Skip to content

randoms, lately (bank holidays edition)

May 3, 2011






















. . . . . . . . . .

for various reasons, i’ve felt stuck in a rut for a while – i get sick of my own photographs, and sometimes i feel like nothing is making me excited to pick up my camera. but instead of letting it get to me, i’m making an effort to dig myself out of the rut. in certain ways, i’ve been changing my focus a bit and shooting different things over the past couple of weeks. i’m thinking about photographs a bit differently, in hopes of feeling inspired. i think it’s working.

one thing that helped me get out of the rut was this past weekend, a glorious 4-day bank holiday weekend here in the UK.  also: some of the nicest weather i’ve ever experienced in london over the past couple of weeks. it’s been incredible. when work is a challenge and my photos are crap, a sunny day can make all the difference.

above, some random photos that i’ve shot over the past two long holiday weekends. little by little, i’m feeling inspired and excited again. that’s a good feeling.

i’ve got a couple of posts in store for later this week, including a shoot that i recently did for fun at one of my favorite places here in london. hope to see you back here then.

p.s.
+ a little video i made yesterday
+ and i love this: hovis farmer’s race (so british it hurts)

27 Comments
  1. May 3, 2011 3:07 pm

    I love them all, but 5&6 (the pre-storm ones) – oh my god. Gorgeous. And I do know that feeling -getting sick of my photos – but then I try to remember that they’re what picks me up when I get sick of most other things…if that makes sense.

  2. May 3, 2011 3:09 pm

    I love the tendrils! Oh, lovely springtime…
    Whenever I get in a rut (as a writer) I give myself an assignment.
    Either I find something new & adventurous to do (expansion), or
    I tighten the focus and create specific parameters within which to create (contraction).
    I find both new experiences to help my muse reveal itself.
    Glad the sun shined for you!

  3. May 3, 2011 4:27 pm

    I love that shot of the open window with the curtain streaming out. Thinking good thoughts for you, Mr. Ferry.

  4. May 3, 2011 4:43 pm

    i love these shots, brian. awesome.

  5. May 3, 2011 5:04 pm

    your photos are always so inspiring! i can understand that you can get tired of seeing your own work or become ‘blind’ for it, but i still find them so beautiful and full of inspiration. i always love visiting your blog!

  6. May 3, 2011 5:22 pm

    I can relate to the burn out. You are handling it right. Be patient while you revive your passion – it will return I assure you.
    Love the pics. Love the window reflection video and the hovis vids. Too funny! Thanks for the smiles.

  7. May 3, 2011 5:41 pm

    These are great, and you’re a talented photographer with a good eye! I always look forward to your posts. But I know what you mean because I’ve been getting sick of my own photos. Coincidentally we had a three-day weekend here with surprisingly beautiful weather, and I totally feel recharged. I also found a new camera to play around with. :)

  8. hannah permalink
    May 3, 2011 6:30 pm

    your photos aren’t crap, they are amazing!

  9. May 3, 2011 8:23 pm

    The photo of the curtain/sheet blowing out the window–it’s absolutely beautiful.
    As far as feeling uninspired, read The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharp, she has incredible insight about inspiration and ruts and creativity.
    Best,
    Mary

  10. May 3, 2011 9:01 pm

    Your blog is one I read every day. It’s one of my favorites. I love all your photos on this post and the scone post yesterday made me want to make some! Keep up the good work!

  11. Alexander Bobin permalink
    May 3, 2011 9:30 pm

    What a weekend indeed! Great shots. Looking forward to seeing your work on Thurs.

  12. May 3, 2011 9:50 pm

    For what it’s worth…

    One year I got into a major rut and stopped shooting for a long time because I wasn’t feeling it. Then someone that knows me well said “you don’t feel like shooting because you’re not shooting.” And they were right, because once I started again, just the habitual shooting every day, I started to like it again. (or at least…I liked the result. Sometimes I don’t “like” shooting but I’m compelled to.)

    Also, when I am in a rut, I usually try to shoot something I’m kind of scared of shooting (like a stranger) and then I get an adrenaline rush and find out I can do something I didn’t know I could do.

  13. May 3, 2011 11:19 pm

    I die for your shirt photos! I die!

  14. May 3, 2011 11:26 pm

    I love the subject matter you’ve always photographed, but these new subjects are great too. I’m enjoying watching this random exploration. Love the dogs!

  15. May 3, 2011 11:54 pm

    Love these, and admire your ability to capture a moment. Thanks!

  16. May 3, 2011 11:56 pm

    Love these, and admire your ability to capture a moment. Thanks!

  17. Ariana Ladew permalink
    May 4, 2011 2:05 am

    Keep it coming! Love the pics and vids!

  18. May 4, 2011 5:04 am

    I always love your photos
    it makes my day :)
    feeling of blur of film photos always touch my heart.

  19. May 4, 2011 5:17 am

    Wow, just love this first image. Beautiful.

  20. May 4, 2011 5:19 am

    I want to live in that first photo…on a barge…on a river. Loved the video as well… You always bring such lovely treats. Thanks a ton for that.

  21. FFF Fresh permalink
    May 4, 2011 9:55 pm

    Resoundingly honest Brian. I’m sure your thoughts echo those of many other readers but it takes something a little bit more than what we’d call ‘balls’ to share them.

    Sometimes I think the only way through a rut is to plough your way through it!

    Keep going as your ruts are our peaks!

  22. Rick permalink
    May 4, 2011 10:33 pm

    These photos are ok.

  23. mcc permalink
    May 5, 2011 12:38 pm

    No crap in these, bferry. Just breathtaking beauty.

  24. May 6, 2011 7:36 am

    From the coffee cup with the clear, empty jug down were my favourites of this post. There was such a warm, homey, welcoming feeling to all of the photographs.

    I know what you mean about being in a rut. Now that I’m home, with no obligation to shoot and with, essentially, nothing TO shoot, I’m in the same place. Which means, I, like you did, need to change the way I see things a bit. My Photojournalism teacher always said, “It’s not just in the good times with your camera that you know you’re doing a good job. It’s when it’s there with you in the bad times, too.” Which, really, is true.

    I’m glad that you’re finding your way out of your rut. Hopefully I will as well. :)

  25. Sophie permalink
    May 9, 2011 9:16 am

    Makes me smile now everytime I see your shoes appear on a photo. And I just LOVE that sheet-out-of-the-window picture! Thanks…

  26. May 12, 2011 8:50 pm

    funny! I’m feeling the exact same way about my photos!! But I’m dealing with it a bit differently and only taking a photo when i’m feeling really moved… maybe I should deal with it differently???

    Also, I love the plastic/sheet in the window blowing…. and all those sunshine photos (that is definitely the favorite time of day… it’s so peaceful)

    thank you for sharing.

  27. May 25, 2011 12:13 pm

    GORGEOUS work! I know how you feel about being stuck in a rut. My camera has been laying in the closet for a few months now because lately I don’t feel like I have the creativity to shoot good shots and that my work is boring. Way to go for making it through your rut!!!

Comments are closed.