Skip to content

Miscellany

June 26, 2012

Untitled



. . . .



Hello, again.

We have a lot to catch up on.

I want to tell you about summer here, and how it’s a nice change from the past 2 summers I spent in the UK (read: fewer chilly grey days and rain showers, more hot sun and humidity and tacos). There was a heat wave in NYC last week that was, to put it mildly, intense. I am drinking really cold beer and lots of dark & stormies. I’ve had friends visiting from Edinburgh for a couple of weeks and I will have photos to share soon. Later today, I’m off to meet them for a few days of driving, a beach, lobster rolls, a museum, and porch-sitting.

It’s good to take a break from posting here every now and then. It gives me perspective and helps me to understand what I might want to share here. That question has been more difficult for me to answer lately, though I’m still not sure why.  I do know that I want to post my photos – and post them often.  Mulling it over.

But in the meantime, I’ve been working hard and taking lots of photos – for various projects and journals and people and also, just for fun.  It’s been nice – and I’ll share some of this new work beginning next week.

Today I wanted to tell you that I’m contributing to a new journal called synonym and I am really excited about this new venture.   I’m also stoked about the photos I submitted – it’s fresh work that I’m very proud of.  Leigh asked me a question to post on their website recently, and you can read my answer here.  The photo above is an outtake from my synonym submission.  I love to stare at this one.

More soon.

13 Comments
  1. randall permalink
    June 26, 2012 10:49 am

    That watermelon shot looks like it should be an album cover. If I was in a band I would use it for that.

  2. June 26, 2012 11:09 am

    Nearly a decade in NYC, and only now am I learning that there’s more to local radio than Hot 97. WQXR has already won me over: I’m listening at this moment to Stokowski’s recording of Vaughan Williams’s “Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis,” one of my favorites. Thank you, as usual, Brian, for bettering my life in all the little ways that count.

    PS. I also really love the Sunday 10am-2pm broadcasts on WKCR.

  3. June 26, 2012 11:20 am

    Beautiful take.

  4. June 26, 2012 12:33 pm

    Vancouver pictures sometime soon?

  5. June 26, 2012 1:26 pm

    Hey, where’d you find that dancing watermelon? Great hearing about all of your projects. I’m excited for you.

  6. June 26, 2012 9:23 pm

    I love this shot a lot. I understand about taking a break from posting. It gives a new fresh perspective/change upon returning for sure.

  7. June 26, 2012 10:23 pm

    Thank you for the link to Synonym. I can’t wait to explore. And that sounds like me right now: trying to decide what it is exactly I would like to share on my blog. I can’t wait to see what you decide. Change is always exciting.

  8. June 26, 2012 11:18 pm

    Looking forward for all your awesome photos and updates. Hope you’re still enjoying the warm days!

  9. randall permalink
    June 27, 2012 8:40 am

    @winyang

    If you like music, check out Columbia University’s radio station 89.9, Fordham University’s radio station 90.7 and WFMU 91.1

    All great stations and all have super diverse programming.

  10. June 27, 2012 11:14 am

    Greetings from the summer land of chilly grey days and rain showers here in the UK with watermelon days hiding somewhere in the mists out there . . .

  11. June 27, 2012 3:15 pm

    oh man this image ruullesss!

  12. Betsy permalink
    July 1, 2012 7:42 pm

    i just love how light-hearted your words in this post feel. sending love!

  13. July 5, 2012 9:29 am

    I love reading your simple, eloquent posts and looking at your pictures. I’m not a photographer, but I love food and travel, and it’s fun to vicariously, greedily peek in on your NYC and formerly London existences. Even if you’re not sure what the focus is/should be to your posts, what you’ve got going on is working!

Comments are closed.