Skip to content

it was a famous night

June 10, 2010

. . . . . . . . . . . .

when molly was here, we enjoyed an epic meal at st. john with our friends charlotte, matt, christophe and gemma.

and, wow.  the space is simple but comfortable, the service was friendly, and the food simply blew us away. some of my favorites were the roast bone marrow & parsley salad, middlewhite pork, guinea fowl with radishes … well, i liked everything.  dessert (er, pudding) was also tremendous … i am a big fan of a good eccles cake, and i knew the version at st. john was notoriously good. with a slice of lancashire cheese, my eyes rolled back in my head and i am pretty sure i was moaning with happiness. the dozen warm madeleines that we ordered also induced moans at our table, and the brown sugar meringue with strawberries was excellent. plus, fergus henderson himself was there! it was a really special meal. 

. . . . . . .

also, just a reminder today about “sundays are for lovers“, which is officially released on june 15 – order a copy now! pre-ordered books are shipping this week, and i can’t wait for you to see how wonderful this book is.

next week, i’ll tell you more about my contribution with albam

in the meantime, you should stop by one of the Book Release Parties this week and next:

chelliswilson
17 Pleasant Street
Portland, Maine
June 11, 5–8 p.m.

Bird
203 Grand Street
Brooklyn, New York
June 15, 6–9 p.m.

i won’t be there, but one of my photographs will be on display and for sale.

and if you are curious, chelliswilson is sharing more about the contributors and artists on their blog: part I and part II

cheers!

19 Comments
  1. June 10, 2010 7:57 am

    Looks like it was a fun evening! A yummy one too.

  2. June 10, 2010 8:03 am

    Oh Lucky you, I have read so much about “St John” , it looks so fabulous and that menu ….. Wow , It has been on my London wish list for a while now …. and great pics once again.

  3. June 10, 2010 8:05 am

    I may have only had a tiny taste of both but I have been dreaming about the bone marrow and the eccles cake, think I might need to go back soon…

  4. June 10, 2010 8:14 am

    your title sums it up, brian. it was quite the night.

  5. Como Solo permalink
    June 10, 2010 8:20 am

    My book was posted yesterday!

  6. June 10, 2010 8:26 am

    :)
    thanks brian.

    and this night looks FANTASTIC.
    love a good epic night.

    xom

  7. June 10, 2010 8:27 am

    wow. i have no better words for this. sounds like an incredible night.

  8. June 10, 2010 8:29 am

    Sounds like a perfect night!

  9. June 10, 2010 8:42 am

    oh, that last photo of the long table…brian! and warm madeleines. i can’t even imagine that goodness.
    waiting for my book! looks so good.

  10. June 10, 2010 9:14 am

    i love restaurant photos…these are particularly great

  11. June 10, 2010 9:29 am

    YOUPI !
    I am so happy to see you finally have been there !
    I had a meal at St John’s two years ago and I remember every minute of it. Their food is gosh, so great !!!!
    Did you know there is a book available with their recipes ?

  12. June 10, 2010 10:47 am

    my only beef is that i wasn’t there! fun times!

  13. June 10, 2010 11:07 am

    It WAS a famous night. I loved seeing how happy that eccles cake made you! Nothing better. Wish we could do it again tonight.

  14. June 10, 2010 11:09 am

    WISH I had been there! It looks like my heaven – and with you there, of course!

  15. Christophe permalink
    June 10, 2010 2:53 pm

    Good times abound…Molly’s fork juggling was particularly impressive. ;-)

    And we were the last table standing!

    (Not sure I needed that second port though…)

  16. June 11, 2010 8:19 am

    congrats on the book :) I love photos of scenes from restaurants. and roast bone marrow seems to be what I’ve been having a lot of here in NY. just seems we end up going to restaurants with it on the menu. yum!

  17. June 11, 2010 12:05 pm

    It’s been six years since I traveled to London, where I had booked a reservation at St. John. Sadly, my travel companion was a recent convert to vegetarianism. She refused to go.

    She’s one of my best friends to this day, but I have not forgiven her. I should’ve eaten alone.

    Your meal sounds amazing.

    And the book looks gorgeous. Congratulations.

  18. June 11, 2010 12:13 pm

    Fun! And you with the restaurant shots. Always great, Brian.

    Weekend!

  19. June 14, 2010 8:07 am

    i received my copy of “sundays are for lovers” in the mail on friday. swoon! it is a thing of beauty. congrats again on being a part of it.

Comments are closed.