Skip to content

more brooklyn diary

October 14, 2010

. . . . . . . . .

today’s outtakes from brooklyn diary show another favorite shop of mine, smith + butler in carroll gardens. what a great place.

. . . .

and i’ve been having fun perusing the new website for the st. john hotel, which is to open on wednesday, 1 december for breakfast. of course, the team behind the hotel is staying true to st. john’s overall aesthetic, one that i wish i could define for you here but a proper description eludes me. i’m working on a post about it.  in the meantime, i think you’ll see what i mean if you check out the hotel website. my favorite parts: the post-supper rooms (i might need to book one of these soon) and the little bun moment (“nothing finer than warm little buttock-like buns”.  indeed.  i need more moments like this in my day).

have a good day … the weekend is almost here, thankfully.

7 Comments
  1. October 14, 2010 8:49 am

    great shots! love the colors and composition in that first one.

  2. October 14, 2010 10:41 am

    Thank you for the link to the St. John Hotel, B! “…less buttery but more cheeky”! That made my day.

  3. Susan permalink
    October 14, 2010 3:30 pm

    For those of us who live in small worlds, your wonderful photography and posts allow us to travel with you and expand our horizons, if only via the Internet. Thank you Brian ~ you’re the bee’s knees!

  4. October 15, 2010 5:46 am

    loving the out-takes, makes me wish I wasn’t saving so I could buy the book.

  5. yankeemiss permalink
    October 15, 2010 8:44 am

    I’m wondering how you get shop owners to let you take photos. When I was in London and tried to take photos I was always told I couldn’t. I love your shop and merchandise photos.

  6. October 16, 2010 3:31 am

    I think I need a post-supper room at most places I dine, as typically I wish they’d roll a bed up to my table post-supper. Thanks for the link!

  7. Stella permalink
    October 16, 2010 6:37 pm

    love the apartment :)

Comments are closed.