Skip to content

Number 31

April 1, 2011












. . . . . . . . . .

i stayed at a spot called Number 31 when i was in dublin last weekend and i wanted to show you some of the interior today. it’s a beautifully-designed place, as you can see. it’s not a typical “hotel” but more like a guesthouse, made up of a modernist mews (my favorite part) as well as a classical georgian townhouse. they are connected with a small garden. the owners were incredibly friendly and the morning breakfast that they serve was a highlight of each day (i’m being completely serious. it was delicious).

and how incredible is that sunken leather couch & seating area? it was in front of the fireplace. i want one in my home.

i sort of struggled to see the charming side of dublin, but i would highly recommend this place if you’re ever visiting.

27 Comments
  1. April 1, 2011 4:37 pm

    I think you’re not the first person I’ve come across to comment that they have mixed feelings about Dublin, but these great shots are making me so want to go there just to check out this place.

  2. Susan permalink
    April 1, 2011 5:13 pm

    You lead a fascinating life.

  3. April 1, 2011 5:16 pm

    that place looks amazing!

  4. andrea permalink
    April 1, 2011 5:33 pm

    Ah…an especially nice “conversation pit.” (Term from the sixties and seventies.)

  5. April 1, 2011 6:14 pm

    what a fantastic place to stay! a sunken sitting room is on my wish list.

  6. April 1, 2011 7:01 pm

    that leather couch and fire place make me go week in the knees.

  7. April 1, 2011 7:03 pm

    weak.
    – just too tired.

  8. April 1, 2011 7:38 pm

    It’s gorgeous!!!

  9. kathryn permalink
    April 1, 2011 7:52 pm

    just booked it – perfect for our stay next month when going to a concert. can’t wait. thanks !

  10. elizabeth permalink
    April 1, 2011 10:22 pm

    Oh dear! Very sad to hear that…Please give it another try and maybe look up these places:

    the cake cafe: http://www.thecakecafe.ie/
    george’s street arcade http://www.georgesstreetarcade.ie/
    on same street, Shebeen pub (Website is garish but is a great pub and excellent food) http://shebeenchic.ie/
    phoenix park: http://www.phoenixpark.ie/
    in phoenix park: Farmleigh http://www.farmleigh.ie
    henrietta street, baggot str, leesons str – some of the oldest georgian architecture in dublin (http://www.visitdublin.com/downloads/georgianguide.pdf)
    L Mulligan grocer – http://www.lmulligangrocer.com/
    Whelan’s pub & music venue http://www.whelanslive.com/
    pub: the stag’s head, http://www.louisfitzgerald.com/stagshead

    Slán go fóill :)

  11. April 1, 2011 10:36 pm

    lovely calming photos, brian.
    i love dublin for its people, colourful buildings, cobblestone streets and party atmosphere. the pubs in dublin are such great fun too.
    i’m sorry you didn’t enjoy it! did u go anywhere else in ireland?

  12. April 2, 2011 4:21 am

    The photos are breathtaking. I want to hibernate on the fireplace sofa too!

  13. Christophe permalink
    April 2, 2011 9:01 am

    This post is solid gold mate…

  14. Kaitlyn permalink
    April 2, 2011 12:28 pm

    Reminds me of Frank Lloyd Wright houses I’ve visited… thanks for sharing!

  15. April 2, 2011 2:56 pm

    So it IS mixed feelings about Dublin vs. struggling to actually get around to see it. Though charm or not, I’d have been hard pressed to leave this lovely hotel. Hmm? Too bad about Dublin. I have a friend who yearns to return there, but then she is a peculiar duck. Lovable but peculiar. And I agree wholeheartedly with whoever observed that you lead an amazing life. I hope you see that you do and enjoy every bloody second of it. Love your photos.

  16. April 2, 2011 4:42 pm

    Definitely a place I’ll keep in mind for whenever I can get myself on a plane over there. It looks so charming and relaxing. The sunken living room reminds me of my old house. Such a lovely thing. :)

  17. April 2, 2011 9:52 pm

    I adore your photographic style, it is so refined and gracious. Your portrayal of Number 31 speeds up my ache to get back to the Isles! Love it!

  18. April 3, 2011 7:02 am

    i like the light in all these pictures.

  19. April 3, 2011 12:39 pm

    I’d love to ‘go away’ here. Love the shots.

  20. April 3, 2011 3:02 pm

    Beautiful spaces.

  21. April 3, 2011 10:23 pm

    That is a beautiful guesthouse!

    I’m going to visit my friend who lives in Dublin at the end of the month. There are some really beautiful sights to see over there. I think it’s just a case of hunting them out. Also it’s nice to get out of the city!

  22. April 3, 2011 10:56 pm

    I was just in Dublin last week. Stayed in the old part of the Merrion Hotel, in a room facing the garden courtyard, and it was divine. I swear the ceilings in the room had to be 16 feet tall. The food everywhere was amazing…much better than I’d expected. All of the ingredients seemed very close to their natural state, and nothing overly refined or processed. There was a big art and antiques fair over the weekend and that was interesting, as was trolling the antique shops on Francis St. One evening, we stumbled across a jam session with several very talented musicians in a pub just off St. Stephens Square. Overall, I found the city very enjoyable and the people charmingly down-to-earth.

  23. April 4, 2011 7:40 am

    Looks fantastic to me.

  24. April 4, 2011 9:50 pm

    These photographs are superb! I really want to visit Dublin now :)

  25. April 8, 2011 2:02 pm

    Sorry to hear you found my hometown charmless! But this is a great place to stay!!

  26. April 10, 2011 8:26 pm

    Love this series of photos and the simplcity of design.

  27. April 30, 2011 11:00 pm

    OK, cool story. I am subscribed to your photoblog and was catching up on some old posts today. When I scrolled through this one, I lingered at the photo of the courtyard. It looked familiar to me. Scrolled back up and noticed the sunken living room looked familiar, too. Then remembered you’d titled the post Number 31.

    This is the same place I stayed on my first night of my first solo international trip seven years ago! I had vivid memories of adventuring to find the place after getting off the coach from the airport. Also, the rooms were beautiful, the morning breakfast delicious, and the house dog so friendly and cute. (Do they still have the dog?)

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane for me! That was fun. :-)

Comments are closed.