Skip to content

Experimenting

March 21, 2012

(click image above for full-size, it’s worth it)

. . . . .

I’m really digging the two images above next to one another. There is something parallel going on that’s exciting to me.

I’ve been thinking lately about blogging. I like dropping in here and sharing stuff like the diptych above. But I hesitated this morning, and I’ve been hesitating lately. WordPress sometimes feels limiting to me – I feel like I need to have a proper blog post ready (a series of photos and words) or else it’s not worth posting. But I know that’s not the case, and I know you’re happy to see any photos that I post, even if it’s just a single image.

In the past, I used this space as my primary outlet for sharing my work. Putting together a blog post each day was easy – I’d compile a bunch of images and share them with you, usually with some writing and/or links. But lately, I’d ideally like to be able to post 1 photo or a bunch of photos whenever I’d like (and throughout the day), without the need to put together a single coherent blog post all the time.

I’ve resisted setting up a Tumblr website (the biggest reason is that I hate the “reblog” feature – that’s a story for another day). But lately, the Tumblr format appeals to me. Maybe I should set up a companion Tumblr to ‘the blue hour’ to share those random photos of mine that don’t feel like they belong in a blog post? I don’t know.

For now, I’m going to try something different on this site. I’ll post with a photo or two, sometimes more, whenever I feel like it throughout the day. It won’t always be a “typical” blog post like you’re used to seeing here.

I still have a lot of enthusiasm to share my photography with you. But I fear that lately, this enthusiasm may not be apparent. I am hoping this new approach will help. Things are different in my life and work now that I’m doing photography full-time. Lately, I can’t take photos exclusively to share here on the blog – I have other priorities and projects that I’m working on, and I’m spending a lot of time working in the background – shooting, editing, designing, thinking, learning (especially learning!).

Let me give you an example — when I was in the UK recently for 10 days, I shot 22 (!!!) rolls of film. Normally, I’d start posting all of those photos here on my blog right away … but I’m saving them right now for a big project in April. I’ll tell you more about the project very soon, and these will be shared eventually in some form or another (I can’t wait for you to see them). But while I work on these photos (and pay for the processing costs!), I don’t have a ton to share here on the blog.

I don’t mean to sound like I’m making excuses (I’ve never felt like I “owe” you blog posts or anything). I’m just thinking this through – it’s important for me to evolve and make some changes so that this space fits in with my life and my work. Things may be a bit different around here but the heart of it will remain – I’m excited to share my photography with you. If you haven’t already, maybe you want to subscribe to the blog and get an email when I post (there’s a place to enter your email and subscribe on the left-hand sidebar). Or add this blog to your RSS feed. That way, you’ll be aware of new photos whenever I post.

Phew! Glad I worked that out.

Now, I need to get back to work with those 22 rolls of film from the UK ….

17 Comments
  1. March 21, 2012 11:23 am

    I think it is a great idea. It is something I have struggled with myself about blogging. I look forward to your posts!

  2. March 21, 2012 11:33 am

    Hey there. I understand your issues with wordpress, I feel like I am in the same boat. I have had a tumblr longer then wordpress, and use it more or less to drop things in there whenever I feel, and to refer to for inspiration when I am feeling dull. BUT I do think having a tumblr as a supplement to your site would be a great idea! There are ways to integrate your tumblr with your wordpress as well, so visitors can acknowledge both. There is also possibly a whole new community awaiting you at tumblr (which is sort of scary) Keep up the good work! I love your blog. – Ashley

  3. Victoria Pichel permalink
    March 21, 2012 11:49 am

    I had felt the same in Blogger, like I owe my readers a daily post with a bunch of pics or a lot of text for content… and I see that it is not necessary at all.
    We bloggers need to know that we are free to post whenever we feel like. May that be a single photograph or just words.

    We enjoy every single tiny bit you post, that’s for sure. Even though it is just one picture :))
    No one is gonna tell you “hey slacker”.

    Hope you can sort it out and fell better with your blogging!

  4. March 21, 2012 12:59 pm

    I did just that on my blog a few days ago and it felt liberating. Finding themes was an obstacle to posting photos. It’s a format I’ll probably go back to because I really liked it. A photo, a couple of lines, or paragraphs and that’s it. Good luck with the project!

  5. March 21, 2012 1:17 pm

    I am a new follower (added you to my feed) and I think however you post your inspirational photos are and should be good enough for anyone reading!! I think lots of us struggle with the same thoughts as our personal blogs, and blogging as a collective whole evolves and changes. its good to have a place to write when we want or just post a photo when we want, or a mix. good luck with your 22 rolls of film!

  6. Susan permalink
    March 21, 2012 4:22 pm

    Brian, I’m a country woman by choice but that photo of the city is truly beautiful. It’s not the first time one of your city photos has taken my breath away.

  7. March 21, 2012 4:33 pm

    I like the sound of re-inventing this space to suit your life and work at the moment. You’ll figure things out, and I’m excited to watch this space evolve with you.

  8. March 21, 2012 4:35 pm

    I hear you on the whole Tumblr issue. I look forward to seeing what next…roll on April (no pun intended, not in reference to the 22 rolls you shot)!

  9. March 21, 2012 6:30 pm

    some thoughts intrigued by your post and what i’ve been thinking lately; i personally started to blog when i lost my brother. mainly because i wanted to express myself and share my new psychotherapeutic passion i.e. photography. non-commercial blogging is a free will way of expression where we are driven by our need to express and share ourselves. i now know that i need to blog whenever i feel the need to blog and wherever is more convenient for me, name it wordpress, custom made blog or tumblr. i also know that i am free to change the parts of this equation to accommodate my ever changing needs. thank god, i stopped checking my stats and started to enjoy my blogging moments more. good luck with whatever you choose to do. the way you see the world is what it counts.

  10. March 21, 2012 7:28 pm

    Well I think you should whatever motivates you and I’m glad you want to keep sharing, I certaintly like following.
    But please no Tumblr (personally i don’t like the format but that’s not my point) – in google reader it’s impossible to read/see images, looks quite bad.
    Anyway, do as you please and looking forward to hear about your projects and new photos!

  11. March 21, 2012 7:29 pm

    let loose and post away!!! it could be really liberating to post without having to form a cohesive thought process behind it. let us see you in-process :)

  12. March 21, 2012 8:38 pm

    be yourself!

  13. March 21, 2012 9:10 pm

    I understand the need to change things up when you blog. I don’t care how you post, just please keep sharing your awesome work! ;)

  14. March 22, 2012 6:22 am

    Tumblr, blogger, wordpress… what matters is not the frame, but what you put in it.

  15. Gail permalink
    March 22, 2012 10:06 am

    The beauty of the blog is that it’s YOURS and we’re sort of here for the ride. No rules! (“Look, mom! No hands!”) So have fun with it! Changing up the usual blog format isn’t a crime — it just means we all change with you.

  16. March 22, 2012 10:13 am

    This is why I started my wordless series, to be able to just post a photo or a few that don’t need explanations or the formal structure of a blog post. (Plus it was a way for me to be like, I’m not going to tell you the fucking recipe for this soup/where I got those shoes/where that restaurant is, ha!) I find it difficult to keep up when bloggers have separate blogs, I don’t use tumblr so I just don’t follow other tumblrs as it would require me to put them in my reader and it’s confusing. But that’s just me. I think if you just posted random photos here that were looser in structure it would be great.

  17. March 23, 2012 4:03 am

    totally relate.
    processes and approaches change all the time, and isn’t that quite wonderful.

    looking forward to hearing/seeing about the big project!

Comments are closed.