Skip to content

“home”

July 7, 2011




































. . . . . . . . .

i wanted to share some new work with you today…

these 10 photographs were my submission for the group exhibition “OTHER PEOPLE’S HOUSES” in london back in may. the theme was “home”.

when thinking about my submission, i knew i wanted to challenge myself to work on something different. i thought a lot about “home” and what it means to me. i’m very conscious of the things i choose to surround myself with at home. and no matter where i live – various apartments, different countries, different cities & neighborhoods – there are certain meaningful things that i’ve collected along the way and these items help to create a “home” wherever i am. so i removed the items from their natural environment and photographed them as still-lifes. the process was almost like taking inventory of the items, as if i am about to box them up and move somewhere else.  i really enjoyed working on this one.


(edited to add: the exhibition website is now live, and you can see all of the submissions from the artists online HERE).

36 Comments
  1. July 7, 2011 3:44 pm

    I really love this collection. I am especially drawn to the red lamp picture. Maybe since all the others have muted color tones and that one is different? Or maybe the way you placed the cord? I’m not sure. I just really like it.

    I wish I could have seen the group exhibition. I’m sure it was inspiring.

  2. July 7, 2011 3:45 pm

    These are amazing! Will they be for sale?

    • July 7, 2011 4:49 pm

      a few of these were for sale at the show, katie – but i’m thinking about doing a limited edition print sale at some point soon. stay tuned.

  3. July 7, 2011 3:49 pm

    Brian. YES. I’m so inspired by this series.

  4. July 7, 2011 4:09 pm

    totally in love with these.

    home is such an interesting theme. I recently did a project about home as a working place and found really interesting things..

  5. July 7, 2011 5:01 pm

    Really like the idea of Home, it touches and inspiring me , as all of us have home. Thanks!

  6. July 7, 2011 5:42 pm

    Terrific! I really like these

  7. July 7, 2011 5:44 pm

    what is great about this work is that we can immediately understand the meaning of these things : that they create a homeliness wherever you go.
    those photographs show that there is something more than “consumerism” (or whatever) in this collection of objects.

  8. Christophe permalink
    July 7, 2011 6:04 pm

    At last! Love these…

  9. July 7, 2011 8:01 pm

    what a great collection brian..amusing to me that I also own and love several of those objects

  10. July 7, 2011 8:05 pm

    I love your stylistic approach to the settings of the objects, like museum pieces, which gave them an iconic appeal, but then they became untouchable. That is okay too as they are special objects.

  11. hannah permalink
    July 7, 2011 8:44 pm

    this is so nice!

  12. July 7, 2011 9:25 pm

    this is so great!

  13. July 7, 2011 10:05 pm

    these are wonderful, brian! i love the way you pushed yourself to do something different.

  14. July 7, 2011 10:42 pm

    I love how you composed your photographs here.

  15. andrea permalink
    July 8, 2011 3:15 am

    Homage a Giorgio Morandi?

  16. July 8, 2011 3:21 am

    Love it. Intensely refreshing. Good work.

  17. July 8, 2011 8:52 am

    lovely

  18. July 8, 2011 9:17 am

    I love all of these, especially the one with the antler. It’s just so nice to see things that mean something presented so beautifully. Plus I wish I had a glass milk bottle. I keep getting them, only for my flatmate to throw them in the recycling. It’s good that others know how nice it can be to have one around…

    Love your blog and all your photos. I almost bought a hasselblad yesterday because of you!

  19. July 8, 2011 10:50 am

    love these.

  20. Sarah permalink
    July 8, 2011 4:25 pm

    Really love this, Brian. I had the same set of ceramic measuring spoons. Labour and Wait, right? Except I’m down to one now. So pretty, but so breakable. In my hands, anyway!

  21. July 9, 2011 7:30 am

    i love this set! the simplicity is so beautiful but the objects make everything become really personal. so good :)

  22. July 9, 2011 12:46 pm

    understand life more, love it deeper.

  23. Ashley Erin permalink
    July 10, 2011 4:42 am

    These photos are amazing! I love the white space and the simplicity of them, as so many others have said. They’re very inspiring and make me look at all the objects around my home with a little more thought.

  24. July 10, 2011 7:08 am

    Brian, I love both the photos and the sentiment behind them. Sometimes an object is more than a “thing” – and I relate to the attachment to the Heath mugs you showed. They’re so simple, and smooth, and heat up perfectly in your hands. Even just seeing one makes me feel a sense of comfort

  25. July 10, 2011 3:17 pm

    brian, these are simply stunning. I love how everyone’s submission was a different interpretation of ‘home’. I especially like how you interpreted it.

  26. rodi permalink
    July 10, 2011 4:14 pm

    I’m so excited that these are finally up. Yours are lovely, and I can’t wait to sit down with a glass of iced tea and look at the other participants work(s?)… thank you.

  27. July 11, 2011 7:29 pm

    I like your interpretation of the subject. It really appeals to me as I’ve been moving around quite a lot and, like you, I have a couple of precious objects that makes everywhere I am feel like ‘home’. Well done! And beautiful photographs.

  28. July 12, 2011 3:32 am

    wow- really love these- would make an awesome book.
    i feel the same about objects and what makes home feel like home. i have always been a collector of sorts and love to see how collections change based on where i live…i too take shots at times as a sort of record- it’s like a journal.
    thanks for sharing yours.
    p.s. i like your stuff.
    ;)

  29. merysa permalink
    July 14, 2011 3:22 pm

    Like Chardin if he had lived today.

  30. marthasnail permalink
    July 16, 2011 11:45 am

    what a great project, brian. i love what you chose to photograph.

  31. July 18, 2011 7:24 am

    yours are my favourite! love every single photograph!

  32. July 18, 2011 10:57 am

    simple yet beautiful :)

  33. Patricia permalink
    July 20, 2011 3:49 pm

    This is a breathtaking collection of images. I feel so inspired by these elegant photos. I, too, like to see the beauty surrounding me in my home and the everyday. I agree with some of the others who suggested this would make a lovely book. Well done.

  34. August 2, 2011 6:47 pm

    Really inspiring, I love still-lifes and I really like your interpretation of “home”. Thanks for sharing these images with us!

Trackbacks

  1. Play. Style. Look. See.

Comments are closed.