Skip to content

Take care mate & speak soon

December 9, 2011














. . . . . . .

The last of my photos from Edinburgh in October.

I met Christophe & Gemma a few short months after I moved to London. They lived not too far away from me in East London and we quickly realized we shared many of the same interests (it helped that one of those major interests was drinking pints at the pub). Christophe was working at Albam at the time and in the spring of 2010, we worked together on something for Sundays Are For Lovers.

Christophe & Gemma became very good friends; when they moved to Edinburgh in 2010, London felt a lot emptier to me. However, we still had many good times in London and in Edinburgh, and over the course of this past year, we made a book together. They’ve been incredible friends, big supporters of my photography, and a huge inspiration to me.

The title of this post is how Christophe ends every email he sends me (even text messages!). I’m the sort of guy who writes emails to friends in a rush – a few thoughts quickly typed out before I dash on to the next thing. Christophe always writes emails that feel like letters – there is a proper beginning, middle and end. And always (always) a valediction. That’s how he rolls and I like that alot.

Guys, come visit Brooklyn soon. In the meantime, I’ll be searching for a local bar that serves mini cheddars, pork pies and beer.

26 Comments
  1. December 9, 2011 7:04 pm

    i LOVE this post; and frankly, Christophe and Gemma not only were terrific friends to you but they both look terrific too!
    And then those landscapes; I stopped breathing for long moments, wallowing in the earthi(y?)ness of them…. such intense feelings creep up
    Was in Edinburgh ONCE during the time I lived in South Devon, UK. It rained mostly but I still remember the fantastic atmosphere and we stayed in an amazing B&B in a half-circle of Edwardian houses.
    Fond memories…. :)
    You take care – my friend (unbeknown and yet familiar) – and maybe we’ll speak soon too!
    We would however meet at a wine bar….
    Kiki

  2. pewna.taka permalink
    December 9, 2011 7:09 pm

    Love it! Friendship makes the difference. People make the difference :)
    Have a great weekend and greetings from Europe!

  3. December 9, 2011 7:10 pm

    So beautiful. Lovely to get back to pretty Edinburgh (I once was there too in October).

    Snow stormy greetings.

  4. December 9, 2011 7:15 pm

    Aww, shucks mate…get the BK warmed up for us and we’ll be there asap.

    Take care mate & speak soon.

    (Had to really…)

  5. December 9, 2011 7:19 pm

    My heart is all a whimsy! I just noticed I was sighing–like, love sighing–like sighing in that way some sigh when a good little story is told or a scene seems right. I know, its the sigh of recognition–when the good things in life appear suspended, captured, and eternal. Thank you.

    • December 9, 2011 7:20 pm

      whimsy; such a lovely word, says it all doesn’t it!
      I am still smiling … and sighing….. just like you – such wonderful feelings are being evoked here!

  6. December 9, 2011 7:19 pm

    That’s beautiful, and Edinburgh looks awesome! :)

  7. December 9, 2011 7:42 pm

    The 5th picture in this post literally took my breath away. Great job Brian.

    Hope you are enjoying being back stateside.

  8. December 9, 2011 8:05 pm

    Lovely images and words! Friendship is definitely one of the most valuable gifts in one’s lifetime :)
    Have a good weekend.

  9. Sylvie permalink
    December 9, 2011 8:07 pm

    I spotted the title of this post and even before seeing the photographs, knew it could only be about my ‘wee’ brother. Hope you’re well. Take care.

  10. December 9, 2011 8:33 pm

    Love the grass and the storm clouds– such wonderful colors!

  11. December 9, 2011 8:51 pm

    really sweet and beautiful.

  12. December 10, 2011 1:29 am

    These are beautiful!
    I especially love that tree :-)

  13. December 10, 2011 4:37 am

    After seeing your pictures and before reading your writing, I’d like to comment first. The photos feel so real, and at the same time, surreal. Very beautiful colours, tone, light and composition. Staring at your work especially when feeling tired is like an epiphany. Refreshing.

  14. December 10, 2011 7:52 am

    How I miss Scotland! I can always recognize its landscapes and beautiful light without knowing beforehand it’s Scotland.

  15. Janet permalink
    December 10, 2011 4:23 pm

    such a beautiful collection of photos here– the colors, composition, and atmosphere all draw me and make me want to step into the photos themselves. thank you for sharing them.

  16. December 10, 2011 5:38 pm

    Nice colors and everything, but in terms of composition it needs alot of work. Head over to my blog, will post a tutorial soon about compostion and the right equipment.

    Cheers, A.

  17. December 10, 2011 7:11 pm

    memories were made. so special.

  18. December 11, 2011 3:12 am

    It is always great when you get to meet such lovely people. Great pictures.

  19. December 11, 2011 4:34 pm

    Beautiful photos and nice sentiment

  20. Danielle Charles permalink
    December 11, 2011 8:58 pm

    Gorgeous – I especially love the 5th down with the stormy grey clouds over that vibrant green. I miss stormy skies like that – the skies of the ocean. Actually, I love them all. I always do. Such a great portrait, and “there will be no miracles here” – it stirs something in my I can’t quite define.

  21. Sarah W permalink
    December 11, 2011 10:32 pm

    Thought that sounded familiar… Good peeps, indeed.

  22. December 12, 2011 12:58 am

    Such a lovely set of photographs. Thank you, always.

  23. December 12, 2011 6:47 pm

    what a stunning, poignant post. your photographs feel like letters too.

  24. Maria Benedikte permalink
    December 31, 2011 2:31 pm

    Love these photos! They are my absolute favorites of all the photos I’ve seen you take. Fantastic!

  25. February 16, 2012 12:43 pm

    These photos are gorgeous! I’ve been to Edinburgh, but with the exception of the clothesline shot (beautiful), I wouldn’t have been able to identify the city. I also very much like the seaswept path along the cliffside.

Comments are closed.