Skip to content

May 11

May 11, 2012




. . . . . .

Friday thoughts:
+ I think I missed lilac season this year while I was in LA – they came so early.  I paid EIGHT DOLLARS for the bunch in the photo above, and they weren’t even fragrant (and they were dead in 24 hours)
+ I refuse to miss asparagus season so I picked up a big bunch at the market this afternoon. Shaved asparagus for dinner tonight.
+ Next week, I’m excited to show you a limited edition poster that I made in connection with my exhibition at Standard Goods. I’ll offer it for sale on my website – stay tuned.
+ I liked this post about standing up for ourselves as photographers, from Jake Stangel (I still find myself at the stage where I struggle to get publications/clients to simply reimburse my film processing costs – never mind pay me! – but baby steps, right? Jake makes a great point, regardless).
+ Many more photos from California once I meet a few deadlines in the next couple of days (and after I scan a few more rolls of film).  Slowly but surely …

10 Comments
  1. May 11, 2012 3:52 pm

    i wish someone would slowly and surely scan my film :) eating shaved asparagus pizza right this moment- enjoy dinner, bf.

  2. May 11, 2012 3:54 pm

    i didn’t miss the lilac season, and still they were utterly disappointing. each bunch that i picked up at the greenmarket (for $8 also!) died within 24 hours. And made a terrible mess. I’ve moved onto peonies. :)

  3. May 11, 2012 5:21 pm

    I have a really cheesy, dreamy grin on my face right now. Because of the lilacs, because of the shaved asparagus, because I like visiting here and I too want to move on to peonies. PS. Loving the California shots. Will wait patiently, while gazing at flowers of course.

  4. May 11, 2012 9:52 pm

    I don’t think lilacs ever last long once they’ve been cut, whether you pay $8 or not! Enjoy your asparagus!

  5. May 12, 2012 3:40 am

    The picture is beautiful.
    It is good that you mention the lilac. I have to find some later. Hopefully it isn’t to late for that here.

  6. May 12, 2012 1:41 pm

    Thanks for sharing that post by Jake Stangel, figuring out the whole freelance thing and how the industry works can be a mystery for those of us just getting started.

  7. May 12, 2012 9:44 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing that post by Jake. Baby steps are always good. Dear god. $8 for lilacs. Though, either way, they last the same amount of time. :p

  8. May 13, 2012 6:57 pm

    Lilacs. I’ve been pilfering mine from a tree down the road, as our property is too shady to grow them. You need lilacs in the house to make it officially spring, I think.

    Jake’s post is a real zinger, and, sadly, not surprising. It won’t comfort you to know that this is a problem in all the so-called creative services, design (my field) included. Definitely, definitely stand up for yourself, preferably with a nice legal document that protects both you and the client. (But I’m sure you know that!)

    Oh, and congrats on going full-time. Not sure I ever said…

  9. anny loring permalink
    May 14, 2012 1:03 pm

    l.a. struggles with lilacs, and peonies, if you grew up with them and could smell them from 1/2 a block away, l.a.’s look right, but require your head deep within for any fragrance. it is an annual reminder that you aren’t a local.

  10. May 15, 2012 12:02 pm

    Hi Brian, I just found your blog and I love it! I have been looking through some of your older entries about London and I find your enthusiasm for the city really charming, something I NEED to keep in my mind more. I am very much enjoying your recent photos also, the wilds of the Californian coast line, very beautiful indeed. I will visit again

Comments are closed.