Skip to content

20 december

December 20, 2010

. . . . . . . . .

do you know what i love?

when you are seeing one of your favorite bands play live, and they play a song that you’ve listened to so many times before in solitude, either at home or in the car or while walking down the street on your headphones. and there’s that moment in the middle of the song where the key changes or the music swells, or perhaps the music stops and there is a just a solo vocal, quiet and steady. and you always pause, your chest swells a little bit … you love this part of the song. but here you are, seeing the band play it live, and the moment comes and it’s bigger than you remember, and everyone else in the venue feels it, too. and suddenly you realize that this moment has not been your private moment all that time, but you share it with so many other fans. it’s like this instant connection with a roomful of strangers.

i love that.

(last night i celebrated my birthday in glasgow with good friends and belle & sebastian, playing to a home crowd at the barrowlands. it was incredible.)

45 Comments
  1. December 20, 2010 9:12 am

    Happy birthday boy !
    I just love this feeling. After a decade of anticipation – I got to see HOLE live, a year ago in NY. My Heartbeats when the 1st notes of VIOLET started were ones I so long for.

  2. Louise permalink
    December 20, 2010 9:28 am

    Happy birthday Brian!! And how LOOOOVELY to listen to Belle&Sebastian play live…

    I wish you lots of wonderful moments like this!!

  3. December 20, 2010 9:41 am

    Sounds like a great way to celebrate. Happy Belated Birthday.

  4. December 20, 2010 9:59 am

    Oh, my goodness, you described that feeling perfectly. I always say it feels as if I could levitate, but I like your description better because everyone who’s had it can relate. Funny thing, though, I always imagine a massive group of people having that feeling so that we all lifted off the floor simultaneously. Isn’t it great to realize tons of people share your feelings about something. I love it. Thanks for articulating it for me.

  5. December 20, 2010 10:19 am

    it made my day to read this.
    such a faithful account.

    glad you had such an incredible 31st celebration!

  6. victoria permalink
    December 20, 2010 10:20 am

    Wonderful description, Brian. What a great way to celebrate. Happy birthday!

  7. December 20, 2010 10:23 am

    such a perfect moment. happy belated birthday!

  8. December 20, 2010 10:34 am

    yes, i know that feeling all too well (so perfectly described). which song do you speak of? also. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! thank you for filling this space with such beauty and inspiration every week. i am so happy to have found you. wishing you the best year ever! xo

  9. December 20, 2010 10:45 am

    Happy Birthday Brian! Belle & Sebastian are so great live, aren’t they?

  10. December 20, 2010 11:31 am

    happy b-day b! what a lovely post, so well put. haven’t heard belle & sebastian (I know – my bad), I shall have to investigate!

  11. December 20, 2010 11:31 am

    I indeed do know that moment very well.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  12. December 20, 2010 11:44 am

    Happy birthday Brian! I wish you all the best!

  13. December 20, 2010 11:53 am

    belle and sebastian? awesome! hope you had a great birthday.

  14. anwa permalink
    December 20, 2010 11:57 am

    your description of this moment is as breathtaking as your photographs. happy birthday!

  15. December 20, 2010 12:36 pm

    happy birthday to you too!

  16. December 20, 2010 12:58 pm

    Perfect description of the magic of live music. I love this post. Happy birthday!

  17. December 20, 2010 1:50 pm

    green with envy! one of my favorite bands. so glad you had a great time and had what i call a “perfect moment”. and great photo too!

  18. December 20, 2010 2:21 pm

    Happy Birthday, Brian! Glad it was a good one!

  19. December 20, 2010 2:22 pm

    This is the best description ever.

  20. pewna taka permalink
    December 20, 2010 2:55 pm

    Happy Birthday Brian :)

  21. December 20, 2010 2:57 pm

    what song? I’ve always wanted to see them play “Seeing Other People” live (it was *that* song for me) but it has yet to happen.

  22. December 20, 2010 3:34 pm

    belle and sebastian! i’m jealous. and happy, happy birthday!

  23. December 20, 2010 5:48 pm

    Happy birthday I hope you enjoyed your day ^^

  24. December 20, 2010 8:02 pm

    I know exactly what you mean (it really is the best feeling) I’m going to see Nick Cave and I’m so excited, I know I will feel like that for sure !!!
    So you not only take wonderful photographs you also have a wonderful writing style …. you must do more !!!

  25. December 20, 2010 9:08 pm

    Lovely, hope you had a great day. I’m hoping to see Belle and Sebastian early next year at a little festival.
    xx

  26. December 20, 2010 9:59 pm

    Oh, that sounds like a magical night. I felt it too, once, at a Weakerthans concert on a frigid January night in Halifax, and I doubt I’ll ever forget. (And a very happy birthday to you.)

  27. December 20, 2010 10:36 pm

    oh, I love that too!! happy birthday, Brian! B&S are coming here in march and I can’t wait!!!!

  28. CCP permalink
    December 20, 2010 11:25 pm

    You write so beautifully. (And we share the same birthday!) Many, many happy returns.

  29. December 20, 2010 11:42 pm

    What a fantastic post Brian, and what a wonderful way to spend your birthday, Glasgow is my home town (though I now live in Melbourne Australia) and B&S are one of my favourite bands, can only imagine how special it was, there is always something so magical about a home crowd gig. B&S are heading my way in March, hope its even half the night you described. Happy Birthday. X

  30. Zeta permalink
    December 21, 2010 7:45 am

    ı would have franz ferdinand for my b-day. if only ı could. happy birthday brian!

  31. Christophe permalink
    December 21, 2010 2:28 pm

    “Then the moment will come, and the memory will shine”

    Hope that’s the one you’re talking about…it worked for me anyway.

    Great night and great post mate…

  32. December 21, 2010 2:54 pm

    you described that feeling perfectly
    sounds like a wonderful birthday celebration!

  33. Ashley Erin permalink
    December 21, 2010 3:17 pm

    Happy belated Birthday Brian! :)

  34. December 21, 2010 5:53 pm

    Belated birthday greetings to you!
    Both Fever Ray and Peter Gabriel are like that live for me.

  35. December 22, 2010 12:17 am

    Happy Birthday and all the best for the coming year.

  36. December 22, 2010 12:29 am

    I heard about that show in Glasgow!!! Oh I can’t believe you were there. How lucky. Especially for your birthday. Which song was it? I felt that way when I saw them play “Judy and the Dream of Horses” back in september in brooklyn.

  37. December 22, 2010 12:30 am

    this made me smile quite a bit

    i get to see them in march

    happy belated birthday, i’m sure it was brilliant

  38. Mariana permalink
    December 22, 2010 2:45 pm

    Hello Brian.
    My name is Mariana, i see your blog every week, it’s like a newspaper to me. i’m a fan of culture, photography, music, literature and i can find it here in your blog. this post was so true and even not being in the place you were when you felt butterflies in your stomach e felt the same thing when reading it. keep posting, i’ll be watching.
    Merry xmas :)

    Mariana

  39. rhea nina permalink
    December 22, 2010 4:10 pm

    merry christmas and happy holidays brian! your blog is my favourite one. hope you continue enjoying and celebrating these moments and captures. cheers rhea nina

  40. December 24, 2010 10:00 am

    well said…you are a lucky man

  41. alice lim permalink
    December 28, 2010 7:48 pm

    Sometimes when I read your words, I think we were separated at birth.

    My moment was Supergrass a few years ago at a rare gig in Boston.

    Cheers.

  42. January 1, 2011 7:14 am

    I know that feeling so well!! I’ve never been lucky enough to see my favourite bands perform, but I’ve felt *exactly the same with classical music concerts. The feeling-there’s nothing much like it, is there? So beautifully written.
    Happy new year!

  43. January 9, 2011 1:52 pm

    (very late) happy birthday!
    very beautiful post… quite difficult to describe a feeling but you mastered it!
    i l-o-v-e- belle and sebastian, i am wondering which song are you refering to… just to fully understand your words…

Trackbacks

  1. today « and so it begins
  2. Quoted | allison lehman : show + tell

Comments are closed.