Skip to content

APT

January 7, 2011











. . . . . . . . . . . . .

my friend ryan lives in portland, maine. his apartment gets the most incredible light year-round – such an inspiring place filled with good things. i couldn’t resist snapping some photos last week while i was there.  (if it looks familiar, i posted a few photos from his place back in september)

since it’s friday, here are a few flickr favorites that i’m inspired by this week:
one
two
three

…. and a little dance music for the weekend: moscow 1980. kick it.

happy weekend, have a good one folks.

23 Comments
  1. nina permalink
    January 7, 2011 10:49 am

    wow brian! for a minute, i thought i was looking at “the selby.” what wonderful images — you captured this space so well. happy weekend! :)

  2. January 7, 2011 11:00 am

    getting serious interiors envy from these! am very much enjoying your holiday photos – so nice to escape somewhere else, especially as london is so gloomy at the mo.

  3. January 7, 2011 3:25 pm

    This is my idea of the perfect apartment …. great windows, great floor and that couch is perfection !!!
    Great photos.

  4. January 7, 2011 4:00 pm

    These are stunning! I love that the cat is allowed on the bench so he/she can gaze out the window. The first photo is utter perfection with such beautiful tones.

  5. January 7, 2011 6:25 pm

    These are very inspiring! Light really is THE most important element in a space, it changes everything. I love the cat by the window!

  6. January 7, 2011 7:19 pm

    Love that first shot! Could not help but notice the Mrs. Meyers products – they are the best! Ah, sweet light!

  7. Josh permalink
    January 7, 2011 7:37 pm

    Bosh. Long time admirer of the blog, first time commenter.

    Couldn’t resist commenting this time though. Those pictures just make me feel warm inside.

    Anyone for chess?

  8. January 7, 2011 11:05 pm

    that is an amazing set of images..love the light..what a great couch too..and Monocle is just the best magazine :)

  9. January 7, 2011 11:37 pm

    your music has inspired me :) Have a great weekend and love this photo set.

  10. January 7, 2011 11:47 pm

    The couch, the espresso machine!
    I’ve been hanging images up with bullclips recently, but am a bit worried about humidity buckling them. Ryan’s look awesome though, gives me hope

  11. Sumit permalink
    January 8, 2011 11:01 am

    Great blog. Just found it and will spend the afternoon (here in Boston) looking at some of the lovely photos you have posted. Excellent. Thanks.

  12. January 8, 2011 1:05 pm

    fantastic light !
    (and coffee machine :)

  13. cameron permalink
    January 8, 2011 8:47 pm

    Brian, I’m going to let you moderate how I look at flickr
    it isn’t worth the time to troll around when I could just watch your favorites

    these also make it worth my time, every minute, to keep up with your blog
    -cb

  14. January 9, 2011 12:44 am

    How is it possible that we know the same people? I suppose Portland is a small town, but Ryan and I once lived on the same street, two houses from each other. I’ve been following you for some time, thinking your work had a distinctly MAV sensibility. My husband was just hanging with Ryan at the new District a few hours ago. Unbelievable.

    And, yes, we frequent the APT on the grand NBA game occasion.

    Happy saturday night,
    Steph

  15. caroline permalink
    January 9, 2011 7:59 am

    beautiful pictures!

  16. January 9, 2011 9:05 am

    Brilliant images – I love the textures in the first and last but the third and fourtgh are my favoirutes for their composition.

  17. January 9, 2011 9:21 am

    these photos look amazing! the lighting is great and i am slightly envious.

  18. January 10, 2011 5:05 am

    Super cool apartment, love the leather sofa!
    Viele Gruesse, Kristina

  19. January 10, 2011 5:12 am

    You are completely right. The light looks fantastic!

  20. January 10, 2011 8:03 am

    hi brian, greetings from spain.
    I would like to post on my blog one of yours pictures, so… could you tell me how I have to do it… thanks very much

    And as usuallly great pictures, I love how you translate the atmospheres.

  21. January 10, 2011 10:12 am

    Yes, yes, the kind of dreamy appartment…

  22. January 10, 2011 10:40 pm

    You really captured the light beautifully.

  23. January 11, 2011 8:02 am

    Great images. Love the apartment!

Comments are closed.