Skip to content

Plant Life

June 8, 2012















. . . . . . . . .


Summertime is here and I’m attempting (once again) to keep some plants at home.

As hoped, I enlisted the assistance of my very knowledgeable friend Amy.  Earlier this week, we drove out to a wholesale nursery on Long Island and picked shade-loving plants for my back garden and houseplants that I will (hopefully) be able to keep alive indoors.  On the drive back, we stopped at the most incredible diner for a turkey melt and a burger, a slice of cherry pie and coffee. When we got back to Brooklyn that evening, we got our hands good & dirty and re-potted all of the plants.  Then we patted ourselves on the back for a job well done and poured a glass of wine.

I will not kill my plants.
I will not kill my plants.
I will not kill my plants.

(thank you, Amy!)

11 Comments
  1. June 8, 2012 7:24 pm

    Haha…. I have to chant that too! I will not kill my plants. I will not forget to water them. I will not water them every day to the point that they drown. I will not kill my plants.

  2. June 8, 2012 11:17 pm

    That fourth from the bottom picture is my favourite, for some reason. Good luck on the keeping the plants alive! Hopefully we’ll see more of them further into the summer.

  3. June 8, 2012 11:56 pm

    Love the shot of the white door, and the one of the plants in front of the bricks. Looks like you made some beautiful choices – now we will all chant with you :)

  4. June 9, 2012 1:35 am

    Love these forever, of course! Wishing you luck with the plants.

  5. June 9, 2012 4:53 am

    You can do it mate! (Looking forward to seeing these for myself soon…)

  6. June 9, 2012 8:11 am

    I love your work so much. You inspire me.

  7. June 9, 2012 12:05 pm

    lovely photos. good luck on not killing the plants though my favorite gardeners always tell me that it’s all part of the learning process :) do you know what type of plant is in the third photo from the top?

  8. June 10, 2012 2:48 pm

    Haha I’m sure you’ll take very good care of your new plants :) These photos are wonderful! I’m enchanted by that second photo of the greenhouse!

  9. June 25, 2012 10:00 am

    I’m craving a slice of that cherry pie. And you will not kill your plants :-)

  10. June 28, 2012 2:17 pm

    these reminded me so strongly of the greenhouses at kew gardens! love them all.

  11. August 24, 2012 4:40 am

    Lovely images, as always. Which plants did well? I have to replant with shade loving greenery too, and forget about roses and citrus after a couple of trees grew a bit too much in front of my house.

Comments are closed.