Skip to content

3 november

November 3, 2010

photos above were shot using Ilford HP5 Plus.**
. . . . . . . . .

not everyone will agree with me, but right now my favorite black & white photographs highlight the beautiful mid-tones that you can get using B&W film. not the high-contrast images (although i do like those, too) but photos of greys and silvers, flat tones and light.

that’s what i was looking for in my first roll this month, and i think i found it. i am really pleased with this film type. i’ll have more from the roll to share over the coming days.

and before the week is over, i’ll also show you some B&W photographs that are particularly inspiring to me right now – some of them are good examples of the grey & silver tones that i am talking about.

on my shopping list today: a copy of mr. natural from nicholas gottlund.  this book of B&W photos looks great.

**i have a list of B&W films that i plan to try out and use this month, so i’ll share the type of film i’ve used for your reference.

14 Comments
  1. November 3, 2010 6:41 am

    something about the fall makes me want to shoot in b&w, too. i love the tones in the shot of the car.

  2. marthasnail permalink
    November 3, 2010 6:57 am

    love the first photo. i think grays are nice.

  3. November 3, 2010 7:54 am

    wow, i’d never have thought a 400 iso could have such a fine grain.

  4. necessarylogue permalink
    November 3, 2010 8:37 am

    Hey, I’ve been looking at your posts for quite a few weeks, and I must saw, B&W gives me a high, to see the beauty of just these two colours. I made my London trip in late Sept and I have to say, I insisted on B&W, and loved every bit of it.
    Cheers!

  5. November 3, 2010 8:40 am

    i love the softer muted tones of black and white as well. i just got my first 2 rolls of Ilford. :) i am taking my sweet time with both.

    these are great photos, i especially love the last one.

  6. November 3, 2010 9:11 am

    I will agree with you about all the tones of gray and silver. Can’t wait to see more.

  7. November 3, 2010 10:52 am

    Look at all that lovely grey. I knew it would be right on the money. I’m giving you a gold start right off the bat on your assignment.

  8. November 3, 2010 11:47 am

    hi!
    i’d never before seen or heard of the ilford hp5, but i bought and put a roll of it in my camera on monday! i can’t wait to see how it turns out for me. these are so soft and lovely.

  9. November 3, 2010 1:00 pm

    Such great photos. I’m looking forward to your black & white photo month.

  10. Ashley Erin permalink
    November 3, 2010 2:01 pm

    I too like the silvery midtones in black and whites, but it’s not something that I feel I can pull off well. But you sure do! I can’t wait to see more of your black and whites this month, they’re inspiring me already!

  11. November 3, 2010 3:05 pm

    I love black and white and that sign cracks me up!

  12. November 4, 2010 4:41 am

    always good (!)

  13. November 5, 2010 1:45 am

    nice. I like the silver tones too.

  14. November 6, 2010 11:48 am

    I’ve been going crazy trying to capture my first Northern Hemisphere Autumn in colour, but the black and white is spot on, totally how London feels at the moment.

Comments are closed.