Skip to content

A favorite

December 21, 2011



. . . . . .


I picked up my film this morning and this is one of my favorite photos. Taken on Smith Street in Brooklyn on a frigid Sunday night.

(ps – I’ve been receiving numerous emails/comments about where I have my film processed in NYC. Before moving to London I used to bring my film to Manhattan Color Labs on 20th near 5th Ave., but I don’t always like their processing. There aren’t many options in NY (if you’re looking for a business idea, THERE YOU GO – thank me later). I’m using the same lab again now, but looking for recommendations if you have them.)

17 Comments
  1. December 21, 2011 4:17 pm

    I’ve recently started going to Color Resource Center on 22nd near 5th (a couple of doors down from Calumet) — the guys there are nice, the prices are decent, and they do a pretty good job with color film. For black and white I stick to LTI on e.30th, though they’re a bit pricier and take an extra day. But I think they’re completely worth it.

  2. December 21, 2011 4:45 pm

    Beautiful photo. We are so lucky, here in Portland, Oregon, to have Blue Moon Camera for all our film needs. You could send your film to them.

  3. December 21, 2011 4:46 pm

    You should definitely sign up for some state tourist board…you always made me wanna re-visit London (and I did!) – now, all dreams merge to a new destination and you make me wanna fly to NYC again!

  4. December 21, 2011 5:28 pm

    I use Luster Photo on AveA and St. Mark’s Place and more recently I have been trying the Lomography store on 8th st…both have been good but Luster is a lot more reliable and faster turnaround time.

  5. December 21, 2011 5:44 pm

    My favorite place was L&I on 22nd near 5th because I worked right around the corner and they did a great job, they were fast and SO friendly. They knew my name after a while and it was so nice to have that friendly interaction. Also, when I lived in the LES I used Luster, which I see was mentioned above. Also an awesome place which might be easier for you to get to from BK. There are so many options in NY compared to LA!

  6. December 21, 2011 6:36 pm

    Accurate Photoshop in Park Slope on 5th and 14th is great.

  7. December 21, 2011 6:57 pm

    best croissant in town. and a lovely photo.

  8. December 21, 2011 8:30 pm

    That photo is really beautiful. I saw it on my flickr contacts page this morning as I quickly clicked through and it just made me stop and admire it.

  9. Jimjam permalink
    December 21, 2011 10:19 pm

    Just. Beautiful.

  10. December 21, 2011 10:47 pm

    When I lived in New York I used to develop my film in Greenpoint, at Enla Photo.
    http://www.yelp.com/biz/enla-photo-brooklyn
    I was impressed by their prices (2$ per roll) and sometimes the negatives were ready within an hour.

  11. December 22, 2011 8:39 am

    a friend of mine who just moved from finland to nyc has been looking all over the city for a good shop until he found Print Space in chelsea. it looks pretty great.

    Print Space
    151 W 19th Street, Floor 8
    New York City 10011

    http://www.printspacenyc.com/
    http://www.yelp.com/biz/print-space-photo-lab-new-york

  12. December 26, 2011 5:01 pm

    Sweet and beautiful photo.

  13. December 27, 2011 5:49 am

    Enla Photo in Greenpoint is a gem. $8 for 35mm developing with medium sized digital scans. And they’ll do it in an hour. http://www.yelp.com/biz/enla-photo-brooklyn

  14. Sarah Daily permalink
    December 28, 2011 10:04 pm

    My block! Yay.

  15. January 1, 2012 10:51 pm

    It reminds me of Saul Leiter. Beautiful.

  16. Pam permalink
    January 5, 2012 5:22 pm

    I use Luster as well and have always had good results. I think they are a little pricey, but I don’t know how they compare to other places in NY. Why aren’t there more options?

  17. Jen Wittlin permalink
    January 31, 2012 10:08 pm

    I like Photo Bar on 23rd between Park and Lex. It is a pain to get to from Brooklyn, but I have really liked their work. They do same day processing too.

Comments are closed.