Skip to content

The View From Here

May 28, 2012

Untitled


Untitled






. . . . . . .



Memorial Day weekend, 2012.

It’s hot and humid in Brooklyn. I’ve started propping the fan next to my bed at night, and I packed away the down comforter. The subways will soon be unbearably hot but for now, they are nice and cool. We’ve had thunderstorms every day for the past week – big, huge thunderstorms that flood the back garden and send slugs into my apartment. Walking around Fort Greene yesterday, it smelled like BBQs. There are roses all over Williamsburg and everyone is wearing cut-off shorts.

9 Comments
  1. May 28, 2012 10:31 am

    I miss that turn of seasons in NYC from cold to hot. It puts everyone in a great buzzing, excited mood. But I do not miss the humidity so I just remind myself that bit, ha.

  2. May 28, 2012 2:17 pm

    Lovely pictures, especially the third one! I am a little sad that spring is already over and it’s summer now! Soon the fans will be replaced by window-ACs…sigh!

    ~anu

  3. May 28, 2012 6:17 pm

    Such a nice contrast between red and green on the first photo!

  4. May 28, 2012 8:52 pm

    Love the scene in front the window. I’d take slugs any day over house centipedes :)

  5. May 29, 2012 12:31 am

    Another fantastic set. I love the first picture with its contrasts!

  6. May 29, 2012 3:44 pm

    It sounds like a really lovely time to be in Brooklyn. Love the light on the bar photo.

  7. May 31, 2012 3:37 am

    Love the very first picture!

  8. June 1, 2012 10:49 am

    Oh my gosh, I just moved here from northern California and am NOT accustomed to the humidity! And summer hasn’t really hit, has it? But, as I walked around Williamsburg last Sunday, I felt inordinately happy knowing I could wear my dress into the night without having to put on a jacket.

  9. June 3, 2012 9:59 am

    I began wearing skirts and big hats; my cat sleeps on tiles warmed by the sun; the air smells like jasmine, at night. Happy Summer, Brian :-)

Comments are closed.