Skip to content

i could get used to this

June 18, 2010

. . . . . . . . .

is there anything better than a leisurely four-hour lunch on a saturday, sitting outside, laughing with friends, and eating the most unbelievable food? i don’t think so. molly, charlotte and i went to The River Café a few weekends ago and did just that. a bite of that pasta you see above rendered one of us a bit … speechless. everything was perfect; i’m not sure i can really express how delicious the food is here. the first time i visited was for dinner on a cold evening in january, and i had been scheming to visit again on a summer afternoon, to sit outside and enjoy a meal here again. 

if you have the chance to go … do it. save your pennies. you will not regret it.

i hope some good eating is planned for your weekend.  i can’t wait.  see you next week.

16 Comments
  1. June 18, 2010 11:38 am

    and i could get used to looking at your stunning pictures. perfect, as ever. i hope that i have the chance to visit the river café when i’m in london. hopefully soon again!

  2. June 18, 2010 11:46 am

    i think i am getting used to it. that could be a bit of a problem, non?

  3. June 18, 2010 11:53 am

    oh that pasta. i think i’ll be saving my pennies for next time.

  4. June 18, 2010 12:00 pm

    I know what you mean. I can’t seem to describe The River Cafe in any way that actually captures it. It’s very, very special, and it makes me happy to know that it exists at all.

    P.S. Proof of how hard it is for me to describe it: this comment took ten minutes to write.

    • June 18, 2010 12:02 pm

      molly, you’re not alone there. i promised to describe it to a friend and have been unable to even put down what we had, let alone find any coherent way of explaining the good.

  5. June 18, 2010 12:48 pm

    It seems crazy that in 2 years of London we haven’t made it there yet, need to rectify that soon.

  6. June 18, 2010 1:07 pm

    looks & sounds wonderful!

  7. June 18, 2010 1:16 pm

    That shot of espresso is Italian perfetto. Bravo. Love how the white table cloth contrasts with the green pesto pasta. Bravvissimo.

  8. June 18, 2010 1:52 pm

    The food looks amazing … I have their cookbook and used to watch the show they had on BBC. I would die happy if I could have a meal prepared there! Lovely!

  9. June 18, 2010 2:01 pm

    I could eat that every day. It looks lovely!

  10. June 18, 2010 4:50 pm

    Oh my. This is wonderful. I’ve got some delicious airplane food ahead of me this weekend, but it’s immediately followed by lobster and fried clams, so I’m thinking it will be worth it.

    Have a great weekend, Brian.

  11. June 19, 2010 12:52 am

    i slowly started realising that food is one of if the not the major happiness in my life right now! love a good long lunch

  12. June 19, 2010 3:48 am

    Yes, no rush, good friends and that delectable pasta… I like all three.

  13. June 19, 2010 12:53 pm

    Wow, would’ve never thought that to be pasta until you said it. All of it looks incredibly delicious. This place is going on my ‘one day’ list. Beautiful lighting in these photos, as well.

    Have a lovely weekend!

  14. June 20, 2010 6:11 am

    that look so good. holy cow.

  15. June 20, 2010 6:56 pm

    I love love love the River Café. Thank you for reminding me of it sublime exquisite-ness.

Comments are closed.