Skip to content

racing the storm northward

January 4, 2011















. . . . . . . .

let’s start at the beginning. the weekend of my birthday, i awoke in the dark on saturday morning and took a train up the coast of the UK to edinburgh to spend time with my friends christophe and gemma.

what i will remember: stunning train rides, escaping the bitter cold in a pub, a madeira and port tasting, shepherd’s pie for dinner, a christmas party with mince pies & mulled wine, waking up to a snowstorm, panettone french toast for breakfast, my first time in glasgow, a nearly-full moon, and belle & sebastian.

20 Comments
  1. Louise permalink
    January 4, 2011 7:56 am

    You’re a Sagittarian; that explains the epicurean and visual curiosity! No, I don’t really believe in it either…Happy New Year!

  2. January 4, 2011 8:23 am

    I think that I took almost exactly the same photo as you did when I was travelling up to Edinburgh last year, I wonder how many other people have gazed out onto that same view? If it is in the same place then my friends sister (very tenuous link, I know) lives right on the quay that you can just about see in the harbour – what a perfect place to live! lovely photos as always

  3. January 4, 2011 9:18 am

    Oh, pretty!
    I understand it is soso about time to finally do that up-north trip I’ve been longing for a long time.

  4. marthasnail permalink
    January 4, 2011 9:23 am

    this is such an inspiring post! would love to travel soon.

  5. January 4, 2011 10:01 am

    dear brian,
    i stumbled on your blog checking out the new wordpress theme gallery (i use vigilance too) and aaah i’m so glad i did. your photos are so so evocative, just the kind i hope many moons from now to be able to take… im a londoner currently living in addis ababa, so its nice ot have some pretty pictures of home to look at – and edinburgh is one of my favourite places in the world.
    can i ask what camera + editing software you use?
    anyway, amazing stuff. happy new year,

    sophie

  6. January 4, 2011 10:14 am

    great picrures! No. 5 & 6 are in a beautiful place!

  7. January 4, 2011 10:23 am

    although i don’t even know you, every single post with photos makes my day start a little more amiable and remembers me of the passion for detail and that the worth of a day depends on being open-minded, curious and enthusiastic. thanks therefor and happy 2o11!

  8. January 4, 2011 11:26 am

    Beautiful landscapes. You make me want to quit my job and endlessly travel Europe.

  9. January 4, 2011 12:31 pm

    stunning. every single one of them… stunning. i was SO close to going to edinburgh last year. spent nye in northumberland and fully intended to do the loony dook but mother nature had other plans for us. instead, we jumped in the icy waters of a nearby river (with a wetsuit ;)

  10. January 4, 2011 12:35 pm

    I love these, but I absolutely LOVE the first 4. So filled with emotions & I love food photos :)

    Just found your blog and just wanted to tell you I am a fan and will be following it intently on blogger.

    Happy New Year!!

    Sisilia

  11. January 4, 2011 12:45 pm

    i love your photos and blog. that’s all.

  12. January 4, 2011 12:47 pm

    Brain! These pictures are gorgeous! You needed no words to convey your feelings. What a storyteller you are. Thanks for sharing.

  13. January 4, 2011 12:57 pm

    Just wanted to say that I love your pix; I’ve been following but have never said anything. I thought I’d take today to say it! :-)

  14. January 4, 2011 1:18 pm

    Edinburgh is one of my favourite places…it’s been fun seeing it through your eyes. :)

  15. Silvia permalink
    January 4, 2011 1:27 pm

    Beautiful winter moods.

  16. January 4, 2011 4:10 pm

    Sounds like a great way to spend a birthday. I spy Berwick, my aunt lives along that river front :)

  17. January 4, 2011 6:26 pm

    such a nice cozy breakfast!

  18. January 5, 2011 10:15 am

    Perfect atmophere for Belle & Sebastian. Lovely pics. Happy New Year :)

  19. January 7, 2011 4:53 am

    aaaahh. this is so good!!

  20. January 21, 2011 2:11 am

    So glad you made it, if not for the photos alone. What a stunning collection (#1 omg) and what a perfect birthday.

Comments are closed.