Skip to content

Sussex

April 3, 2012






. . . . . . . .

Earlier this week, an email led me to the work of photographer Anne Schwalbe.
I have been looking through her portfolio again and again, so inspired by what she captures.  It made me feel like shooting medium format film only – her vision is perfectly expressed through the square format. When you see someone who uses square format so well, it’s really something incredible. For me, it’s instructive to look at her composition and color and her choice of subject matter. I don’t always feel like I use my Hasselblad and the square format to its best advantage – Anne’s work is teaching me something and I’ll be looking to it quite often.  I find it subtle and powerful.

. . .

A note about the photos above – these were all taken with my Hasselblad in Sussex, UK last month. I have many photos that will not make it into the show at ST&NDARD GOODS so I’ll continue to share some of these photos here.  Eventually, the entire set will be added to my portfolio.  Looking forward to showing you more of the series.

(and for those of you who have asked to buy my prints before, this will be a great opportunity to purchase some of my new work – stay tuned for details)

9 Comments
  1. April 3, 2012 3:09 pm

    I could look at these pictures all day. Great job, Brian.

  2. April 3, 2012 4:40 pm

    A real gift–you and your photographs!

  3. April 3, 2012 11:14 pm

    Lovely shots – I’m loving square format at the minute too.

  4. April 4, 2012 4:23 am

    Beautiful. It’s true that square format and landscapes match well.

  5. April 4, 2012 6:05 am

    Thanks for sharing the information about Anne Schwalbe, I’m very keen to investigate more of her work now it’s great.

  6. April 4, 2012 7:40 am

    Brian; you explained so very well why I literally only ‘do’ square formats – they just seem to pass a message so much better than those other formats!
    Wonderful photography, I agree with a former writer that looking at those shots is SO soothing – one could get lost!

  7. April 4, 2012 9:30 am

    Nice shots, last one is my favourite..

  8. April 4, 2012 10:07 am

    Hi Brian,

    I love your photos, they are really beautiful. Please, come and have a look at my photos and share your thoughts!

    http://anishkaboumashka.wordpress.com/

    anishkaboumashka

  9. April 5, 2012 6:02 am

    Love that lonely beer.

Comments are closed.