Skip to content

Thunderstorm blue

May 4, 2012




. . . . . .

+ Top image is a photograph by Daren Wilson that I found online and I love.  There are many beautiful images on his site.
+ Bottom image is my photograph – the result of shaky hands and a poor film scan, but this pairing brings it to life.  I’m digging the blur and the darkness here.

. . . . . .

Last night I woke up in the middle of the night and it was pouring rain outside … a thunderstorm, I realized.  In my dark apartment, the lightning was magnified and intense.  In the morning, I thought I dreamt it. Did I?

I think of the color in both photographs as nightmarish – it’s the color of a really intense thunderstorm, threatening and ominous.  Deep blues tinged with ochre.  Clouds churning with rain.  Epic.

12 Comments
  1. May 4, 2012 6:18 am

    That first photograph is so powerful. I love the sea, even if it’s wild and untameable. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. May 4, 2012 7:16 am

    yes. loving that tinge of ochre. such a good color, ashame how often i forget to call it by its rightful name.

  3. randall permalink
    May 4, 2012 8:27 am

    Funny. I get a different vibe from the top photo. To me it looks like the tail end of an intense storm with the sun about 20 minutes from breaking through and the whole about to do a 180.

  4. Ana permalink
    May 4, 2012 8:59 am

    These two photographs are a beautiful pairing, Brian. Beautiful – Powerful – What an urgency of movement and stillness. P.S.: you were not dreaming….

  5. May 4, 2012 10:46 am

    I feel drawn to that top image, I want to feel the spray of the water, to hear the roaring of the ocean- definitely powerful. The second image reminds me of a stormy day when I’m trapped inside all day, go for a nap, and wake in the dark, confused. What time is it? Where am I? Is it still today?

  6. May 4, 2012 3:18 pm

    top picture kinda reminds me of a bedsheet!

  7. May 4, 2012 3:19 pm

    oops i misspelled my own name

  8. May 5, 2012 2:40 pm

    I miss intense thunderstorms. Hoping for more….

  9. May 6, 2012 10:19 am

    I love thunderstorms. They’re nature strenght and passion.

  10. May 7, 2012 6:59 pm

    That colour in Daren’s photograph is haunting. I’ll definitely be spending some time looking at his work. Thank you for sharing!

  11. May 8, 2012 11:55 am

    The combination of photos works so perfectly here. That dark blue light in your shot makes me feel like I’m sitting home with the power out, waiting out the storm…

  12. March 18, 2013 7:07 am

    Amazing shot of rude sea.
    Love it!

Comments are closed.