Skip to content

brooklyn tailors

February 15, 2011


. . . . . . . . .

i’ve been going through some images while i prepare to update my portfolio, and the photos above reminded me of something i’ve wanted to post here for a few months. i took these photographs back in august while visiting brooklyn – they are studio photos from BROOKLYN TAILORS, one of my favorite spots. they have included some of my photos on their website, have a look HERE.

and some of these photos were included in my section of the book Brooklyn Diary, published by lines & shapes.

if you are looking for beautiful shirts or suits, i highly recommend contacting daniel and brenna. i love my custom-made shirts, and working with them to design the shirts was a real pleasure.

. . . . . . . .

on a more personal note…
for a variety of reasons, i’ve been distracted lately and haven’t taken many personal photos. i’ve felt a lack of energy around here, and apologize for that. do you ever have the feeling that nothing is personally inspiring you – not books, not movies, not food, not blogs?  i’ve sort of felt that way recently. the internet has tired me out. 

BUT these things are cyclical, i know that. it’s time to go for a photo walk and hatch some new ideas and plans.  over the coming weeks i’ll have lots of new photos and good stuff to share with you here.  thanks for being patient.

25 Comments
  1. February 15, 2011 9:10 am

    yes, it’s true.
    yes, it’s cyclical
    yes, maybe because it’s winter (for toooo long)

  2. Liz permalink
    February 15, 2011 9:14 am

    Maybe summer would help shake things up? It would for me !

  3. February 15, 2011 9:20 am

    agree with blueistheteacher – its winter! but spring is coming

  4. February 15, 2011 9:34 am

    February is the month of malaise. I’ve found that my mental state improves enormously if I regularly go on long walks.

  5. February 15, 2011 9:37 am

    yes – february is a mentally draining month for me. I find myself needing to find inspiration again – find my niche. which keeps changing. ugh – OK- need to get out.

  6. February 15, 2011 10:18 am

    I get that sometimes too, but it usually gets better after I’ve managed to get more shuteye^^ Love the atmosphere in these photos of yours, and those swoon-worthy patterns!

  7. February 15, 2011 11:35 am

    I completely understand the lack of inspiration, especially with gray skies and record-low temperatures. Even a new lens cound’t inspire me. Perhaps this week will bring new and intriguing things your way!

  8. February 15, 2011 11:58 am

    i love these photos- the little behind the scenes peeks are so wonderful.

    i’ve been feeling the same way lately- i think i’ve shot just two rolls of film since the new year. it’s definitely cyclical. here’s to a burst of inspiration waiting for us around the corner!

  9. February 15, 2011 12:05 pm

    i’m there with you brian. i’m just trying to enjoy those other things… a great meal, or a favourite song on the radio. it does make me a little sad that i have no inspiration to pick up my camera or do anything creative, but you just have to ride it out, right?

    (spring is coming!)

  10. February 15, 2011 12:15 pm

    it makes me a little sad that you feel stressed about not updating (guessing that you do – or maybe you are just stressed over your general lack of inspiration). i could wait so long for your work – no matter how long, it always makes me so glad when you have updated. so cheers

  11. February 15, 2011 1:00 pm

    Oh, God, I feel that way so often. And I think that it’s true that winter has a lot to do with the whole thing. Spring is just around the corner and I can’t wait to get out there with my camera, to have my senses react to something other than cold wind and the color grey. Just think how amazing it will feel when the colors start to come back and the air feels warm.
    Don’t worry about the blog. Your readers love it and will always be around.

  12. February 15, 2011 1:57 pm

    Very cool photos, thanks for sharing. Cheryl

  13. February 15, 2011 2:03 pm

    walks, a temporary change of environment, something out of character

  14. February 15, 2011 3:16 pm

    first, crisp shirts are so sexy!!

    second, when I’m feeling uninspired and spent, I like to lay on my back on the ground and look for cloud animals. it always changes my outlook, no matter the weather!!

    can’t wait to see what you find.

  15. February 15, 2011 3:58 pm

    Everytime you post photos of your shirts I want to go shopping for my husband! I like that you have shared your feelings with us all about your phase of no inspiration. Take your time and we look forward to when you’ve got your mojo back. Always a fan, no matter how long you take to recharge.

  16. February 15, 2011 4:23 pm

    If you don’t do so already, I recommend employing a moleskine sketch book. Carry it around, doodle, brainstorm, elaborate on ideas on paper. After some time it may even become part of the process.

  17. Birchstar permalink
    February 15, 2011 4:59 pm

    Maybe you should have one of those custard-filled doughnuts with the restorative properties from St. John? Do they only sell them on Saturdays?

  18. February 15, 2011 6:32 pm

    I loved your pages in Brooklyn Diary, such great shots …..
    I think we all have moments like you …. actually I think I am having a bit of a “moment” myself lately …. hang in there, you are such a talented artist, and thats what comes with it !!!

  19. Trish permalink
    February 15, 2011 6:41 pm

    Perhaps it is your artistic temperament. Sometimes winter gets me down because OTHER people are cheerless and crabby. I wish you could photograph our amazing huge flocks of snow geese. They come around every winter, and land in the fields around the house. They have this way of getting ready to land in which the whole flock – many hundred birds – move in a clockwise tornado. And when they decide to leave the whole flock takes off en masse, with a great deal of squaking. I am no photographer, and have a cheapy camera. I bet your pictures would be spectacular.

  20. mary permalink
    February 15, 2011 8:15 pm

    that’s interesting you think that nothing is very inspiring as of late. i was actually feeling this way too, maybe a mid-winter feeling… until i stumbled upon your blog from another and went through all your photos. your blog was what i needed to get away from the feeling of lethargy and restlessness. anyway, now i’m eager for spring, to start collecting myself again, organizing my thoughts. so, thanks for that. hopefully you’ll find something like your own blog to pick you up and out :) cheers

  21. gretchen permalink
    February 15, 2011 10:03 pm

    I think we all go into a funk from time to time. I think you need a road trip. Keep blogging. I love reading your posts and seeing your beautiful photos.

  22. February 16, 2011 4:06 am

    i’ve always thought we have creative seasons.
    it’s hard to remember when i feel in the midst of a personal winter that it’s cyclical.

    your photos are lovely, thoughtful & generally always inspiring.
    xo

  23. February 16, 2011 7:00 am

    hope you find some inspiration soon. maybe spring will help you out a bit : )

  24. pete permalink
    February 16, 2011 1:23 pm

    It’s called depression.

  25. kristin permalink
    February 17, 2011 9:58 am

    I’m with you on the lack of inspiration lately. (Chicago in late winter has stretches of unending gray skies, dirty slush, sodden garbage.)

    Thanks for your delicious images to help me escape. Love the tailor shots.

Comments are closed.