cardboard!
    Second time, I spent a couple of weeks in a flat near Rozenthalerplatz. I remember bars, coffeeshops and pubs. And the streets! So interestin…
    Anyway, I love Berlin. And I am planning to go back there sometime.
    Have a great time there!

  7. May 26, 2010 9:23 am

    Oh Berlin! How fun. You are meeting up with Mathias and Jördis, right?

    Here are my shots from Berlin exactly two years ago
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/astridhagen/sets/72157605263811314/

  8. May 26, 2010 9:46 am

    berlin is wonderful! here are some of my photos, not that great, but when i go again i’ll take better ones!
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/icetree/sets/72157621169331068/

  9. May 26, 2010 10:05 am

    Wonderful photos as usual. I might have to take up that camera a bit more often again.

    And those links….Fruende von freunden is a goldmine !!!!! Amazing stuff to see there, and yes, you picked the best one out of the bunch.

  10. May 26, 2010 10:11 am

    love the building in the first picture. The balconies are dreamy.
    I loved Berlin!
    great cafe’s and great people!

  11. May 26, 2010 10:55 am

    love your new orleans shots!

    when you come to berlin, do you think you could bring some london sunshine over? that would be so nice…

    i bet you already have tons of things plans, but if you still need some ideas, i have a small berlin blog alongside my main blog:
    http://mostlyberlin.blogspot.com/

    and i love berlin reified:
    http://www.berlinreified.com/

  12. hannah permalink
    May 26, 2010 11:21 am

    my best friends (not just) berlin pictures: http://fraeuleinzucker.blogspot.com/

  13. bird by bird permalink
    May 26, 2010 11:46 am

    great images and great links!

    have you seen this? posted on selectism recently…. http://www.selectism.com/news/2010/05/26/berlin-magazine/

    happy travels.

  14. jana permalink
    May 26, 2010 12:24 pm

    berlin is the best, i would love to live there someday. and to take photos, it’s just great. these are some of mine from my last trips:

    Mayra

    btw, your lomo shots are always great!

  15. May 26, 2010 2:18 pm

    That apartment makes me want to shout from the rooftops! Dreamy!

    Thanks for the links, and, as always, the pics.

  16. May 26, 2010 4:53 pm

    ooh. i love lines of the iron fence and haint blue ceiling photos positioned as they are.

    and, that sandwich sounds amazing. truly.

    also, looking forward to your eyes in berlin.

  17. May 26, 2010 5:15 pm

    A very photogenic city. Enjoy!

    Try to book in for morning or afternoon tea at the Reichstag – saves you queuing for hours to get in. It’s definitely worth a look, even if you do have to line up! The free walking tour is also worth it – really cool guides. Not your standard tour. And the graffiti – love it!

  18. May 26, 2010 8:02 pm

    Hey Brian!

    totally off topic.. but here is my ode to you and your recent series:
    http://adventuresinthegoodland.blogspot.com/2010/05/little-and-big.html

    thanks for the great work! (and for having a sense of humor?????)
    ;-)

  19. May 26, 2010 10:34 pm

    Oh, Cochon Butcher! We were in NOLA over last thanksgiving, and since there were five of us, we ordered pretty much the entire menu. And everything was amazing.

    Anyway, I’m excited to see Berlin through your eyes!

  20. Clare permalink
    May 27, 2010 6:42 am

    Bryan- I’m so excited for you! Berlin Reified is brilliant and I use Berlin Unlike too (http://berlin.unlike.net/). Rent a bike if you can, it’s the best way to see the city!

  21. May 27, 2010 7:28 am

    My 30th birthday surprise was a visit to Berlin. I instantly felt comfortable there!

    Highly recommend the Oberwasser cafe in the Prenzlauer Berg area. Highly recommend.

    Here are some of my photos.

    Birthday Currywurst
  22. May 31, 2010 12:38 am

    thanks for the lovely images. hope that Berlin treats you kindly

  23. May 31, 2010 5:38 am

    I can be here for our watching your pictures.
    Hug
    /L

  24. June 3, 2010 4:59 am

    From Berlin to New Orleans… another place I so loved. All that music and noise and colour and food. Ah, yes, two places I dearly loved and cannot wait to return to someday soon.

Comments are closed.