Skip to content

Temporary

December 6, 2011





. . . . . . .

It’s not my sort of thing (a little too “American Psycho” for me – check out those blinds!) but for the time being, it’s home.

(Photos taken with my Hasselblad, a Polaroid 100 back, and Fujifilm FP 100-c instant film, with which I’m now obsessed. Tested it out for a little project this weekend, more on that soon.)


Also: if you have not seen the film “The Trip” yet, you should rent it ASAP. I watched it on my flight back to the US a couple of weeks ago, and again this weekend on Netflix. Best described as “sad/funny”. I found it was hilarious and witty, but also a bit melancholic. Beautiful scenery of northern England, too (loved the part where they’re driving through the hills with Joy Division’s “Atmosphere” playing).

13 Comments
  1. December 6, 2011 2:28 pm

    How much I love what light does! womderful shots!

  2. December 6, 2011 2:39 pm

    oh wow. i love the mood of all these pictures! like ^sannekurz said – love what light does!

  3. December 6, 2011 2:54 pm

    those blinds say “american gigolo” to me. and i’m so glad you’re loving the polaroid/fuji/hasselblad combo. you will do beautiful things with that film, brian. best wishes.

  4. December 6, 2011 3:48 pm

    Agree about the blinds. Verticals only belong in the landfill.
    Love the polaroids. I just picked up a back for my Hasselblad over the weekend. Bought my film yesterday. I bought color and b&w. I guess the 100 b&w isn’t going to be made anymore so I stocked up.Now ready to try it.
    And going to go get that movie. I just posted an article about road trips so can’t wait to watch your recommendation.

  5. tara permalink
    December 6, 2011 3:56 pm

    I saw a face in the building :)

  6. December 6, 2011 7:08 pm

    How funny! I just watched The Trip recently as well and have been quoting lines from the movie ever since. “Gentleman, to bed! For tomorrow we leave…at…(what time’s the battle?)”.

    And on that British comedy note, have you seen the series “Stephen Fry in America”? Rather appropriate for your return to the US.

    Oh, and this: http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lcm98phVSx1qz9yslo1_500.png.

  7. December 6, 2011 7:57 pm

    I’ve asked for a Polaroid back for Christmas, and now I’m *really* hoping that Mr. Pettit makes it happen for me. Love these, B.

  8. December 6, 2011 9:32 pm

    Not looking all that bad. I love the results of that polaroid!
    Sounds like an interesting movie.

  9. December 7, 2011 12:51 pm

    great work…very inspiring..and thank you!

  10. December 7, 2011 7:54 pm

    New home yay!

    Thanks for the film recommendation, I love Steve Coogan, so I’m looking for the film already! :)

  11. Tiny Tycoon permalink
    December 7, 2011 9:12 pm

    You’ve definitely become English

  12. December 9, 2011 3:42 am

    that was my favourite scene in the trip. it makes me chuckle everytime i think about it.

  13. January 30, 2015 6:27 pm

    These Pola give you tones that are so beautiful! I couldn’t resist myself using them

Comments are closed.