Skip to content

Guest Buyer Series for ST&NDARD GOODS

January 6, 2012




[Photograph of yours truly taken by Garrett Colton]

. . . . . .

Garrett Colton owns a very cool shop in L.A. called ST&NDARD GOODS. One of the many neat things that he does is a series called the “Guest Buyer Series”. They ask certain people in various professional and creative fields to go shopping for items for the shop as a “guest buyer”. Half of the proceeds of the sale of these items goes to a charity of the buyer’s choice.

Garrett asked me to participate and I was honored. You can see my Guest Buyer Series HERE (and it even includes a video of me talking (very fast, as usual) about my items).

I chose 6 items that appeal to me in different ways – things I’d want in my house, a shirt I’d like to wear, a favorite vinyl album, an analog camera. And my charity of choice is Fresh Bodegas, a joint project of GrowNYC’s Greenmarket program and Red Jacket Orchards in upstate New York. They make regular deliveries of produce and products from the Wholesale Greenmarket and Red Jacket’s farm in the Finger Lakes to 11 bodegas in Central Harlem and Bed-Stuy, 2 areas of the city with particularly limited access to fresh produce. You can find more info about the charity here – it’s something I really believe in.

Go have a look and buy something! Added bonus: if you buy one of my items, you’ll receive a 4×6 photographic print of the item that I shot. 

It’s all for a good cause and I had a lot of fun with this; Garrett is doing cool stuff at ST&NDARD GOODS and I’m glad to support him. Thanks for having me, Garrett and Christine.

(The full list of previous Guest Buyers can be found here).

2 Comments
  1. January 7, 2012 7:53 am

    lovely:)

  2. January 7, 2012 10:37 am

    brian – that was really wonderful and congrats on being back in Brooklyn. Did you find a place in BK for film? I am still looking – going to Flatiron is SO far since I never really go there.

Comments are closed.