Skip to content

some B&W inspiration

November 4, 2010











(the photo on the left is one of my favorite photos, ever. i love it)
















. . . . . . . .

the first 3 photos above are my photos, shot with Ilford HP5+. the remaining photos are shots of pages from fantastic man and dapper dan, and some B&W images hanging on my wall.
. . . . . . . .

i wanted to post some B&W photographs that are inspiring to me lately. most of the images are from 2 magazines that i picked up recently (and no, i didn’t choose these mags for their names):
+ fantastic man (i mostly bought this because it featured bryan ferry on the cover, with the sub-title “the uppermost gentleman” … hehe)
+ dapper dan (the entire magazine is in B&W, i really like the design)

so many great photos here … it’s nice to see magazines doing more black & white. lots of inspiration and ideas to be had…

8 Comments
  1. November 4, 2010 8:12 am

    But you do realize that now we have to call you Dapper Dan. Or Fantastic Man. I mean you are the uppermost gentleman, no?

    (That is some good inspiration up there. I’m really looking forward to seeing your photos on November 30 and seeing what’s transformed by that time. So good!)

  2. November 4, 2010 8:29 am

    Wow, you’re so right. These photos are really inspiring. Makes me want to go out and buy the magazines just to see them in person!

    I’m really enjoying your B&W series too. The HP5 is beautiful.

  3. Susan permalink
    November 4, 2010 11:35 am

    I love B&W photography. You see a texture that somehow seems more true than what you get from color.
    I especially like your 2nd photo.

  4. Robert permalink
    November 4, 2010 12:32 pm

    B&W photography gives your subjects a timeless history. And besides, life is full of gray areas!

  5. November 4, 2010 12:33 pm

    Dude with the beard and shades looks just like MAV’s brother!

  6. November 4, 2010 1:15 pm

    Can I amend my previous statement about high-contrast b&w photography? Because I absolutely love the 2nd photo of yours (the window). It’s wet and dreary here today in dc and the quiet light in that photo really appeals to me.

  7. November 4, 2010 6:48 pm

    The third shot, of the shirt, is gorgeous.
    Love it. Texture!

  8. Zanni permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:38 pm

    I love your second photo of the shirt…its perfect. I don’t know if you sell prints but I would love to buy one of that. The texture, the shadow lines and the perfect round white button….love

Comments are closed.