Skip to content

paris, deuxième

August 4, 2010

. . . . . . . . . . .

i think part of my difficulty in describing paris is that it’s all been said before. and everyone seems to have an opinion of paris — what it represents to them, what sorts of things are “iconic” about paris and a visit to that city.  people love paris.  so i am not sure what else i can add to the conversation, except to show you photos of my own experience, which will certainly be incomplete and even though i have a lot of photos, they certainly don’t show everything that i experienced or felt when i was visiting.  but i hope you enjoy them.

i will say 2 things today: i loved walking through the jardin du luxembourg (it’s stunning … london has nice parks but none of them feel like this to me). and also, i was really hoping that we’d reenact this movie scene in a café somewhere in paris, but it never happened. eh bien. perhaps next time!

26 Comments
  1. Amanda permalink
    August 4, 2010 7:28 am

    The last few weeks, I’ve probably watched that scene a dozen times. It’s almost a compulsion right now. When I’m hating work or bored with my life, I think about it and pretend I’m there, dancing along with them.

  2. August 4, 2010 7:37 am

    I was about to write about how much I love that scene, then saw Amanda’s comment above — what a good idea!

    Your view into Paris has been lovely to see.

  3. August 4, 2010 8:06 am

    Hi Brian!
    I love your Parisian photos. Where did you see the beehives?

  4. August 4, 2010 8:10 am

    try this poem: http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/19130 . one of my favorite ‘guides’ to paris, i found it just before i moved to france.

    my feelings about paris as a city approach the art-historical/philosophical use of the term ‘je ne sais quoi’ (you can read a bit from james elkins on this here: http://tinyurl.com/329vzdu)–there is something there that i can’t touch in words and it’s that thing that continually draws me to the city.

  5. August 4, 2010 8:28 am

    ooh i’m going next week, cannot wait. Lovely photos.

  6. August 4, 2010 8:53 am

    petanque > bocce

  7. Stephanie permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:19 am

    ahh, these pictures are not helping cure my wanderlust! i especially love the third, fourth and fifth photos in this set. so lovely.

  8. August 4, 2010 9:58 am

    That dancer scene is pretty groovy and your pictures are great as usual. I have only been to Paris once. We walked the city from morning to dusk. I was dead tired from jet lag, but I was struck by everything and my senses were overwhelmed. Nothing like anything I have experienced in the US of A.

  9. August 4, 2010 10:05 am

    The first picture is PERFECTION !

  10. August 4, 2010 10:12 am

    I love the little dance :) and the movie scene really reminds me of amelie Poulain… the way the director intrudes and tells about the characters. I hope you had a lovely time in Paris.

  11. August 4, 2010 10:38 am

    Even if everybody has an opinion about Paris, I think that “tu as l’oeil” in order to get another view or something like that, I mean that your pictures are not like everything I’ve seen before, or when I used to live just next to le Jardin du Luxembourg.

  12. August 4, 2010 10:56 am

    i went to jardin du luxembourg once, but it was on a sunday and it was so crowded :)

  13. August 4, 2010 11:07 am

    love bande à part. “cette fois, c’est le moment d’ouvrir une nouvelle parenthèse et de décrire les sentiments des personnages”. awesome!

    i’ve been thinking about going back to paris and bringing my mom, who’s never been. these photos are making me want to go sooner than later. also. that breakfast table with fruit? brilliant photo.

  14. August 4, 2010 12:00 pm

    i love that scene! that, and the minute of silence right before it just blew me out of the water. one day i hope you have a chance to reenact it all :)

  15. August 4, 2010 1:09 pm

    love that magazine in the window, super sexy. good eye. you’ve still got me sighing over paris.

  16. August 4, 2010 2:27 pm

    I love how intimate these shots feel… thanks for giving us a view into your Paris!

  17. August 4, 2010 2:32 pm

    i love these photos, brian.
    i’ve been to Paris once and i loved this city. so much. i hope i’ll go there again soon.

  18. August 4, 2010 3:23 pm

    I actually had a less then awesome time when I visited Paris (though it was probably the fault of the company I was with and not the city itself!). These photos make me want to go back and give the place another shot right away. Paris in the summer…that sounds quite lovely.

  19. August 4, 2010 5:29 pm

    Hi Brian. Everyone’s experience of Paris is different – your photos are a great insight into your trip… Where did you find those beehives??

  20. August 4, 2010 9:15 pm

    I love the distance in this set… and the POV…esp of the 3rd, 4th and 5th photos. A small story right there in those three images. Love!

  21. August 4, 2010 10:43 pm

    i had so much a lovely time sipping pastis (well, actually, kir royales) and playing petanque in paris. i miss it.

  22. August 5, 2010 5:54 am

    your trip looks tres joli! x.

  23. August 5, 2010 7:48 am

    I love all these Paris pictures, very evocative. I agree with you about there being so many words that have been said about the city before, but your photos capture it beautifully.

  24. August 5, 2010 9:31 am

    v.cool images. the first one grabbed my eye, i took the exact same shot in jardin du luxembourg last year. really cool to see someone else saw the same thing!

  25. August 27, 2010 3:57 pm

    These are incredible.
    They really capture that energy that only eastern Europe has. Like the shot of the wooden table.

    But that one of the Seine is stunning.

    I will be returning often to your blog!

  26. September 9, 2010 8:59 am

    To be honest Paris disappoint me… Maybe I have spent not enough time there, however I think that Paris looks wonderful only in movies and on the photos… Anyway – amazing photos – like always:)

Comments are closed.