Skip to content

a christmas miracle

December 22, 2010

. . . . . . . . . .

the past couple of months have been a challenge for me, and i was really looking forward to a short break during the holidays. yesterday, due to the absolute shitshow at heathrow (caused by a mere 5 inches of snow that fell on saturday, mind you) my flight back home for christmas was cancelled. they told me i wouldn’t be able to fly until december 26th. needless to say, i was pretty devastated as my friends and family are all in the U.S.

but then, improbably, i got a seat on a flight back to NY today … i’m calling it my christmas miracle.

i’m home now, and very thankful. looking forward to christmas preparations and last-minute shopping this week, lots of relaxing, and i hope to post a bit around here, too.

now, i’m off to share a sam smith’s winter welcome ale with my dad. cheers.

34 Comments
  1. December 22, 2010 5:10 pm

    I love a good holiday story…this is tops. Happy Christmas, Brian.

  2. December 22, 2010 5:10 pm

    lovely warm photos. how strange it would be to have christmas in winter, for me anyway ;)
    glad you got your flight. Have a great christmas, Brian!

  3. December 22, 2010 5:12 pm

    Lovely Brian, just lovely! Glad you made it back. Merry Christmas!

  4. December 22, 2010 5:17 pm

    That IS a Christmas miracle. Have a lovely break and a grand new year.

  5. Jördis! permalink
    December 22, 2010 5:18 pm

    yay! enjoy your holidays with your family and friends!
    merry christmas, Brian!

  6. December 22, 2010 5:20 pm

    SO happy for you! SO happy.

  7. Lee permalink
    December 22, 2010 5:26 pm

    Wonderful news Brian! I had been wondering if you had travel plans in that weather. Glad you made it.

  8. December 22, 2010 5:27 pm

    Aw, Happy Christmas. I’ve been an avid follower of yours for some months now, and I wanted to delurk and tell you that you do amazing work.

    Have a great holiday.

    K.

  9. December 22, 2010 5:28 pm

    Hallelujah, amen.

  10. December 22, 2010 5:40 pm

    Glad to hear you made it home. Happy holidays, Brian.

  11. December 22, 2010 5:54 pm

    a miracle for sure, amazing the chaos caused by a sprinkling of snow. have a great break, i’m sure it’s well deserved. x.

  12. marthasnail permalink
    December 22, 2010 5:59 pm

    such good news! a christmas miracle for sure. enjoy it all, b. cheers to you!

  13. Birchstar permalink
    December 22, 2010 5:59 pm

    Yey!! (clapping) Merry Christmas!

  14. December 22, 2010 6:09 pm

    oh thank god, brian. a christmas miracle indeed. all hail samuel smith’s. have a great time at home!

  15. December 22, 2010 6:38 pm

    Yay! I feel bad for everyone stranded because of the weather, glad you made it back at least. Merry Christmas :)

  16. December 22, 2010 6:51 pm

    As a New Yorker who once lived abroad, I understand this feeling well. Happy news, enjoy the holidays! Big fan of your stuff.

  17. December 22, 2010 7:41 pm

    serendipitous, indeed! happiest of holidays to you, brian!

  18. December 22, 2010 11:06 pm

    i have been thinking of you, brian. and i am so glad you got home…and safely! enjoy that beer. you (and your dad) deserve it!

  19. December 22, 2010 11:10 pm

    Yay yay yay! My feet did a little jig at this computer desk when I read you are home. I’m SO happy for you. Yesterday, on Twitter, I was just devastated when I read you could not come home for the paltry amount of snow. In fact, my stomach sort of hurt. Oh yes.

    Welcome home.

  20. December 22, 2010 11:55 pm

    I’m staying in NY for Christmas, second Holidays in a row far away from my family and friends. I’m probably not even going to celebrate it, but i’m still happy that from all of the places around the world i’m here;).

  21. December 23, 2010 3:33 am

    A lovely Christmas miracle indeed- Merry Christmas!

  22. Ali McCabe permalink
    December 23, 2010 5:48 am

    Happy Christmas Brian, glad you got home safe. I’m spending New Year in Finland, i wonder whether Heathrow will be able to get over this whole snow thing. ‘Mountain’ > ‘Molehill’.

    ;)

  23. December 23, 2010 7:31 am

    JOY! so happy for you, brian. wishing you and yours a very merry christmas. looking forward to seeing what you have in store for us in 2011. xo

  24. December 23, 2010 12:06 pm

    Holiday travel is always an adventure! Merry Christmas!

  25. December 23, 2010 12:18 pm

    Glad you made it home. Have a Merry Christmas.

  26. December 23, 2010 1:27 pm

    merry christmas, brian!
    so glad you made it home.

  27. Sophie permalink
    December 23, 2010 1:44 pm

    How I do understand you! I’m from Montreal and have been living in Paris for a few years now. It’s the first Christmas that I don’t go “home” for… and it’s a bit sad. I hope you enjoy every bit of yours, and thanks for the beauty you bring with your blog…

  28. Susan permalink
    December 23, 2010 4:38 pm

    I’m truly happy you were able to come home! We’ve never met, but I would have felt great sadness if you hadn’t been able to spend the holiday with your family.
    I appreciate so much the beauty you share with us, Brian. May the new year bring you (and through you, us) more of it!
    Happy Holidays!

  29. margaret permalink
    December 23, 2010 4:51 pm

    so so happy you made it home! merry merry. xo, msh

  30. December 23, 2010 5:11 pm

    I’m so happy for you, Brian. Enjoy the time off with family and friends.

  31. gretchen hayhurst permalink
    December 23, 2010 10:09 pm

    Merry Christmas and glad you made it home safely.
    Two years ago I was flying to London for Christmas to spend it with my good friends there. Here in Portland we had ice on the roads and I managed to get the very last flight out of both Portland and then Seattle. I know how disappointing it can be for everyone when family and friends can’t get home. Enjoy your break.

  32. December 23, 2010 10:23 pm

    That is great news you are not left alone in London and made it back home.
    Merry Christmas and happy holidays to you!

  33. December 24, 2010 2:05 pm

    Totally miraculous.
    As someone whose family lives across the world from me, I can empathise.

    Merry Christmas to you.

  34. January 30, 2011 1:46 am

    oh thank goodness! I spent my first Christmas away from home this year but next year I’m not staying in Tokyo! It’s important to be with family at Christmas!
    xoxo

Comments are closed.