Skip to content

Peter Shire, South Willard, etc.

May 1, 2012




. . . . .


Top Photo: a mug by Peter Shire, from South Willard
Bottom Photo: diffuser (I just like this one so I threw it in)


. . .


When I was in LA, one of the shops I visited was South Willard. I’ve admired it from afar for a long time and it was great to finally stop by in person and see the space and their products. Pieces from owner Ryan Conder’s personal art collection hang throughout the shop and man, is it beautiful. He has incredible taste.

He had a display of Peter Shire ceramic mugs in the shop, and I was really happy bring one home with me.  Beautiful stuff.

And here are some great photos from Brutus magazine of the interior of South Willard.

I also saw 2 photos from Arthur Ou hanging at the shop (see some of his work here). Nice to see these prints.




N.B.:
I didn’t have time to go while I was there, but if you’re in LA there is a Peter Shire exhibit at Lora Schlesinger Gallery in Santa Monica.
(To me, some of Peter’s work seems to embody a distinct aesthetic of Southern California in the 1980s. I can see it displayed in the house from Beetlejuice, post- ultra-modern renovation … if you know what I mean…)

Comments are closed.