Skip to content

New month, new tunes

February 1, 2012


-
-

. . . . . . . . .
-
-
It’s a new month and I have a new mix to share (it’s been a while, I know).

I think I violated one of the supreme rules of mix-making; the tunes I’ve selected are not connected and don’t necessarily all flow together. But I still like it and I think you might, too. Enjoy.

“Without Rhyme Or Reason (February 2012)”

LISTEN HERE

Track List:
+ Brothers (Tanlines)
+ Atmosphere (Joy Division)
+ To the East (Electrelane)
+ Somebody That I Used to Know (Gotye feat. Kimbra)
+ Municipality (Real Estate)
+ Some of Them Are Old (Brian Eno)
+ Shine Eye Gal (Vincent Foster)
+ Lay Down in the Tall Grass (Timber Timbre)
+ Night (Bill Callahan)
+ Icy Cave Dancers (Breathe Owl Breathe)
+ In the Hearts of Men (First Aid Kit)
+ A Little Lost (Arthur Russell)
+ Halah (Mazzy Star)
+ Gentle On My Mind (Trini Lopez)
+ Sixteen Tons (Tennessee Ernie Ford)

. . . . .

(p.s. – I have to say thank you very much for all of the support and the enthusiasm on my decision to pursue photography full-time; I really appreciate it.  More soon.)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 7:41 pm

    a glass of wine and this, just what i needed! thank you. i love your music mixes. always fun to listen to.

  2. February 1, 2012 8:02 pm

    eeeeeee! your mixes are the best. hopping over there NOW!

  3. February 1, 2012 10:11 pm

    That Timber Timbre song was my song of 2010. So good.

  4. February 1, 2012 10:44 pm

    This photo is getting at that “photography imitating paint” concept, I think.

    • February 2, 2012 9:09 am

      Yes, Brook – I see it, too. Nice to get your thoughts on that, thanks.

  5. February 2, 2012 2:27 am

    Nice list. ‘Halah’ is one of my all time favorite songs. You should make more of these.

  6. February 2, 2012 4:14 am

    Am new to your blog and now thanks I to you have discovered Real Estate. Thanks!

  7. February 2, 2012 6:44 am

    Spot on mix, again, Brian! thank you for sharing!

  8. February 2, 2012 12:04 pm

    Hi Brian,
    Thanks for the beautiful photos and the music. I have been a silent reader/listener for a long time. Just wanted to wish you all the best for your new adventures!
    ~anu

  9. February 2, 2012 12:57 pm

    Can’t wait to listen to the tunes. Thanks Brian and you’re welcome.

  10. February 2, 2012 4:54 pm

    I love your photos and after seeing Joy Division on your playlist I now love your taste in music

  11. February 2, 2012 5:34 pm

    Seeing Breathe Owl Breathe and Real Estate on here makes me excited to check out many of the new-to-me songs. Hurrah! I saw Breathe Owl Breathe play here in Minneapolis last year and highly encourage you to do the same if you get a chance. Thoroughly charming. And funny. Which was unexpected but awesome.

  12. February 6, 2012 3:20 pm

    Great mix! Especially love the Bill Callahan!

Trackbacks

  1. 52 weeks in film: week 4 plus a list for friday

Please leave your comment below. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,427 other followers