Skip to content

In the south

September 12, 2011



















. . . . . . . . . .

When I travel somewhere new, I almost always take my camera for a walk on my own. I snap photos of things that catch my eye, I explore a bit. I think of these photos as my “photographer’s sketchbook” – not only do I come home with some visual memories, but these (often random) photos will provide inspiration and can often help to get my creative juices flowing again.

. . . .

On a different note, the re-design of the blog is mostly complete. If you’re reading on an RSS reader or other feed, click over and check it out. It’s nothing revolutionary, but I wanted to clean it up and simplify things a bit.

A HUGE thank you to Jamie Dwyer, the brains behind the re-design. Jamie is one of my oldest friends, and he didn’t laugh at me when I asked “is CSS the same thing as HTML?”.  He’s been a huge help and I owe him big-time.

Enjoy.

29 Comments
  1. September 12, 2011 3:44 pm

    Wow, the foliage is so beautiful! I love the shapes of the leaves. My favorite pics are #6 and #7. Thanks for sharing.

  2. September 12, 2011 3:48 pm

    totally digging the new look! well done.

  3. September 12, 2011 4:09 pm

    Brian, your photos are the number one reason I applied for an expensive business credit card because of it’s great miles program. I’m normally happy to hibernate in New Hampshire for vacation but oh, I am missing so much.

  4. September 12, 2011 4:16 pm

    Like the blog’s new look and love today’s photos…south where? Of France? Not Britain?

  5. September 12, 2011 4:40 pm

    Ah Ah !
    Glad to know you enjoyed it. The yellow chair shot is to die for.

  6. September 12, 2011 4:47 pm

    well these pages of your sketchbook are breathtaking.

  7. September 12, 2011 5:37 pm

    you had me at that baguette!

  8. September 12, 2011 6:40 pm

    I’m intrigued where “the south” is. I guess Spain? or France? or Tuscany…

    • September 12, 2011 9:16 pm

      I was in the south of France.

  9. Scott permalink
    September 12, 2011 7:08 pm

    I love the new look; small things make a big difference.

  10. September 12, 2011 7:35 pm

    The redesign looks great; it’s simple, clean, and neat.

    Just a quick question for you. Do you develop at home? It seems like you have an incredibly quick turnaround between shooting and developing (and then posting), but I really have no idea. Either way, it’s fantastic. I admire your photos a great deal.

  11. September 12, 2011 7:42 pm

    I like the idea of a “photographer’s sketchbook.” Looking forward to doing more of that in the upcoming weeks myself. :)

  12. sueysong permalink
    September 12, 2011 8:37 pm

    i like it inviting. it is such attraction where the viewer would feel welcomed into the photos or into your own sketchbook. with an amiable space to fill in.

  13. Trish permalink
    September 12, 2011 10:11 pm

    I love your photos so much. I want to go live in them. I wish you could come and photograph my lovely horses. But alas, I am in the very uninteresting middle west of the USA

  14. September 12, 2011 10:11 pm

    the blue sneakers and the yellow chair on the dock were my favorites!
    please visit my blog http://carmencamera.wordpress.com/
    I really would like to read your opinion.

  15. September 13, 2011 2:02 am

    I feel so at peace looking at them. Liking how clean everything loooks. You’re so lucky to have friends that are CSS and HTML literate. I had to slog through it all on my own but I think the entire was so much fun and learnt much along the way.

  16. September 13, 2011 3:14 am

    How lovely.

  17. September 13, 2011 3:32 am

    hi you. so glad you found this little bit of time with summer. xoxoxo

  18. September 13, 2011 3:59 am

    mon dieu, j’adore les sud de la France. great pics!!

  19. Lori Robbins permalink
    September 13, 2011 6:00 am

    Beautiful colors…..thank you for sharing your vision of summer……

  20. September 13, 2011 8:38 am

    The photo with the yellow chair and the sun’s rays illuminating those fluffy ferns could make a non-believer believe in well, in your photography skills anyway…

  21. September 13, 2011 9:56 am

    great post as ever. Loving the half tree-lined road.

  22. September 13, 2011 10:18 am

    I can totally understand that you get inspired by this pictures, I get inspired too! :-)

  23. September 14, 2011 9:44 am

    i do the same. in fact, i’m off for a walk with my camera this afternoon.

  24. September 14, 2011 2:47 pm

    I second the sneakers…why do foot shots always make me smile?

  25. September 15, 2011 10:24 am

    That baguette. That cheese. Those peaches. Tomatoes. And that couch. Summer memories, indeed.

  26. Christophe permalink
    September 15, 2011 7:17 pm

    Third from the bottom really makes me think back to cycling in this neck of the woods when I was a nipper for some reason! So great to see these mate…

Trackbacks

  1. Visual Inventory, CT « the blue hour

Comments are closed.