Skip to content

Summer lately, part 1

July 6, 2012

Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled



. . . . . . . . .



I will let the photos above speak for themselves. But this is a little bit of what summer looks like around here lately. Visiting friends, enjoying NYC, looking for air conditioned spots whenever possible, cold drinks, good food, sprinklers, summer light. It is hot hot hot, but I can’t complain. I’m taking cold showers and trying to find a pool/ocean/river/lake whenever possible. Lots of ice to keep cool.

I have many more summer photos to share, too … I’ll keep posting them here over the coming days & weeks.

And speaking of summer: I shared my summer reading list with Erik Heywood of the incredible Book/Shop. (you can see all of the summer reading lists contributed by others HERE – so many good reads.)

. . .


(side note – I realize that some of the images above look fuzzy. WordPress continues to compress my images, making them look like shit. Now it seems that hosting them on Flickr and pasting the html still results in a loss of image quality when I post them here. It’s frustrating – I’m trying to find a solution… if the WordPress gods are reading this, FIX THE PROBLEM OR PROVIDE A WORK-AROUND. Thank you.)

24 Comments
  1. July 6, 2012 11:25 am

    Thank goodness for vicarious summer!

  2. Marcos permalink
    July 6, 2012 11:30 am

    Wow!

  3. July 6, 2012 11:31 am

    … :) and I thought you did all that fuzziness on purpose to show us how summery it really is! honestly, I did!
    All those gorgeous bar-drinkies-shots made me smile and so thirsty, that before replying, I had to go to the fridge and pull out a ‘panaché’ (in France), shandy (in UK), Radler (in Germany) to quench my sudden extreme thirst! Thanks a million – this is so wonderful

  4. July 6, 2012 11:55 am

    I actually just vented similar frustration re: WordPress compressing/degrading images in a recent blog post as well. (http://ruinista.com/2012/07/03/recently-but-really-just-this-past-saturday/) I’ve talked to a gazillion tech-y people about this, and no one can explain to me how to get around this problem, short of leaving WordPress. It has been endlessly frustrating.

    Your photos, regardless, are wonderful!

  5. July 6, 2012 12:02 pm

    Bryan, I don’t know what to say! Those pictures are incredible! It is so amazing how you transfer the light of American summer into my Berlin flat!!! I love your pictures! Keep on this wonderful work!

  6. July 6, 2012 12:29 pm

    i love them all. you’ve captured summer in the city so fantastically. the sprinkler shot especially reminds me of stories my dad used to tell about his boyhood in philly in the early 60’s…they used to run under fire hydrants when it got too brutally hot. or so he says :)

  7. July 6, 2012 2:37 pm

    Talk about capturing a mood and a moment…beautiful as always!

  8. July 6, 2012 3:18 pm

    I love, love, love your summer images! I feel summer in the city just by looking at them.

  9. Esther permalink
    July 7, 2012 4:18 am

    Gorgeous.

  10. July 7, 2012 7:59 am

    Oh man, so so many gems here mate…and so many wonderful memories. Thank you from waterlogged Edinburgh!

  11. July 7, 2012 8:29 am

    Such a crazy light in these ! Gorgeous post !

  12. July 7, 2012 10:57 am

    Oh you must be glad you left London. The summer here so far has consisted of; rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, rain. Lucky escape!

  13. July 7, 2012 12:04 pm

    Thanks for making us live a bit of your summer: you really made me crave for lobsters and oysters and fountains.

  14. July 8, 2012 9:08 am

    These are really brilliant. Craving a summer that looks like that! Nothing but rain here.

  15. settleandchase permalink
    July 8, 2012 2:28 pm

    Looks like a perfect Summer..

  16. July 8, 2012 10:22 pm

    Wonderful. Incredible set – I can’t believe you have more to come! That light … those drinks … oh life, such beauty in the details!

  17. July 9, 2012 8:28 am

    great set, brian! it’s cooled down to around 30 degrees here – amazing how 30 degrees seems cool after a heatwave! hope temps are cooling down a bit in new york now!

  18. July 9, 2012 9:13 am

    These are so good Brian, I need to look at these every day at the moment to try and remember how that sun felt – I keep trying to remind myself just how hot it was but I already miss it…

  19. July 9, 2012 10:26 am

    absolutely fantastic…

  20. July 10, 2012 10:08 pm

    That picture of the boats in the harbour is beautiful. And it looks like you’ve been eating all sorts of wonderful food lately. And hopefully wordpress starts working for you a little more.

  21. July 15, 2012 11:08 am

    Reblogged this on christophercplatt and commented:
    beautiful recorded blog

  22. July 18, 2012 7:27 am

    Man, I would kill for a freshly shucked oyster right now. Thank you for these wonderful snapshots!

  23. July 30, 2012 11:50 am

    hey brian, if it’s not too much trouble, could you remember the name of the restaurant in the 21st/22nd picture down? beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. The Wind Down « wanderlust.

Comments are closed.