Skip to content

a picnic

July 5, 2010

polaroid taken by christophe. i love it.

. . . . . . . .

a gorgeous weekend, the fourth of july, summertime … there was a lot to celebrate. so we had a picnic.

we ate:
+ garden pea, broad bean and mint “hummus” on bread
+ salt and vinegar potato salad (my old standby)
+ blanched green beans, dipped in vinaigrette
+ speck
+ ripe cherries and goat cheese
+ blueberry cake, strawberries and cream for dessert

we drank wine and stretched out on the grass underneath a tree.

nigel slater wrote the following words this weekend, and i couldn’t agree more:
“I am not sure why this summer seems so vivid, with each day somehow more beautiful than the last. I only know that is the way it feels. The days are moving as if each hour is two, and every detail – a salad, a bunch of sweet peas or box of tiny broad beans – is somehow more rich than it would normally be. It is as if the colours, sounds and scents of summer have been turned up a notch.”

hope your weekend was excellent.

13 Comments
  1. July 5, 2010 12:21 pm

    seems like a pretty much perfect picnic! what a spread. i’m going to have to try that potato salad soon. happy 4th! i spent my time making sour cherry cobbler and floating about in a pool with some wine. not too shabby!

  2. July 5, 2010 1:13 pm

    I am fully convinced that Old Bay seasoning should be in everyone’s cabinet. Sounds like it was a lovely weekend Brian.

  3. July 5, 2010 1:34 pm

    summer does seem like it’s been turned up a notch this year. if only it wouldn’t go by so fast!

  4. July 5, 2010 3:07 pm

    looks and sounds like it was a lovely picnic!

  5. July 5, 2010 4:48 pm

    That sounds so good, and with such fine company, too. And nice photo cameo, Christophe!

  6. July 6, 2010 12:01 am

    Mmm, that picnic sounds amazing! And what a beautiful quote to go with it.

  7. July 6, 2010 3:16 am

    what a spot-on menu. and nigel slater’s writing gets me every single time. it feels so right to have an intense summer after such a harsh and long winter.

  8. July 6, 2010 4:42 am

    oh i agree with nigel. and that sounds so great. i love this summer. and your picnic menu sounds delicious!

  9. July 6, 2010 7:53 am

    I noticed that same passage from Nigel’s column when I read it – it really made me think. :)

  10. July 6, 2010 10:45 am

    I’m not sure why but I find it exceedingly delightful that you’re celebrating the 4th of July…in England. ;)

    It was a lovely weekend over here too and I just didn’t want it to end…I am craving more sunshine and more crisp fruit and more chirping crickets!

  11. July 6, 2010 3:00 pm

    love picnics. thanks for sharing yours.

    just finished making that broad bean recipe he wrote for the observer. added some spinach too. straight out of the garden. absolutely lovely.

  12. July 6, 2010 11:45 pm

    What a lovely quote. It’s amazing when someone else says something that captures one’s own thoughts so completely…I can’t quite seem to catch up with time these days, either :)

  13. July 12, 2010 1:29 pm

    I love that quote. All I know is that every color this summer has been turned up to 11.

Comments are closed.