Skip to content

more postcards from massachusetts

September 7, 2010

. . . . . . . . . .

today, some photos of meals enjoyed and shared in boston, plus a day in rockport with little miss twig.

my brother mike always has the best food recommendations when i visit him in boston, and 2 of our favorite spots are B&G oysters and the butcher shop (conveniently located across the street from one another). on my first night back in the states, a group of us ate 2 dozen oysters at B&G and drank lots of good american beers. it was a very memorable start to my holiday.  later in the week, my brother and i also did a cooking demo class at chef barbara lynch’s stir, and had a blast. (yes, we’re a bit obsessed with barbara lynch’s food).  highly recommended.  i also enjoyed the no-fuss tacos, micheladas and margaritas at la verdad with my friends alicia and jason.  the michelada was perfectly spicy, and after 9 months with no good mexican food in my vicinity, the tacos almost made me weep with joy.

speaking of summer eating, i loved reading winnie’s post about her summer meals. to me, there is definitely something different about late-summer fruit and veg in the U.S. versus the UK; perhaps i did not look in the right places, but finding tasty (and local) corn, tomatoes, blueberries and peaches in the UK in august seemed so difficult. the explosion of ripe produce in the U.S. in august is the best, and i certainly took advantage of it this year.

my brother and i made dinner one night, and i thought i’d share one of the dishes i prepared: peach and arugula salad.  it’s perfect while peaches are ripe and in season.  i first had this at westville in NYC a few years ago.  to make it, you take a couple of ripe peaches, slice them up into pieces, and then slice a ball of smoked mozzarella cheese into similar size pieces.  wash and dry your arugula, and chuck all 3 ingredients in a large bowl.  to dress the salad, squeeze over some fresh lemon juice and add extra virgin olive oil, to taste.  add sea salt and black pepper, and toss it all together with your hands.  the simple combination of ingredients here is genius.  enjoy.

more photos tomorrow. see you then.

18 Comments
  1. September 7, 2010 7:56 am

    yum. yum. yum. there are no words how much i look forward to going to a restaurant and have a truly good meal. not just good. a great! beautiful, each and every shot brian.

  2. September 7, 2010 8:03 am

    the butcher shop is one of my all time favorite places, and barbara lynch is a genius!!

  3. September 7, 2010 8:05 am

    We’re definitely not the US in August but you can find blueberries (and raspberries, strawberries, gooseberries, blackberries, redcurrants) in most London farmers’ markets (http://www.lfm.org.uk/), all summer long as well as tomatoes. And they’re as local as they can be to London (so mostly from Kent). Not sure where you live in London but my favourite market is the Parliament Hill one on Saturday morning: the soft fruit stall there is fantastic. Peaches don’t grow here (hence none available) and corn comes now, in September so you’ve not missed that, yet. And now there are the best apples in the world to look forward to for the next few months…

  4. September 7, 2010 8:07 am

    welcome home, brian. you were missed. loving all these summer photos.

  5. September 7, 2010 8:20 am

    these photos are spectacular, brian. i mean, they’re always so good. but these knocked me flat this morning.
    i hope you find a few wonderful new spots in london now that you’re back home there.
    xo,
    tara

  6. September 7, 2010 9:02 am

    I really enjoy your photos, you are an inspiration to me as I now start to study photography! :)

  7. September 7, 2010 10:45 am

    love the last one

  8. Darby O'Shea permalink
    September 7, 2010 3:03 pm

    Aw! Jess and Eli’s house! Don’t you just wish you could move in there?

  9. September 7, 2010 3:51 pm

    The photos from lovely restaurations are the best!
    .

  10. Como Solo permalink
    September 7, 2010 3:55 pm

    How can someone who takes these pictures be a lawyer???? I work with lawyers and most of the ones I come accross are soulless sharks stuffed into expensive suits.

  11. September 7, 2010 5:12 pm

    the blue. i’ll dream about the blue. so glad you got some summer time at home brian.

  12. September 7, 2010 6:30 pm

    I’ve missed your inspirational posts. Love the 2nd & 3rd photos. The lighting, contrast and intensity of colours is stunning.

    I laughed at Como Solo’s comment! As far as stereotypes go for your profession, you are definitely blowing it out of the water!

  13. September 8, 2010 9:31 am

    There is a whole lot of goodness up there, Ferry. You + any restaurant are a fine pair. Plus, look at them boats! (I shall cry myself to sleep)

    And I’m very glad to see the pirate ship makes a cameo here. I saw it out on the water a few days later when I was running and almost choked.

    And if I could get arugula in this @#*)@$ place, you know I’d be making that as a midnight snack.

  14. September 8, 2010 10:58 am

    I laughed in commiseration over your longing for Mexican food. I spent six years living in Europe and Asia and good Mexican food was the thing I missed the most (well, apart from people). By the end I had taught myself how to make tortillas and could cobble together some replica, but it was never quite the same. Glad you got to come home for your “fix.”

    Also, that shot with the multiple boats may haunt my dreams. So lovely.

  15. September 9, 2010 11:52 am

    So, so very glad to see you here again. Welcome back! Rockport holds a special place in my heart-my half-sister grew up and got married there (at the end of October. Simple and stunning, and involving significant amounts of lobster and butternut squash puree!) Her mother still lives in an apartment in one of the oldest houses in town. Glad you enjoyed the visit!

    (ps-if you would ever consider allowing the purchase of a couple of prints, I would LOVE to give my sister copies of those last 3 photos for a holiday present. She lives in a different part of the Boston area now, for her job, and I know she misses Rockport terribly.)

  16. September 10, 2010 11:30 am

    love all ur photos i felt like they are saying something to me:)
    ur blog is one of my favourite!
    thanks for inpirations

  17. September 12, 2010 2:51 pm

    Ah, Brian. Ah, New England. These postcards are beautiful.

  18. Ariana permalink
    September 24, 2010 2:57 pm

    Lovely photos and wonderful restaurants too. I love both the Butcher Shop and B&G. What restaurant is in the third photo from the top?

Comments are closed.