Skip to content

you must be loving your life in the rain

July 14, 2010

. . . . . . . . . . .

You must be somewhere in London
You must be loving your life in the rain
You must be somewhere in London
Walking Abbey Lane
– “England”

we saw The National play in brighton last weekend and they were, as expected, mind-blowing. i first saw the band perform about 2 years ago, during the summer and at a time when i was unable to make it one day without playing at least one track from “Boxer“. that show was one of the most memorable live music experiences i’ve had. these guys consistently produce music that makes me think, makes me happy, makes me sad, and feels like they wrote it just for me. not many bands can do that, and i was reminded of this during the show last week. even though it was seriously about 100°F in the auditorium (dear england, please buy a few air conditioners), we stood there, sweaty and completely mesmerized.

20 Comments
  1. July 14, 2010 9:20 am

    I am so jealous. Must have been a great show!

  2. July 14, 2010 9:23 am

    hells yes!

  3. July 14, 2010 9:38 am

    I love it when bands sound even better in real life. Think The National can make it down to South Africa?

  4. July 14, 2010 9:45 am

    i’m seeing them at the osheaga festival on the 31st… with the walkmen and arcade fire and beach house and owen pallett. i can’t wait!

  5. July 14, 2010 10:01 am

    i love the National too and England is one of my favourite song!

  6. July 14, 2010 10:05 am

    congrats on the MAKR post. awesome, my friend.

  7. July 14, 2010 10:21 am

    you have tickets for the show at Brixton in November? i’m soooo excited!

  8. July 14, 2010 10:32 am

    there is only one word to describe these. RAD.

  9. kate permalink
    July 14, 2010 11:11 am

    sounds amazing. currently listening to one of your mixes at work. I MISS YOU!

  10. ella permalink
    July 14, 2010 11:20 am

    your photos have such amazing atmosphere!

  11. July 14, 2010 11:24 am

    I’m seeing them in 2 weeks in Prospect Park – I got tix for my bf’s bday as it’s his favorite band. Can’t stop listening to the new album – what an amazingly consistently good band!!

  12. July 14, 2010 3:15 pm

    These are great–atmospheric and evocative instead of the uber-crisp concert photography that seems to be everywhere. I’m seeing The National in September (outside!) and this makes me even more excited to hear them than before, which I didn’t think was possible.

  13. Sydney permalink
    July 14, 2010 4:00 pm

    Thank you so much for posting this! I love The National and since I don’t keep up with the concerts coming to town (due to a lack of money and a will not to spend it on concerts frequently) I didn’t realize that I have the opportunity to see them in September… now I just can’t wait.

  14. July 14, 2010 4:35 pm

    oh i know exactly what you mean..I saw them the third time live last weekend here in Hamburg..it was sooo great…

  15. July 14, 2010 9:49 pm

    First heard them in 2004, on an Uncut Magazine compilation disc. Wasn’t til working in record store in ’05-’06, when Alligator hit that I became a big fan. Awesome you got the chance to see them; still waiting my turn. “England” might be my favorite track of ‘High Violet’ – played it a few times straight on lala after the album came out, whilst making dinner for the wife and kids.

    Anyways, I think your site is awesome Bryan! Keep up the great work/images…cheers

  16. July 15, 2010 4:46 am

    Word.

    (Favorites. All time. All heart.)

  17. July 15, 2010 9:02 am

    their song “wasp nest” has been in my head for days. so great.

    xo Alison

  18. July 15, 2010 3:11 pm

    3rd concert this weekend in portugal :))))))))) l.o.v.e

  19. marthasnail permalink
    July 15, 2010 7:53 pm

    perfect description of this memorable night.

  20. Isabelle permalink
    July 19, 2010 5:04 pm

    B! That was one of my bestest music experiences ever as well.

    PS. I bought SMJ and me copies of Sunday is for Lovers yesterday at Bird! So proud of you.

    PPS. Seeing Karin and Jason this weekend made me VERY excited for our West Olive weekend. Get ready: no parents no rules.

Comments are closed.