Skip to content

Feeling it

September 21, 2011






. . . . . . . . .

“The best thing about autumn, is that it can help you forget what a lousy summer it’s been.”
(a brilliant observation by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall)

Well, I couldn’t have said it better myself.

For me, this autumn is all about moving on – moving forward, looking to the future, but enjoying these days as much as I can. The next 2 months are going to be very busy, but I want to do everything I can so that I don’t wake up in November without a memory of this season.

In that spirit, I have a couple of autumn-focused posts planned for the coming days, including this one today. I shot a roll of film this weekend and many of the photos had a distinct vibe of the changing season.  Above, 4 photos in particular that I’m thinking about.

I’m feeling it.

18 Comments
  1. September 21, 2011 4:33 pm

    that quote sums up my summer perfectly, so happy that fall is just around the corner

  2. September 21, 2011 5:17 pm

    The worst part: I’ve seen even lousier summers.

  3. September 21, 2011 5:54 pm

    Love Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, perfect sentiment. That’s a great photo with the cat…very autumnal. I always feel like autumn passes in an instant. I’m trying to focus on the moment and enjoy it all.

  4. September 21, 2011 6:15 pm

    there are two particularly good things up there – j’s stunning hair and that lucky black cat.

    however, i’m with claire. this year definitely wasn’t the worst…

  5. Jack permalink
    September 21, 2011 7:38 pm

    Autumn mixtape please!!! I love autumn, and your mixtapes are always great. At the moment I’m listening to the new bombay bicycle club album, the national, grizzly bear, and a little bit of Cass McCombs, all of which are fitting the autumnul mood perfectly.

  6. September 21, 2011 8:23 pm

    Excellent captures. Happy Autumn, Brian!

    p.s. I love the new feeling to your blog.

  7. September 21, 2011 8:23 pm

    I don’t think Fall has hit MA here yet because the leaves have yet to turn colour! I look forward to the cooler season!

  8. September 21, 2011 8:36 pm

    what an amazing portrait.

  9. September 22, 2011 12:55 am

    Beautiful photos. Brilliant phrase. Happy Autumn :)

  10. Sandra permalink
    September 22, 2011 1:23 am

    My day in a rut at the end of a summer without summer and homesick – literally ended when I loaded your page now – 9.30 pm my time, for the first time (today). Your photography is inspiring and uplifting. Thank you for sharing all this.

  11. September 22, 2011 8:31 am

    Nice mood in those pictures !

  12. September 22, 2011 8:33 am

    Not only that you bring joy and serenity with your photos, but also provide us with great links of inspiration.
    Thank you for both.

  13. Liz permalink
    September 22, 2011 9:08 am

    Your pictures make me so so happy. Honestly.

  14. September 22, 2011 1:48 pm

    Love the slightly tattered hydrangeas…love all the photos but your autumn sentiment in particular. Where I live, we have short-sleeves weather sometimes until Thanksgiving, and only rarely do our sweet gum, sycamore and sugar maple trees actually turn before they wither and drop. Hope we have color this year. Really need it after a blistering summer. Thanks for sharing.

  15. September 22, 2011 3:48 pm

    ooh, that photo of the black cat just screams fall. i absolutely love it!

  16. September 23, 2011 3:39 am

    I can tell you’re going to make me miss the seasons, mister. I really have no problem with missing seasons except for Autumn! Kills me.

  17. October 19, 2011 6:51 am

    very atmospheric photos and sensible post. I hope the fall goes well for you- and the busy days ahead…

Trackbacks

  1. hello there, again and an ode to autumn. | The Accidental Southerner

Comments are closed.