Skip to content

notes on italy, 5

May 31, 2011



















. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

tucked away and off the beaten path in sori, bagni sillo is an incredible place to spend a sunny day. seemingly carved out of the rocks along the sea, it’s been around for quite some time and from what i can gather, has a colorful history. the owners are laid-back, interesting characters – an older man and woman who look like they’ve spent their entire life at the beach… deep tans, always smiling, enjoying life. they spend half of the year in italy at bagni sillo, and half of the year in india. what a life!

i spent a lot of time here – i really enjoyed the vibe and the fact that you can just sit there all day enjoying the sun, diving off the rocks into the ocean to cool off, reading a book and dozing off. and lunch was a highlight – the owner cooks simple dishes from a small kitchen and they are really tasty … i loved those fresh anchovies you see above, breaded & fried with fresh herbs, and stuffed with cheese and herbs & fried. i also had an octopus salad that was excellent, especially with a chilled white wine or a cold beer. it was a special place and i’m glad i found it.

(i love this black & white photo taken there  … and i also stumbled upon this video, an incredible slide-show of old-school images from bagni sillo. so awesome (ignore the music).)

14 Comments
  1. May 31, 2011 12:44 pm

    This place looked very familiar to me and then I read it’s Sori!
    I spent a couple of days in this beautiful town few years ago and apart from amazing views I had the best pizza in my life:).

  2. May 31, 2011 12:47 pm

    This holiday photos are so gorgeous. Fantastic. Italy is so beautiful. Your photos remind me of earlier films that have played in Italy.

  3. May 31, 2011 12:58 pm

    this is my favorite series so far. it pretty much makes me want to hop on the first flight to italy. and. i need those anchovies in my mouth. the sooner the better.

  4. mayuko permalink
    May 31, 2011 1:33 pm

    your photograph makes me kind of touching;D

  5. May 31, 2011 1:34 pm

    Looks like a fantastic day! Thanks for sharing.

  6. May 31, 2011 2:10 pm

    beautiful photos, they look so relaxing

  7. May 31, 2011 2:17 pm

    Exactly what I needed this morning…

  8. andrea permalink
    May 31, 2011 3:38 pm

    Looking at these, you almost expect Alain Delon as Tom Ripley to come strolling by.

  9. May 31, 2011 6:10 pm

    che bella! last june i got back home after living in italy for nearly a year, and these pictures are making me miss it more than ever. great photos, as always!

  10. sueysong permalink
    May 31, 2011 7:50 pm

    by seeing the photos above now it is assuring that i want to go to Italy.

  11. June 1, 2011 11:17 am

    With these photos, you show a lot of what I like about the mediterranean … and about the sea in gerenal. Thanks for sharing!

    • June 1, 2011 11:19 am

      … “general”, of course. Sorry!

  12. July 7, 2011 12:29 pm

    Hola! I am Carolina from Madrid, today I have taken several photos, almost of them from this post. Since I saw them I have was reminding them and I would like to keep them for study the aesthetic concept behind.. to understand “why do they attract me?”
    Thanks for sharing. Me encanta tu blog

Trackbacks

  1. photo thursday « and so it begins

Comments are closed.