Skip to content

November 23

November 23, 2011

















. . . . . . . . .


Hi.

I’m back in the USA and I’m slowly re-adjusting. It feels good to be home.

Right now, I’m sitting on the couch at my parents’ house in Connecticut, and the weather looks like England outside. Rainy, grey, dark. Tomorrow is Thanksgiving (my favorite). I missed this holiday while living in London. We have a day of cooking ahead, and I’m looking forward to eating, drinking, relaxing, reading, and catching up over the coming days.

I’ve also started the search for an apartment in Brooklyn, which is one of my least favorite things to do (this is probably my 4th or 5th apartment search in NYC and it never gets any easier). If you have any leads on a 1-bedroom apartment in Brooklyn available to rent in the next month, please do get in touch with me via email. Thanks.

In the meantime, I’m hoping to post here more regularly as time allows. I have a bunch of photos from the past couple of months in the UK that I didn’t have time to share before I moved.  I also have a couple of projects to share with you soon.

Above are some photos from Edinburgh in October with Molly, Christophe & Gemma. That was a great weekend.

And 3 recent photography commissions that are really inspiring to me:
1. Estelle Hanania photographs Anouck Lepère for NOWNESS
2. Jennilee Marigomen photographs Roden Gray’s A/W 2011 collection, ‘Fade Into Winter’
3. Erik Wåhlström for Bon Magazine

So much good stuff.

More very soon.

18 Comments
  1. November 23, 2011 3:07 pm

    Good luck with the apartment hunt!

  2. November 23, 2011 3:15 pm

    So happy you get your Thanksgiving this year.

  3. November 23, 2011 3:26 pm

    Brian, WHERE do they know that EVERYTHING WILL BE ALRIGHT (eventually)?
    Very atmospheric collection and some real beauties. I wish for you to find the perfect apartment; I know how much this can be a nightmare. Best of luck!

  4. November 23, 2011 4:18 pm

    Love the light in that last photo. Welcome home, and Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. November 23, 2011 4:29 pm

    i like the second one.

  6. Bee permalink
    November 23, 2011 6:29 pm

    Hi – Just a lurker who enjoys the way you look at the world. I think almost everyone knows about Stephanie Diamond’s Listing Project (http://www.stephaniediamond.com/listings.html), but I’m putting it out there just in case. Mostly work spaces for rent, there are usually a few apartments, too. I wasn’t going to comment, but then I saw the names of your friends. My cats are Gemma and Molly; we actually just lost Molly to cancer last month and miss her a lot.

  7. November 23, 2011 7:10 pm

    Welcome home! What a perfect time to come back–to a warm kitchen filled with family and good food.
    Enjoy the holiday, and hope the apt hunt goes as smoothly as possible.

  8. November 23, 2011 7:52 pm

    Welcome home, Brian. Maybe the misty New England weather will make it an easier adjustment.

  9. November 23, 2011 7:58 pm

    Welcome back to the U.S., wishing you a very happy Thanksgiving!

  10. November 23, 2011 8:18 pm

    hello Brian I love your blog so much that I had to stop reading for a bit because I wanted mine to be just like yours! I discovered you last year via Orangette – I was living in Istanbul and really really homesick. Welcome back to the USA and hope you have an easy settling back in {oh congrats on Starbucks and the new book}

  11. November 23, 2011 11:20 pm

    How much did there bottles remind me Morandi…having them at the open window made it all look very Italian – even though it is not. I love the grass image. Good Luck in the US.

  12. November 24, 2011 1:33 am

    these are great photos – I love the espresso machine one. nice work :)

  13. November 24, 2011 1:50 am

    Happy Thanksgiving Brian!

  14. Alan permalink
    November 24, 2011 4:04 pm

    Love your photos, I used to live close to where you took a lot of these and it has brought back many happy memories. Thanks

  15. November 25, 2011 3:08 am

    Hi Brian! Welcome back even though I am not in Brooklyn. But closer than from London.
    And I like this: “I’m hoping to post here more regularly as time allows.”

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  16. November 25, 2011 3:12 am

    Oh wait, I really like the photo of the grass! It’s like I could touch and feel it like a wind!

  17. Marie permalink
    November 28, 2011 10:55 am

    the martin creed neon sign hung in Detroit (my hometown) for a while. its lovely to see it other respectable and historic places. your photographs are always something special.

  18. November 30, 2011 1:32 am

    looks like Dean Village some of that. beautiful. this coming weekend in NYC is the PopUpFlea4, full-on heritage fenceposting. get in there B. wish i could make it down.

Comments are closed.