Skip to content

best intentions

April 20, 2011

. . . . . . . . .

i’m going to be honest.

i wanted to share new photos with you this week, a new mix, some music recommendations, a list of good stuff i’ve been enjoying lately. but work has reared its ugly head around here once again, so all of that will have to wait.

lately i’ve felt like i need a vacation, in the true sense of the word. a long holiday, with nothing to do or see or plan, without to-do lists, without calls to return, without emails to respond to. i’m tired of being so damn busy, of feeling like i can’t make time in my life for the things that matter to me. i’ve reserved a week off next month but i can’t even find the time to book a plane, to figure out hotels or trains. do you ever reach that point where you think to yourself, “if i have to deal with one more urgent email, i’m going to lose my mind”? well, i have. and i think i lost my mind sometime last night. (if you’re waiting for me to respond to an email, please accept my apologies in advance … it’ll be a while before i can dig out of my inbox.)

the good news is that we have a 4-day weekend coming up here in the UK and my fingers are crossed that i can spend at least part of that time doing absolutely nothing at all.

and i hope to share those photos (and the music and links) soon … i’ll see you here then.

30 Comments
  1. April 20, 2011 1:35 pm

    what a great photo. i love the symmetry and light.
    enjoy your downtime!

  2. Liande permalink
    April 20, 2011 1:39 pm

    I can relate to that completely! One does need some me-time and I hope that you will find this over the week-end as plan. To many things, to much to do and not enough time ….. insanity! Enjoy your me-time. I am going to enjoy mine here in a rainy, cold South Africa over the Easter week-end as it is holiday here as well. So many public holidays here lately, it’s crazy. :)

  3. Louise permalink
    April 20, 2011 1:49 pm

    Two 4-day weekends in a row and some sunshine will hopefully sort you out. Thanks Royal Wedding!

  4. April 20, 2011 2:15 pm

    The sink is totally perfection. I’m dying! Enjoy the fun of the four day weekend and the royal wedding!

  5. April 20, 2011 2:22 pm

    Wait, the Royal Wedding is a holiday? That’s just fantastic. I feel you on the losing the mind thing.. sometimes I get so out of sorts I start to daydream of ways to get fired. Unfortunately I have no desire to run around my office naked and other than that I’m out of ideas. :)

    I hope you get to do nothing soon!

  6. April 20, 2011 2:23 pm

    You know I know your pain. Deep breaths and tall glasses of booze. There is an end in sight and soon enough you’ll be free, my friend. And you know what matters…that’s a lot more than some people can say. Big hugs to you over the Atlantic, B.

  7. April 20, 2011 2:24 pm

    Take care of yourself. We’ll all be here when you return.

  8. April 20, 2011 2:44 pm

    oh brian, do i know how you feel. in fact, so much so, that i’m taking this friday & monday off, even though two partners have now forgotten that i asked for these days off 6 weeks ago. (i should’ve lied and told them i was going out of town. they assumed because i wasn’t, i was willing to cancel all my plans.) i’ve got very little planned. i’m not going anywhere. i’m turning my blackberry off and staying off the internet as much as possible. i seriously cannot wait.

  9. April 20, 2011 3:33 pm

    Oh, I hear you. Life lately has been one thing after another. I feel like a good hibernation myself. Anyway, I try to crave out some wee time everyday for fun stuff but sometimes it doesn’t happen. I hope you get your rest soon.

  10. Elisabeth permalink
    April 20, 2011 4:38 pm

    In the midst of the hectic pace of life and work, may you stumble upon moments of ethereal beauty and clarity, which silence the cacophony, remind you to breathe deeply, and invigorate you to carry on.

  11. jenna permalink
    April 20, 2011 4:41 pm

    adventure in sweden/norway/iceland/denmark for a week? ;-) hope you’re staying afloat, brian!

  12. April 20, 2011 4:43 pm

    Brian,

    I have absolutely been in that place, recently even. I have a job that is very difficult to leave at work and that at times interferes with everything else important in my life: my relationships, my sleep cycle, my health, my creative work. I started reading your blog when I was finishing grad school and working crazy hours in a stressful field. Since that time, I have returned to this space not only because your work is beautiful but because I am constantly inspired and renewed by your ability to balance your profsessional self with the myriad facets of your being. You’ll find that balance again.

  13. Olive permalink
    April 20, 2011 4:57 pm

    Hang in there. It might sound trite but what keeps me from losing it sometimes is just pausing for a second and telling myself to take it one day at a time.

    Take care!

  14. April 20, 2011 5:34 pm

    Oh Brian. Feeling the same way here in sunny-ish California. My blog’s been sorely neglected and I’m trying to find a little free corner of time to explore things that make me happy. Cheers to that … for you, too.

  15. blygraa permalink
    April 20, 2011 5:57 pm

    Just wanted to leave a comment on how much I appreciate your photographs and your blog. When living up north, longing for the sun and warmer days, it is wonderful to watch how you so beautifully capture the light.

    I hope you get time to do nothing – and enjoy the spring!

  16. andrea permalink
    April 20, 2011 6:46 pm

    I have a suggestion for you. See that bottle of Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap? Sit down, have a drink, read the label, and you will be transported to a different plane.

  17. April 20, 2011 9:57 pm

    I reached that point two weeks ago and am taking a few days off from work beginning tomorrow! sometimes nothing is the best thing to do.

  18. April 21, 2011 11:44 am

    I know the feeling! The good thing is that being really busy makes you enjoy every minute of your vacation

  19. April 21, 2011 12:00 pm

    i visit your blog every day (and enjoy it very much) but i think it’s the first time i comment. what i do sometimes for short vacations is that i tell everyone i’m leaving, to the country for example, but in reality, i stay home and only do what i please :)

  20. April 21, 2011 12:17 pm

    too many days in a row when ‘everybody wants a piece’ of your attention– i always think i need a force field so that people can see me but can’t approach or communicate with me, until i allow. is science working on this?

  21. April 21, 2011 12:49 pm

    I hope you will have some time over Easter to relax and do nothing!
    Enjoy the spring, isn’t it lovely?

  22. Heidi permalink
    April 21, 2011 3:52 pm

    I wonder if there is any way to escape that as long as you are in the business world – I’m not sure there is as long as you are at a firm. But, it sounds from one of the comments like there could be change afoot.

  23. April 21, 2011 5:07 pm

    i know exactly how you feel. hold tight, ferry. you can get through this. in the meantime, something to make you laugh (of the somewhat rebellious nature) it will only take 2 minutes of your life AND it’s not urgent ;) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBa5qp9sUOY

  24. Janet permalink
    April 21, 2011 7:08 pm

    i SOOOO hear you.
    go somewhere with sunshine, warm temps, and water and unplug for a while!

  25. April 22, 2011 3:44 pm

    I think I have an idea what you’re talking about Brian, hope you’ll be able to get a good rest this weekend to perk up your spirits, take care!

  26. renuka permalink
    April 23, 2011 6:05 am

    everyone needs a break.. especially the creative ones.

  27. April 23, 2011 9:15 pm

    been in that place too.
    hope you are having a restful weekend.

  28. April 24, 2011 4:00 am

    I totally feel that way a lot of times, especially these past few weeks. I’ve had a string of visitors and very little time to myself. I feel like I have so much to catch up on (and I have a 4 day weekend coming up, too!). Well, enjoy your 4-day weekend, and make time for yourself to relax. :)

  29. April 25, 2011 9:35 am

    That coma-like feeling of spring when the sunshine is a spread of warm treacle but still we have to get through all we have to do . . .

    However you happen to be feeling, your blog is so relaxing, love it!

    Best wishes for nothing time.

  30. April 29, 2011 4:25 am

    this lovely photoblog is the first thing i read when i come to the office :)
    also – i relate with this post 100% !!

Comments are closed.