Skip to content

An autumn list

September 22, 2011





. . . .

Top image: my autumn look
(Photograph of Harley Hughes by Bruno Werzinski, for double magazine)

Bottom images: from the Margaret Howell AW11 lookbook (arrived in the mail yesterday)
(Photographer: Alasdair McLellan)

. . . . . . . . . . .



On my list for the new autumn season–

Inspiration:
+ Copying Harley Hughes’ look above (turtleneck sweater FTW)
+ The autumn/winter photos above from Margaret Howell
+ The photos for 417 by Edifice

Listen:
+ Kurt Vile, Smoke Ring for my Halo
+ AA Bondy, Believers
+ Luke Temple, Don’t Act Like You Don’t Care
+ Cass McCombs, Wit’s End

Eat/make:
+ Baked figs
+ Borlotti beans, pumpkin & girolles (inspired by a dish at 32 Great Queen Street restaurant)
+ Guinness Stout Cake with cream cheese frosting
+ Shooter’s sandwich (via James – “when a sandwich recipe begins with ‘first cook 2 steaks’, you pretty much have a winner”)


+ Drink: Hanky Panky cocktails
+ Read: Blue Nights (new memoir from Joan Didion, my all-time favorite)

Visit:
+ Petersham Nurseries
+ Country pubs
+ Brunswick House Cafe

More autumn stuff soon.

20 Comments
  1. September 22, 2011 2:27 pm

    I like your look (top photo) and I can’t wait to see how the Guinness cake turns out. :)

  2. Winnie permalink
    September 22, 2011 2:43 pm

    Those glasses would look great on you too. Have you made Suzanne Goin’s Guinness cake recipe? That’s a long-time favorite of mine, in combination with the stout ice cream from the same book.

  3. September 22, 2011 3:35 pm

    Glad you’re liking Vile. I’m currently enjoying Shearwater and Deerhunter.

    I’ve bought a load of brisket, so I’m getting my brine on.

  4. September 22, 2011 3:41 pm

    You’ve just sent me on a mission to pick up figs, baked sounds perfect. People are multi-dimensional, I get this, but after seeing so much of your work and whatever statement that puts in my head of what you may or may not be like I’m surprised to see Joan Didion is your all-time favorite? Not in a bad way, just surprised. I would agree her tone is very fall appropriate.

  5. September 22, 2011 4:05 pm

    Cass McCombs is brilliant. He has yet, another new one out this fall. Look out!

  6. Mojca permalink
    September 22, 2011 4:26 pm

    Knowing that you appreciate good food and are also a coffee lover, here’s a suggestion. If you visit Petersham Nurseries, have a nice walk by the river down to Teddington where we roast coffee in our shop, pop in and say hello. You can stop by in a lovely German bakery on your way (superb for sourdoughs, rye breads etc), visit a nice deli and a well known cheese shop too. Then finish your trip in Bushy Park for some autumn inspiration.

  7. Danielle Charles permalink
    September 22, 2011 7:19 pm

    Oh how I love a good list. A.A. Bondy is a favorite of mine, especially this time of year when melancholy feels appropriate. And, I’ve always wanted to visit Petersham! Do you have any of Skye Gyngell’s cookbooks? She’s the only one who occasionally rivals my affection for Nigel. Off into the September drizzle with Guiness cake, pumpkin and figs on my mind.

  8. September 22, 2011 7:34 pm

    Love this list. These are the perfect autumn photos too. Guinness Stout Cake with cc frosting is one of my favorites!

  9. September 22, 2011 9:12 pm

    Guinness cake. Had it. Unreal. Enjoy.

  10. September 22, 2011 11:06 pm

    i like lists.

  11. September 23, 2011 12:06 am

    Just discovered Joan Didion myself. Where have I been? Looking forward to reading her work this Fall. Loving the bottom photograph.

  12. September 23, 2011 12:43 am

    The steak sandwich… wow!

  13. September 23, 2011 3:36 am

    i love your autumn inspiration! those images are perfect.

  14. September 23, 2011 7:31 am

    love love love the look in the top. so simple but the details together are just perfect.

  15. September 23, 2011 8:15 am

    the best lists. you have your work cut out!

  16. September 23, 2011 9:54 am

    Petersham Nurseries = awesome.

  17. September 23, 2011 5:58 pm

    I think you should take Charlotte with you and go on a little roadtrip to the Cotswolds where you’ll meet us for #2 on your “visit” list.

  18. September 24, 2011 11:42 pm

    Oh, I love this.

  19. September 27, 2011 5:23 pm

    Please, take a photo of your guinnes stout cake. Make us smell it.

Trackbacks

  1. notes on her personal experiences » september inspired II : end of summer

Comments are closed.