Skip to content

black & white, the first

July 7, 2010

the lovely molly, shooting a photo with her pentax in my flat.

a delicious korean meal in soho, it hit the spot.

we saw ducktails play in stoke newington.

spuds.

london reflection.


friday night at the pub with xavier and jolayne.

. . . . . . . . .

a couple of weeks ago, my friend charlotte kindly gave me a roll of ilford delta 3200 black & white film. i’ve never shot B&W before, and it was a very different experience. molly gave me some tips while she was visiting, and it’s neat to see the results.  i’m looking forward to shooting more and getting better at it.  i’ll share more B&W photos with you here later.

24 Comments
  1. July 7, 2010 6:36 am

    I agree; shooting black and white is a very different experience. It’s growing on me and I think I’m starting to like it.

    Great debut here, Brian.

  2. Britgirl permalink
    July 7, 2010 6:36 am

    Beautiful photographs. To me, they have a late 1960s vibe to them, especially the one of Molly, who reminds me of my Mother in her early 20s.

  3. July 7, 2010 6:39 am

    As always, you did well:)
    A really gracious b&n

  4. July 7, 2010 7:47 am

    You did a terrific job! I have a love-hate relationship with B&W, some of my favourite photographs by others are in B&W, but I have such a hard time shooting with it myself.

  5. July 7, 2010 8:21 am

    Love these photos, great black and whites– I love the look of film…

  6. July 7, 2010 8:31 am

    It’s interesting to see how the eye changes when the film changes. I can definitely see the differences here, subtle but they are there. Welcome to black and white film! :)

  7. July 7, 2010 9:09 am

    I find your photography endlessly inspiring. Recently, I also shot my first roll of b/w film since photography class. I had forgotten how much I loved the shadows and the elegance of black and white. I find your photography calming, and I think the b/w enhances that effect. I look forward to seeing more.

  8. July 7, 2010 9:19 am

    Do you process your own film….if not where do you do it??? I’d love to know cause I’m in London too and I want to play with film too!

  9. margaret permalink
    July 7, 2010 9:57 am

    i really like the black and white — esp. the london reflection!

  10. Tiara permalink
    July 7, 2010 10:05 am

    Lovely photos. How did you shoot your 3200? Did you push the film at at?

  11. July 7, 2010 11:15 am

    Brian, you’re good.

  12. Frian Berry permalink
    July 7, 2010 12:01 pm

    Love! Love! Love!

  13. July 7, 2010 1:01 pm

    Very stunning photos. Black & white changes things so much…Lovely.

  14. July 7, 2010 1:14 pm

    i love b/w film..it really lends to the textures of your subjects…
    AMAZING first try! I would never have guessed this was your first try.

  15. July 7, 2010 2:44 pm

    These are great! Thank you for sharing!! Your sense of light and shadows is so applicable to b&w film.

  16. July 7, 2010 3:36 pm

    These are so so lovely.

  17. chiara permalink
    July 8, 2010 3:03 am

    reeaaaaally nice :)

  18. July 9, 2010 5:19 am

    great photos, I love the first one. :)

  19. July 9, 2010 10:00 am

    Just wanted to chime in to say I love these evocations of London life. (I lived in London for a couple of years before returning last year to NYC.) Discovered your site today via Manhattan User’s Guide and am thrilled to have found it. Cheers.

  20. July 11, 2010 4:24 am

    yeah! these are great. more b&w please, ferry.

  21. July 11, 2010 1:54 pm

    Beautiful work – I have a Pentax as well and they are wonderful cameras. Just had to comment and say I’m a new follower! I really just love your work!

  22. July 12, 2010 1:25 pm

    The potatoes on the sink just killed me a little bit. Please shoot more, Ferry. B&W suits you.

    I agree about the B&W experience. Very different from shooting color, but I am always pleased with what I get. Love these.

  23. July 15, 2010 1:19 pm

    I love all the different patterns/textures in the last picture, the grain of the wood and the denim, the stripes of that shirt, the smoothness of the glasses.

Trackbacks

  1. lomo-omo « and so it begins

Comments are closed.