Skip to content

I’m going to miss that window

October 24, 2011

. . . . . . .

In a little over a month, I’ll be moving back to Brooklyn. 

My 2 years in London are coming to an end.  Life is changing fast these days; it’s good and yet very difficult and I have a lot I could say about this but I don’t know where to start. 

So I’ll keep it very simple: I can’t wait to get back home soon.  The thought of randomly calling one of my friends on my cell phone as I walk down the street (and not having to schedule a call in advance, taking into account the 5 or 8 hour time difference, making sure that I’ll be at home so that I can Skype) … well, it’s too much excitement for me to bear.  At the same time, I’m prone to unbelievable bouts of nostalgia so of course I’ll miss London.

But before I go, there’s a lot to look forward to over the coming weeks. A couple of new photography projects and the release of Quality of Life, good times with friends, a bit of travel, one last visit to my favorite haunts.

I’m ready.

38 Comments
  1. October 24, 2011 3:00 pm

    brian! two years already? i’m sure you’ll miss london, but i know brooklyn will welcome you with open arms. good luck in the next few crazy weeks! and enjoy the last of your london days. (can’t wait for the book!) best wishes, tara

  2. October 24, 2011 3:44 pm

    I’m selfishly sad to see you leave Europe — your photographs have transported me to places/cafes I’ll never see as a suburban American mom. On the other hand, Brooklyn will be great to view through your lens as well. When your book is published, I’m assuming you’ll have all info right here on where to buy. I can’t wait.

  3. October 24, 2011 4:02 pm

    how exciting that you are returning to brooklyn so soon, brian! and just in time to spend the holidays in the company of friends and family. cheers to that!

  4. October 24, 2011 4:12 pm

    Gosh, I remember the weekend you moved. Crazy how fast the time passes. What an exciting time for you Brian.

  5. October 24, 2011 4:23 pm

    Heh, a month ago after two years of living in the US (San Francisco and New York) I moved back to Europe, this time Birmingham UK (to study).
    I’m must say I’m happy that you’re going back home because it means that I’ll be seeing New York on your blog and I miss it a lot…
    Thanks for there two years of Europe through your lens.

  6. October 24, 2011 4:56 pm

    really nice to have found your blog while you were in europe. now look forward to seeing the east coast, (my home) through your eyes.
    congrats!

  7. October 24, 2011 5:37 pm

    I can’t believe it’s been two years. I’m going to miss seeing this window, too. Enjoy your remaining days, and I hope your move goes smoothly.

  8. pewna.taka permalink
    October 24, 2011 5:45 pm

    wow, it’s been 2 years already?! i remember your note about moving to london and it seems like yesterday!
    it’s great to be back home, no matter how many travels we’ve had before and how many to come…
    good luck with packing ;)

  9. pewna.taka permalink
    October 24, 2011 5:47 pm

    and I agree with ula – it will be fanstastic to see your NY again!

  10. October 24, 2011 5:55 pm

    Amazing that you’ll be on your way back home again and it’s the memories that you can take back with you. Good luck on your journey back and I look forward to seeing pictures of Brooklyn soon.

  11. October 24, 2011 5:58 pm

    Oh my gosh! Two years already? I found and started following your wonderful work a few months before you left for London. Happy to see that you are coming back. New York is one of my favorite places. Enjoy your time left and looking forward to anything that you do. ;-)

  12. October 24, 2011 6:36 pm

    Has it been two years already? That’s hard to believe.

    I’ve done the ex-pat thing twice, and I can relate to the mixed emotions of impending return. There’s such excitement and joy in the prospect of having everything and everyone at close reach again; things that have been logistically difficult made suddenly easy again. And yet, nostalgia kicks in and there are so many “lasts.”

    I remember getting very sad when I realized I had just bought my last head of garlic in Vienna. I have no idea why garlic made such an impact. It was just one of those mundane domestic things I would never do again in that place, even if I came back to visit. It’s the end of one chapter, the beginning of another.

    Best of luck to you in navigating the transition.

  13. October 24, 2011 6:51 pm

    London is such a fabulous city, I can understand why you’re sad to leave it. I moved from Sweden back to the States in June and know exactly how you feel… It’s not easy.

    But I have to say, I, like everyone else it seems, am so happy to get to see my new home through your eyes! There’s no place like New York.

  14. October 24, 2011 7:20 pm

    your photos definitely show that you’re nostalgic. it’s sweet.

  15. October 24, 2011 8:18 pm

    I am going to miss your blogs from London, which is my favorite city, but I will follow you back in NY too. Because of you I had lunch at St John a couple of weeks ago and enjoyed it as much as I knew I would. Thank you for your photos and your words, but can’t believe it’s been 2 years. Enjoy your last few weeks and good luck with the move.

  16. jen permalink
    October 24, 2011 8:29 pm

    visiting this blog has been my favorite “take a break from work” treats to myself for the last couple of years, in part because the way you (and your camera) see london matches up so well with my own memories of living there. i moved back to brooklyn a few years ago and can’t wait to see my home through your eyes. safe travels!

  17. October 24, 2011 8:51 pm

    Exciting times! I’m looking forward to seeing Brooklyn through your lens again.

  18. October 24, 2011 9:27 pm

    you memorialized it so well. enjoy every last bit of it! hope finding a new flat in bk isn’t too terribly stressful.

  19. October 24, 2011 9:43 pm

    I’m already bracing myself for you making me miss Brooklyn something fierce!

  20. sueysong permalink
    October 24, 2011 10:11 pm

    Happy for you. I am actually in a similar situation now. I’ve been here away home for almost five years and I definitely miss being home but at the same time I don’t want to rush myself to go home. I mean, I thought about trying more of doing things here, like for my career, but I am not sure where the fruition comes – here or there. It will totally depend on me and I know that. People give me different advices. And I bet you’ll miss London but seems like you’ll love your Brooklyn home more. Always exciting for a new phase in life. Cheers,

  21. jennifersmart permalink
    October 24, 2011 10:28 pm

    I’ll miss this window too. I’ve loved your London photos, but am looking forward to your Brooklyn ones.

  22. Big A permalink
    October 24, 2011 11:32 pm

    Brooklyn is ready to have you back!

  23. October 25, 2011 1:14 am

    those of us in BK are thrilled to have you back, if only for the chance to see our surroundings through your eyes.

  24. October 25, 2011 9:38 am

    I’m happy for you Brian. I enjoyed a lot to see London through your eyes and lately even visiting the places you discovered in these two years.
    As a italian i felt in love with your holidays photos over there and in general with your travels through good old europe.
    I wish you good times and i’m waiting for to get to know brooklyn.
    Thank you again for the big inspiration you give!

  25. October 25, 2011 11:04 am

    All the windows ofr life are kept secretely in our hearts.

  26. October 25, 2011 7:36 pm

    bittersweet….it’s weird to think how much has happened for you in two years. And now you’re coming home for the holidays. Enjoy your last few weeks there.

  27. October 25, 2011 8:19 pm

    I’m new to your blog. As an American who’s lived in Barcelona for the past seven years, it’s interesting for me to encounter you as you get ready to move to Brooklyn. I hope you have a wonderful transition, and thank you for creating the blue hour.

  28. October 25, 2011 8:36 pm

    I’m selfish. These news make me sad. I love your pictures and the fact that they’ve been taken on my doorstep made them so much more special. But I do wish you a great last month! :)

  29. October 25, 2011 8:40 pm

    Sad to see you leave England, loved your journey and time here, but life through your lens will be a pleasure to witness anywhere you go, I hope that you have a safe journey home to Brooklyn. Please don’t leave London with no looking back, as I want to believe that you had happy time and the pangs of home were not too overwhelming.

  30. b f permalink
    October 26, 2011 12:55 pm

    I have discovered your blog not long before I moved to London about couple month ago, and it became one of my favourites. I’m gonna miss your London photos&posts very much. Hope your last weeks here will be magnificent. And good luck.

  31. Meghan permalink
    October 26, 2011 9:16 pm

    New York (and your friends here) are ready to have you back! Counting down the days . . .

  32. October 26, 2011 10:30 pm

    Sorry to see you leave the UK, I’ll still be avidly following your Brooklyn posts as I did before.
    As a life long Londoner you put me to shame with all the amazing sites you reveal so beautifully; places that I had absolutely no clue existed! My eyes have been well and truly opened. I have been furiously making notes and you have inspired me to explore, devour and capture… starting with the St John’s custard doughnut! I look forward to your last hurrah posts.
    Thank you Brian.

  33. October 27, 2011 9:29 am

    it’s been so good seeing london through your lens and following your stories – wishing you a fab couple of weeks ahead!

  34. October 27, 2011 11:18 pm

    Oh, I’ll miss seeing London through your photos, but yay… now I get to see Brooklyn! :)

  35. October 29, 2011 4:13 pm

    i also feel the need to say goodbye to adored inanimate objects when i know that i’ll be packing up and leaving soon.
    wishing you the best of luck in your transition back.
    i’ll miss your london photos but will look forward to the new tricks that you’ll have up your sleeve.

  36. October 30, 2011 1:59 pm

    I’m quite happy for you to return to a place that feels like home, but I admit I am a wee bit sad at not being able to live the London life vicariously through your photos! I think it was viewing London through your eyes, that finally pushed me to apply to school there, so perhaps I will soon be able to see it through my own :)

    Congrats on your book coming out! Very exciting.

  37. October 31, 2011 1:19 pm

    i’d be coming out of my skin to return to NY. it must have been my home in some other life. best of luck to you as this next chapter of your life unfolds and you take leave of a city that has held you captivated for two years.

  38. Gail permalink
    November 8, 2011 2:56 pm

    Brooklyn welcomes you! There are many, many great places for you and your camera, I promise.

Comments are closed.