Skip to content

29 june

June 29, 2011






















(i shot a roll of film with my Lomo LCA in paris … accidentally underexposed, but still nice)
. . . . . . . .

a few notes/good stuff from paris:

+ it was men’s fashion week and i was able to look at the SS12 collection from our legacy at 0fr. incredible stuff. i wanted to buy about 12 pieces right there but i’ll have to wait until next year. (i can’t find any images of the collection online but i’m on the lookout)

+ right after arriving in paris by train on thursday night, i met my friends for wine & charcuterie at la patache.  loved it (nothing fancy, a good neighborhood spot)

+ i’m on the hunt for the wine glasses that they use at la patache (short-stemmed, very simple, with a straight column stem and rounded bowl … just like THIS). if you know where i can find them in the UK, please drop me an email…

+ my first time visiting du pain et des idées … alone worth the trip from london.

+ when in paris, my preferred breakfast is a croissant, a pain au chocolat (yes, both), and a café allongé  (like an americano). if i lived in paris, this would probably have to change to avoid a heart attack … but when visiting, nothing makes me happier.

+ finally picked up a copy of the travel almanac no. 1 at colette (i’ll share some images from this soon, it’s very nice).

26 Comments
  1. June 29, 2011 12:46 pm

    Looks like a wonderful trip to Paris!

    If you don’t find that shape of glass in London, I could mail you some from C&B if there wouldn’t be any customs problems.

  2. June 29, 2011 1:04 pm

    Wonderful images. The third photo of the patisserie reminds me of the bakery shown in Eric Rohmer’s The Bakery Girl of Monceau. I wonder if it’s the same one?

  3. June 29, 2011 1:57 pm

    I am there with you in Paris…croissant crumbs on my shirt. Lingering, people watching and Pastis. Charcuterie and a violet sky. So grateful you took us with you…

  4. June 29, 2011 2:26 pm

    Is that Ryan I see?

    The evening skies of Paris are magical.

  5. June 29, 2011 2:43 pm

    lovely, thank you for sharing these photos. i adore your blog / photos….they are so genuine and there is a pureness about them. xo

  6. June 29, 2011 3:28 pm

    love the ghetto shot

  7. June 29, 2011 4:09 pm

    I love how you photography Paris :) Did you buy anything in APC.

  8. June 29, 2011 4:33 pm

    i see you’ve been to the 10è. The boulangerie rue de marseille is probably the best ever.

  9. June 29, 2011 6:32 pm

    Ahhhh, Paris. SO good.

    (I nearly bought these Jasper Morrison for Alessi wine glasses at SCP last week – I think you get 2 for £10 – anyway something reasonable.)

    http://www.designboom.com/weblog/cat/8/view/5178/glass-family-goblet-by-jasper-morrison-for-alessi-at-macef-09.html

  10. June 29, 2011 7:06 pm

    we had glasses like that growing up. i’m sure they must be available somewhere still, i’ll have a think.

  11. June 29, 2011 7:25 pm

    Very nice! The underexposition made a really cool effect in the pics.


    Camila Faria

  12. June 29, 2011 8:13 pm

    Gorgeous photos!

  13. June 29, 2011 9:04 pm

    There’s something about those green park chairs (Jardin du Luxemburg?) that make me want to eat a baguette, lightly coated with creamy yellow butter and filled with a few dainty slices of ham. Heavenly!

  14. June 29, 2011 10:43 pm

    We’ve just returned home to Australia this week from a European holiday including a trip to Paris. I looked down so many open doors but it appears you found the perfect one with those three pot plants at the end of the driveway! Ah, what a captivating city. We can’t wait to go back.

  15. Val permalink
    June 29, 2011 11:31 pm

    Love the mood of these images! keep’em coming pls.

    I’m sure you already know about this, should be an interesting show.

    http://londonstreetphotographyfestival.com/diary/vivian-maier-a-life-uncovered

  16. June 30, 2011 2:10 am

    i have to say…. i LOVE this blog. :-) i read it every morning @ work and it feels me with happiness.

  17. June 30, 2011 8:03 am

    Hey Ryan !

  18. June 30, 2011 8:50 am

    Yeah, hey, Ryan! I’m bookmarking this for my next trip, B…

  19. Dougal permalink
    June 30, 2011 10:16 am

    10ème arrondissement. Man, I miss Paris.

  20. June 30, 2011 10:22 am

    Oy, I am obsessed with your photos. You are becoming personally responsible for my complete and utter lack of productivity today. Grazie :)

  21. June 30, 2011 12:21 pm

    Going to Paris in a few weeks, can’t wait :)

  22. July 1, 2011 6:55 am

    oh man, 0fr is by far my favorite art-themed store in Paris. couldn’t you just spend days there? so so great.

  23. July 1, 2011 7:38 pm

    great, makes me want to be there too.

  24. marthasnail permalink
    July 3, 2011 9:18 pm

    this looks like such fun! and i love that you eat two kinds of croissants for breakfast. i really adore the photo with the greenery climbing up the building.

  25. July 12, 2011 5:05 am

    Did I spy a chocolate croissant?

Trackbacks

  1. 22 july « the blue hour

Comments are closed.