Skip to content

What I’d like to tell you

November 10, 2011





. . . . . . .

I’d like to tell you about my gratitude for your incredible support for “Quality Of Life.”

I’d like to tell you about a few special meals that I’ve shared over the past few weeks with friends.

I’d like to tell you about this song that I listen to about 10 times per day, and how it helps.

I’d like to tell you how difficult things have been lately. And the good things that keep me smiling.

And I’d like to tell you about the things and people I’m going to miss in London.

But I can’t right now, things are busy, I have to run.  
I find myself saying that far too often these days.

26 Comments
  1. November 10, 2011 4:42 pm

    We will still be here.. now go get things done:)

  2. November 10, 2011 4:44 pm

    How lovely – this is the first time I have met anyone who enjoys Beach Fossils too.

    I also have music that I play constantly – until one day I stop, almost without realising I have done so. It means that I associate music with specific periods of my life and I only have to hear a brief snatch to evoke everything about that time. One day you will hear that track and all the happiness/sadness and busyness of this period of your life will come flooding back and you will wonder how you ever survived. But you will.

  3. November 10, 2011 5:05 pm

    Brian, take heart – this is only a Season of busyness, and Not your Life. Things will be quiet enough one day for you to speak all the words you have for saying. In the meantime, the busy time, a few of your photographs and a few of your well-chosen words, speak volumes. And we’re grateful too.

  4. November 10, 2011 5:44 pm

    Candle light always helps, like good songs and friends.

  5. November 10, 2011 5:50 pm

    What “spree” said. Change upends us all, and it’s hard to see beyond it, but you’re doin’ it, mister. And we’re always here…for drive-by pix and comments as well as long rambling visits. And don’t forget to make a wish tomorrow, 11-11-11. Sue me, I’m Italian…and superstitious.

  6. November 10, 2011 6:40 pm

    Just to Boston. Want this meal again.
    xoxo

  7. November 10, 2011 8:08 pm

    love Beach Fossils…this song has been steady playing in my home too…along with some Broken Social Scene, White Denim and Darondo.

  8. November 10, 2011 10:05 pm

    here’s to more meals and good things very soon, bf.

  9. November 10, 2011 10:12 pm

    Just order your book, cannot wait until it arrives. Sounds like there are lot of emotions.

  10. November 10, 2011 11:12 pm

    you’re almost to the home stretch, brian. soon you’ll get to kick back, have a drink and a laugh, and there will be even more stories to tell. hang in there!

  11. November 11, 2011 1:18 am

    …and I’d like to listen. Things HAVE been hard lately. I don’t believe that will last forever; at some point the road has to get smooth again.

  12. November 11, 2011 1:26 am

    gosh those photos are sooooo lovely. really romantic and soft.
    they sure hit the spot for me today.
    thank you.

  13. November 11, 2011 1:38 am

    Well, what I’d like to tell you is just how much I appreciate your work. It is unbelievable that even during times of stress and frenzy – you can still manage to recognize and capture those tiny little moments of solace and calm. Kudos for that, you are truly a respite from the day-to-day. Best of luck with the transition. Brooklyn is here waiting, and it’s better than ever. Cheers.

  14. November 11, 2011 7:14 am

    Take consolation in all the beautiful moments that come to you to help you through this busy time. Your Beach Fossils recommendation is doing that for me now; just like Excuses by The Morning Benders did too when you recommended it way back when. Looking forward to receiving your book in the mail.

  15. November 11, 2011 7:15 pm

    Hope life gets easier for you soon, Brian. If it’s any consolation, your photos are one of the things that have brightened my dark days this year and there have been too many.

  16. November 11, 2011 8:40 pm

    “Not only is another world possible, she is on her way. On a quiet day, I can hear her breathing.” Arundhati Roy

    In the chaos that is life at the moment – work, the book, your London leave-taking rituals, the move ‘home’ – I know being quiet enough to hear that new world coming may seem a possibility too distant to imagine. But it is coming even amidst the noise and haste of life and soon you’ll be in the middle of it and marvel how you got there. My only advice – remember to breathe! :-)

    Good luck wrangling the chaos!

  17. November 12, 2011 2:26 am

    These are super beautiful images. I love the light for the candle. I hope you find time soon to share your thoughts more. Your blog is very serene.

  18. November 13, 2011 12:33 am

    be brave…

  19. Danielle Charles permalink
    November 13, 2011 3:25 pm

    I hope that soon you will have a space of quiet and peace to allow yourself the moments to reflect how you wish to. Moving is such a whirlwind – I often feel like it takes months or even sometimes years before I feel I catch up to myself again. But your photos and your words, I think they say more than what some might say in an entire book! There is so much contained in each sentence, in each photo.

    Best of luck to you with your move!
    D

  20. November 13, 2011 11:04 pm

    I’d like to tell you congratulations for the book.
    I received it during the weekend.
    Such a nice surprise in my mailbox when i came back home !
    Beautiful work Mr Ferry.

  21. November 14, 2011 12:36 pm

    Love the mood of the second picture <3 I've just ordered your book, can't wait to have it !!

  22. anon permalink
    November 14, 2011 5:23 pm

    I have a handful of blogs I read that feel like intimate peeks into strangers lives. Yours is there to remind me to call my friends and spend two hours drinking coffee and talking about all of it, to invite the new neighbors up for a glass of wine because those conversations complete me.

    So, you know. Thanks.

  23. Diane permalink
    November 15, 2011 8:27 am

    thank you for the great photographs, for the atmosphere that speaks through them and for sharing your universe with million unknown people.we’ll still be here, no matter where you post from.

  24. November 15, 2011 1:51 pm

    great song,.. i can always count on you for that :)

  25. November 15, 2011 2:54 pm

    i feel the same, but I’m glad that our photos can talk for us, you’ve captured the light and atmosphere so well

  26. permalink
    November 15, 2011 8:43 pm

    Finally I received your book. You chose most of the pictures I love and this excites me so much!
    At first glance it looks a series based on “silence”. But flipping through the book I feel a hidden melody in it. So I wonder: which song do you think I should listen to? :)

Comments are closed.