Skip to content

December 20

December 20, 2011



. . . . . . .

I celebrated my birthday last night with a few close friends, rye whisky manhattans, duck rillettes, red wine, burgers & salty french fries. I’m a lucky guy.

The photos above were snapped with my iPhone … which feels like cheating but to be honest, I haven’t been shooting much film over the last few weeks. I miss it. But I’m still not settled into my apartment in Brooklyn and I’ve been distracted and busy. The good news is that I finally dropped off a couple of rolls of film today, and I’m looking forward to posting here more regularly again after the holidays. A fresh start in 2012, it’s going to be good.

3 holiday links to share:
1. This weekend
2. Woods cover Vince Guaraldi (thanks, Christophe)
3. One of my Christmas traditions is to listen to the Holiday Spectacular from This American Life – it’s incredible.

Hope to share some of that film with you — more soon.

16 Comments
  1. December 20, 2011 5:32 pm

    happy happy birthday brian! fresh starts are always good, aren’t they?

  2. December 20, 2011 5:36 pm

    duck rillettes! excellent.
    glad it was a good one, ferry.

  3. December 20, 2011 5:37 pm

    Happy Birthday! And here’s to iPhone beauties and Holiday Spectaculars (thanks for the link). Merry Everything.

  4. December 20, 2011 5:59 pm

    happy birthday! all the best!

  5. December 20, 2011 6:00 pm

    Many happy returns, Mr. Ferry! I basically checked out of 2011 last month. New beginnings ahead, including our yet unrealized hang out. Get fired up.

  6. Richard Farner permalink
    December 20, 2011 6:05 pm

    A very happy birthday, Brian, and all good wishes for the coming year. Hope the apartment gets settled and you with it… welcome back to the states.

    Even with the iPhone your photo is handsome.

  7. December 20, 2011 6:12 pm

    Happy Birthday! Sounds like quite the meal!

  8. CMC718 permalink
    December 20, 2011 6:56 pm

    Where do you have your film developed?

  9. December 20, 2011 10:46 pm

    I’m curious on the place you went. I love duck rillettes and it’s pretty hard to find in New York. It sounds like a French restaurant, was it in Brooklyn?

  10. December 20, 2011 11:34 pm

    With your iPhone, why not? But still looking forward to seeing your new rolls posted here too. Happy holidays, Brian. And happy belated birthday.

  11. December 21, 2011 2:42 pm

    Happy Belated! – I know exactly what you mean about cheating with the iphone, but there are often moments when that’s the only thing available and the picture opportunity is too good to pass up!

  12. December 21, 2011 3:15 pm

    iphone ??? i haven’t seen the difference…sure ?

  13. December 21, 2011 4:48 pm

    Happy Birthday. I have mine in December too and received a couple of Lomo cameras as gifts. Can’t wait to try them out, but for now, I’m in a slump too. I think it is okay to take a little time off and recharge….or so I am telling myself. Start again in 2012. Happy New Year.

  14. December 21, 2011 5:14 pm

    Happy birthday, Brian. :)

  15. December 21, 2011 9:39 pm

    Happy Birthday! New home. New year and New Year. Love This American Life and somehow – have never come upon the Holiday Spectaculars – must be too busy baking cookies. Thanks for the link (what I listened to as I baked endless cookies). I sent it everywhere.

  16. December 22, 2011 1:27 pm

    Happy birthday! Glad you enjoyed the photos. I loved the combination of serious purpose and gumdrops.

Comments are closed.