Skip to content

up on the wall

December 8, 2010







. . . . . . . . . .

as i promised almost 2 months ago, i want to show you my completed wall. it’s full of good stuff, inspiration and images and things that i’m liking right now. in this age of digital pinboards and tumblr reblogging, it’s really nice to have something physical to look at each day. i usually keep certain pieces up on the wall and then rotate in various images and things i like each season.

speaking of visual inspiration, when i was in paris we stopped by offprint paris, an artist book fair dedicated to photography publications.  there was a lot of good stuff, and i couldn’t help picking up a copy of super labo’s reissue of “redheads” by joel meyerowitz, one of my favorite photographers.  (they also sell them in the UK here.)   i think these portraits are astonishing (you can see more of them here).

17 Comments
  1. December 8, 2010 10:16 am

    oh i do love (his) redheads! lovely wall, b. reminds me we really do need to get some pictures up here.

  2. December 8, 2010 12:35 pm

    This is so great Brian. I’ve been thinking of doing something like this in our bedroom.

  3. December 8, 2010 2:40 pm

    I keep one in my walk in closet come office nook. Thanks for reminding me that I should put up new inspirations and shuffle things about.

  4. December 8, 2010 3:04 pm

    I just moved to a new flat and was looking all over for inspiration! Perfect timing :)

  5. sophist permalink
    December 8, 2010 3:07 pm

    any tips on how to properly adhere images to the wall? i’ve done this in previous places, but my current walls are a bit too strong for tacks. looks like you used some tape?

    • December 8, 2010 3:10 pm

      i use white artists’ tape, it sticks but won’t damage the images or your wall.

  6. December 8, 2010 3:18 pm

    Inspired!

  7. December 8, 2010 3:19 pm

    good point- (in this time of digital pinboards). i took a handful of photos (and one sketch by my fiance) and haphazardly hung them at the head of our bed, framed. it is really nice to see that every day.

  8. December 8, 2010 4:31 pm

    I had a wall like this in my old place, it got to be so wide and tall I had to get steps to add new pieces! (I had very high ceilings) I miss it, instead now I have huge piles of photos begging to be used but no wall space. I like your spacing, the ‘LOVE’ tattoo image is particularly great.

  9. December 8, 2010 4:32 pm

    ah! i’m always too nostalgic to part with things on my wall, but get tired of simply rearranging all the time. maybe the key is introducing items just for a ‘season’, and keeping only the ones i really, really love up all the time!

  10. December 8, 2010 5:42 pm

    Have you ever shot a self portrait series? I did recently and really enjoyed it, somewhat surprisingly.

  11. December 9, 2010 5:39 am

    a lovely wall of images indeed.

  12. December 9, 2010 5:32 pm

    I love your wall!

  13. December 10, 2010 8:02 am

    i really love that albam postcard, Brian, but couldn’t find more on their website. Amazing images, you have a special talent to unearth great and not that well known photography…

  14. December 11, 2010 2:21 pm

    i have that very same postcard from stumptown coffee roasters. love their coffee. also. inspiration walls are where it’s at. happy weekend.

  15. afnuttall permalink
    December 14, 2010 8:18 am

    if i did this it would probably be made up almost entirely of your images.

  16. December 22, 2010 3:16 pm

    i like your wall very much.

Comments are closed.