Skip to content

Being patient

December 22, 2011




. . . . . . .

I am not the most patient person. I’ve been (not so patiently) waiting for my belongings to arrive from the UK for 5 weeks.  Now, I’m living in an empty apartment with an air mattress on the floor and a few bags of clothes.

Part of me enjoys the emptiness of the apartment (a friend suggested that it might be very “zen”). But the other part of me really wants a chair or a couch to sit on, a mug and a kettle to make coffee in the morning, my comfortable slippers.

I am learning to be very patient.  And thankfully, I’m getting out of town for Christmas very soon.

14 Comments
  1. December 22, 2011 8:49 pm

    When I moved back home to Europe leaving Australia, it took six weeks. Things and boxes started arriving and I realised how many things I had forgotten. I mean not “left behind” I mean: forgotten that I owned them, forgotten that I packed them, forgotten already how much I miss them.
    A bit like a stroll through an attic.

  2. December 22, 2011 9:37 pm

    Right in the middle of moving now, too. Air mattress on floor, belongings scattered between 2 apartments, no sense of holiday merriment, no kitchen. It’s miserable. I am also an incredibly impatient person, so I feel your pain. Enjoy your holidays.

  3. December 22, 2011 9:38 pm

    ps-LOVE the wood floors in your new place!

  4. Silvia permalink
    December 22, 2011 9:42 pm

    I totally relate to this posting, Brian. At least the apt seems nice and clean. I have been living as a nomad for the last 3 months….All my stuff is in storage. I´ve learned to live with this new “status” but also realized that we take things for granted and overestimate the stability that home brings.

    Happy Holidays

  5. December 22, 2011 9:55 pm

    we went through that when we moved to brooklyn too. but only for three weeks. but, with a two year old. waiting is so hard. but it will be so great when it arrives! :)

  6. December 22, 2011 11:10 pm

    FIVE WEEKS???!! Sheesh… I, too, love your hardwood floors. :-)

  7. December 23, 2011 2:02 am

    Me too! Air mattress on the floor, check! Few bags of clothes, check! Moving into a new place right before Christmas and having to wait many, many weeks for household goods and favourite things to arrive, check! Add into my mix a very disoriented Siamese cat and a sore back and there you have it.

    I have wood floors too – though they are not nearly as lovely as yours Brian! :-)

    Happy Christmas!

  8. December 23, 2011 3:04 am

    I like being simple with less stuff around me! “Room to breathe (in)”

  9. December 23, 2011 12:47 pm

    Oho, yes, I can so relate. When I moved to Berlin, I was without my things for close to two months. It was so…weird. Like I was missing a limb or walking around with one leg shorter than the other or something. Have a lovely holiday. Hope your stuff is waiting for you when you come back! :)

  10. Jimjam permalink
    December 26, 2011 8:14 pm

    This apartment has such beautiful bones I can tell. Wouldn’t it be nice to just start again, with a pair of jeans, a jumper, three tshirts, two pairs of shoes, a coat, some toiletries, computer, (your coffee maker and mug), camera and a favourite piece of art…

    However if you’re anything like me, you’ll start filling it with so much more of everything to make your house a home.

  11. Jason Gorczynski permalink
    December 28, 2011 5:24 pm

    I absolutely love the top picture. It says so much.

  12. January 3, 2012 4:39 pm

    always nice to follow your life! i’m about to travel to new york, so i’m very curious about your next posts. ah and i was wondering where you bought this amazing bag..?

  13. January 4, 2012 12:45 pm

    Just found your blog from a shout out on the Joy the Baker podcast by Tracy from shutterbean.com. Love it!

    I moved back to US from Scotland in late 2010. Finally adjusted and am now in the supremely nostalgic/missing the UK dreadfully phase.

    I look forward to reading more!

  14. January 11, 2012 2:18 pm

    I do love the first photo very much, the light is magic.

Comments are closed.