Skip to content

notes on italy, 2

May 25, 2011























. . . . . . . . . . . . .

from the center of camogli, you follow the signs for san rocco, a tiny village on the top of the mountain with a small but beautiful church (and one of the best restaurants in the area, which i’ll tell you about later). while the hike uphill includes numerous steps and a steep incline, it’s worth the effort … the view is stunning. in san rocco, there’s a little old italian lady leaning over her balcony, looking towards camogli.  and along the way you see local family homes, which are modest but well-cared for, and little bits of stonework and shrines to madonna in the stone walls.

from san rocco, you continue downhill via the staircase that descends through olive and holly to the tiny village of san nicolò, in a region that was once populated but is now almost completely abandoned. in san nicolò, you’ll find a very old church built in the 12th century (in the process of being refurbished) and you’ll have to stop and and stare because it’s so remarkable.  down to porto pidocchio for a quick swim in the blue-green water (i’ve never seen water this color before, anywhere!). then past a small restaurant (making a note to visit this restaurant at sunset … next time). finally, on to punta chiappa, where the heat subsides and you’re cooled off by the breeze and another dive into that incredible water. punta chiappa is wild, literally – stones, rocks, wind, sand. it feels rough, yet incredibly beautiful. it’s quiet – only a few other people are there sleeping on the rocks.

there’s a distinct feeling you get when doing this hike – it’s grueling at times, but stunningly beautiful and quiet. everything feels so ancient… you pass only a few houses after san rocco and many of them are abandoned, large trees and weeds and flowers growing out of the windows.  you wonder who once lived in these homes, how many times they walked up all of those hills and steps, and if they ever tired of the view.

. . . . .

(there’s a map of this hike and more info about the area and history here.)

40 Comments
  1. May 25, 2011 1:15 pm

    Must. Go. To. Italy. Fantastic photos! Makes me long to go there even more…

  2. May 25, 2011 1:15 pm

    Oh man, Ferry, these photos made my day alittle bit better. Thanks for the vicarious travel. Damn.

  3. Adrian Failla permalink
    May 25, 2011 1:17 pm

    Lovely photos!

  4. May 25, 2011 1:39 pm

    this really reminds me of a trip to aiguablava (on the costa brava) which we did in march.
    a different time of year but similar views. being in kiwi living in montpellier i still marvel at being about to drive to these places :)

  5. May 25, 2011 1:48 pm

    So beautiful

  6. May 25, 2011 2:22 pm

    oh so lovely, makes me miss italy. i can’t wait for you to post pictures from cinque terre!

  7. May 25, 2011 2:39 pm

    I love your photos and I like reading blogs about everyday living— although, there is absolutely nothing “everyday” about Italy. Subscribing to your blog. :)

  8. Collin permalink
    May 25, 2011 2:58 pm

    LOVE all of the pictures, especially the first one!

  9. May 25, 2011 3:02 pm

    Lost in a reverie…hot, hazy views of turquoise waters glimpsed through branch-lined alleyways and colourful houses….Thanks for taking me back to my backpacking through Europe days, 15 years ago (lordy).

  10. May 25, 2011 3:12 pm

    Your photos are amazing. Thank you for sharing them and showing us snapshots from your adventures.

  11. May 25, 2011 3:31 pm

    So many amazing little corners and old twisting stairs to explore. Hot sun, cool shade and little lizards scurrying out of your path. And alllll that blue, above and below. This is making me want to visit this part of Italy again so badly!

  12. May 25, 2011 4:14 pm

    just gorgeous. the colors of that sea…

  13. May 25, 2011 4:37 pm

    beautiful beautiful beautiful

  14. Kate permalink
    May 25, 2011 4:43 pm

    I feel so relaxed after looking at these photos. You write very well. It’s as though I just took at trip to Italy myself on this rainy Michigan day.

  15. May 25, 2011 5:10 pm

    my goodness. the 2nd last picture. WOW brian!

  16. May 25, 2011 5:30 pm

    reminds me of “I am Love”. so beautiful! the color of that water is incredible.

  17. May 25, 2011 5:37 pm

    I am going to Italy at the end of June and this just got me so excited! I will be going to Cinque Terre, Florence, Rome, Siena…now I can’t wait!

  18. May 25, 2011 6:59 pm

    Such beautiful photos. Your site is such a wonderful place for inspiration. I think these Italy shots might be my favorites to date!

  19. stacey svendsen permalink
    May 25, 2011 7:06 pm

    i’m in love with you.
    is that to abrupt?
    eh, oh well.

    • andrea permalink
      May 26, 2011 7:02 pm

      Who is “you”? Brian or Italy?

  20. May 25, 2011 7:20 pm

    I may have just added this to my trip to Italy next month. I want to see the color of the water with my own eyes. Tell us about the restaurant please!

  21. May 25, 2011 7:32 pm

    I wish I was there.

  22. May 25, 2011 7:46 pm

    these notes are really helpful, esp since i’ll be traveling around italy this summer (:
    thank you & i hope to read more!

  23. May 25, 2011 10:00 pm

    This looks like the most supremely relaxing vacation ever. The first photo especially, but this whole set has such a sun-soaked, golden feel. I am glad you shot so much film–completely beautiful photos.

  24. May 25, 2011 11:14 pm

    Wow, I love looking at these lovely photos! What a treasure of a vacation you had. I’m just a bit “green” at the moment. :)

  25. May 25, 2011 11:57 pm

    welcome back :-)

  26. May 26, 2011 1:02 am

    Ahhh! So lovely…the rocky wall, the little shrine to Our Lady, the stone steps. Gorgeous images, all. Thanks a ton, Brian.

  27. May 26, 2011 2:13 am

    Just beautiful! I love your perspective; your work is very inspirational.

  28. realanonymousgirl2011 permalink
    May 26, 2011 5:55 am

    You’re so lucky!!! I will go….one day.

  29. May 26, 2011 6:40 am

    Makes me want to go there…how amazing! Beautiful photos

  30. May 26, 2011 8:36 am

    So refreshing to see such photos from you, filled with light and summer colors.
    Still, i was expecting to find some documentation from a good & simple local lunch. I believe this will come quite soon.

  31. May 26, 2011 9:31 am

    beautiful, how your images and writing complement each other.

  32. May 26, 2011 10:35 am

    Great pictures and place! I was born in Lucca (not so far) and I lived there 27 years, I know these places and I really understand what you say ;). Thank you!

    • May 26, 2011 11:34 am

      Lucca! That’s really great – if I had another day or two, I was going to stop there. Next time…

  33. May 26, 2011 11:51 am

    Love love love your photogrpahs. At first I thought it was Greece then I read Italy. Close.
    The Mediterranean Sea is the best (of course I’m biased).
    Magda

  34. martyier permalink
    May 26, 2011 3:05 pm

    OH HO WOW!!! This goes waaaay beyond I was there. more ocean pictures pleeeeeease!!!!!!!

  35. May 27, 2011 2:57 am

    Exquisite! I’m having a vicarious holiday just looking through them! I really must get back to Italy sometime soon!

  36. heather permalink
    May 27, 2011 5:06 pm

    Spectacular!

  37. May 30, 2011 4:09 am

    The second last photo of the water is something else. Such a brilliant shade of blue!

Trackbacks

  1. photo thursday « and so it begins

Comments are closed.