Skip to content

on the counter

June 15, 2010

that polaroid you see propped up in the photos above was snapped by molly when she was here – i love it.

. . . . . . . . . . .

my cupboards and fridge were bare for a few weeks, and i was eating most of my meals out. while i feel very lucky for the meals i’ve been eating and the friends that have been visiting, it’s always nice for me to settle back into a routine and to get back in my kitchen. i hit the jackpot at the farmer’s market this weekend, and my fridge is now full of good stuff. this weekend, i made the squash blossom pizza you see above (i sort of improvised) and let me tell you something: get squash blossoms however you can and put them on a pizza. you will be very, very happy you did.

see you back here tomorrow.

(and if you are in brooklyn/NYC, a reminder about the release party tonight!)

23 Comments
  1. June 15, 2010 8:57 am

    just out of curiosity… which is your favourite farmer’s market in London?

    • June 15, 2010 9:04 am

      ania: i don’t have a favorite, really – i usually go to the islington farmer’s market for pure convenience. it’s moved to chapel market temporarily (& i think the quality has suffered a bit), but this past weekend i found great stuff. i’d also like to try the stoke newington market on saturdays, and i’ve heard good things about marylebone on sundays. if you have a favorite, let me know. i usually prefer smaller farmer-run stalls.

  2. June 15, 2010 9:09 am

    digging the light in that first shot. also, totally impressed with the pizza you made! looks delicious.

  3. June 15, 2010 9:20 am

    I think that’s my favorite photo up there, the one of the squash blossoms. I’ve never heard of putting them on pizza, may have to try that, we have some in the garden right now!

  4. June 15, 2010 9:45 am

    Bravo Brian. You are a cool dude. The pictures are great. I love zucchini blossoms. First came to know them with my friend Anna at La Vecchia Quercia in Italy, She would stuff them with an anchovy and mozzarella cheese and then lightly batter and fry them. Incredible stuff.

  5. June 15, 2010 9:50 am

    Beautiful pizza! And those peas! June likes you, Mr. Ferry.

  6. June 15, 2010 10:19 am

    the pizza looks awesome!

  7. June 15, 2010 11:03 am

    i love your collection of food photos above your counter. and a molly polaroid! that one is special.

  8. June 15, 2010 12:25 pm

    Hey Brian, have you tried the farmer’s market at Alexandra Palace? It’s there on a Sunday.

  9. June 15, 2010 1:26 pm

    That pizza looks fantastic-I think I need to take your advice on that one. And these kitchen shots are so calming.

  10. June 15, 2010 1:32 pm

    Now my counter top just seems inadequate. Nice shots

  11. June 15, 2010 1:47 pm

    You’re pictures are gorgeous ! Love the first one … Great light ;o)

  12. June 15, 2010 10:16 pm

    I just happened on your blog ~ and the food photos immediately made me think of Molly from Orangette. I’m so psychic! You’re so talented too.

  13. June 16, 2010 4:48 am

    love them all. particularly the peas. and your pizza looks AMAZING ( i am a pizzaholic). may i ask how you made the dough? it looks perfect.

  14. June 16, 2010 8:36 am

    i’ll be over for pizza.

  15. lavienouveau permalink
    June 16, 2010 5:23 pm

    you have such an amazing eye!

  16. June 17, 2010 12:43 am

    the pizza looks delicious. your photos are just great – as ever!

  17. June 17, 2010 6:08 am

    Try the farmers’ market at the bottom of Parliament Hill on a Saturday: it’s the best and you can go to the fantastic cheap Italian cafe at the bottom of the Heath too: cheap pasta and calamari and good coffee. I used to love Marylebone too but now that there’s one nearer, on the Heath, I go there.

  18. June 17, 2010 3:28 pm

    Your meal looks wonderful! Fried Squash blossoms were an early summer staple growing up, and seeing your photos reminds me of afternoons at my grandmother’s house.

  19. June 18, 2010 5:08 pm

    Oh those peas are outstanding.

    And I am with you. Very pro squash blossoms on anything, especially pizza. Well done, Mr. Ferry.

  20. June 19, 2010 2:12 pm

    that pizza looks absolutely incredible. just out of curiousity, what is your recipe for crust? and did you pre-cook the squash blossoms before putting them on the pizza?

    • June 20, 2010 8:04 am

      for the pizza crust, i always use this recipe: http://smittenkitchen.com/2007/01/pizza-and-the-limits-of-diy/, with a few changes–
      i switch out about 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat flour. i also let the dough rise all day (or as long as i can), since i think it develops a better flavor that way. when i bake my pizza, i always use a pizza stone preheated for 30 minutes and i make sure my oven is at the highest temp it will go – cook it quickly (10 minutes) at that very high heat.

      and don’t pre-cook the squash blossoms, the high heat of the oven will cook them. they are delicate, so they don’t need much heat.

      enjoy!
      brian

  21. June 25, 2010 8:24 am

    I wholeheartedly concur about that squash blossoms on pizza. I had that combo about 5 times in Italy, and never got tired of it. Adding on some anchovies is also highly fantastic.

Comments are closed.