Skip to content

Summer, all of the time

July 2, 2012

Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Encinitas, California


. . . . . . . . .



It’s July and it’s hot hot hot in NYC these days. So I’ve put together a new mix of tunes, lots of them inspired by my trip to LA in April (some of these are songs that I listened to on repeat during my travels out west). So fix yourself a cold, cold drink, play these tunes and let’s make this one hell of a memorable summer.

LISTEN HERE.

Track List:

+ Albatross (Fleetwood Mac)
+ Parties in the USA (Jonathan Richman)
+ Always Waitin’ (The Paris Sisters)
+ I Can Only Give You Everything (Nick Waterhouse)
+ Catamaran (Allah-Las)
+ Mockingbird (Inez & Charlie Foxx)
+ This Is How We Walk On The Moon (Arthur Russell)
+ Ivory Coast (Pure Bathing Culture)
+ Wax (Theme Park)
+ Love is Luck (The Walkmen)
+ Paris 1919 (John Cale)
+ For The Sake of The Song (Townes van Zandt)
+ Hard Life (Bonnie “Prince” Billy)
+ Crooked Branches (JBM)
+ Andalucia (Yo La Tengo)
+ Summer Camp (Summer Camp)

15 Comments
  1. July 2, 2012 5:51 pm

    You know how to pick a winner, Brian. Love that top photo — brings out that singular quality of water of straddling solid and liquid at the same time. Almost looks like a diorama made out of clay, or like thick layers of paint.

  2. July 2, 2012 5:57 pm

    Albatross just made my summer mix as well! Could listen to it on repeat. Great pics as always.

  3. July 2, 2012 6:40 pm

    clay, or thick layers of paint … or cement … or cake frosting? Holy wow.

  4. July 2, 2012 9:15 pm

    this is one hell of a playlist!
    great songs, and let me tell you… it works great in winter, too.
    thanks for taking the time to arrange it for us!

  5. July 2, 2012 10:47 pm

    Love all the gradients there are to the water. And can’t wait to listen to this summer mix!

  6. July 3, 2012 3:35 am

    I can hear the gentle waves of Albatross in these stunning shots!

    (It’s July and it’s still cold, wet and dreary here in the UK. . . )

  7. July 3, 2012 8:51 am

    Man alive, that J. Richman song is one of my all-time favorites. (Much living-room and porch dancing, beer bottle in hand, has occurred to it.) Great playlist.

  8. July 3, 2012 9:15 am

    I wish I could bathe in your photos.

  9. Ana permalink
    July 3, 2012 2:30 pm

    Walkmen and van Zandt — Phew! :-) Amen to a memorable summer.

  10. July 3, 2012 3:39 pm

    I’ve been waiting patiently for a new summer mix. I listen to your other ones on repeat.

  11. July 3, 2012 7:06 pm

    I love that you included a Fleetwood Mac song I’ve never heard before, rad.

  12. Ana permalink
    July 3, 2012 11:21 pm

    Would love to add this mix to my ipod but can’t figure out how to download it…does anyone? This is good stuff.

  13. July 4, 2012 2:06 pm

    Great shots!!! That reminds how really I need vacations and how happy I am that they start this Friday and I will sea my cold but lovely sea, I would definitely would like to have any of these photo hanging on my wall :)

  14. July 15, 2012 6:51 am

    Can just imagine the sound of waves lapping the shore…wonderful

Trackbacks

  1. notes on her personal experiences » a piece of advice

Comments are closed.