Skip to content

Summer lately, part 2

July 9, 2012

Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled


Untitled



. . . . . . .


We spent 2 Friday afternoons escaping the heat in cool, air-conditioned museums.

First, the Met where we slowly wandered around the Ellsworth Kelly Plant Drawings exhibit (go see this!). After we finished, we walked to the Sackler Wing to watch crazy summer thunderstorms lash at the huge windows and the trees and apartment buildings outside. After it ended, in a different wing we saw the most stunning light filtering through large windows, green trees & gold rays.

The following Friday, we went to Dia: Beacon for the day and I left there wishing I could move in to the space.  The quality of light in the gallery is a marvel itself (no photos allowed indoors, sadly).  We found lots of inspiration and I spent time with pieces that really made me think.  It was too hot outside to visit Storm King and we spent the better part of the day at Dia.  But I am already planning a return day trip up the Hudson River.

Somewhat related: summer thunderstorms – I forgot how much I love these.

My shutters are closed lately to block out the hot sun, which means my apartment can be dark.  But the light that does filter through has been really nice.

More summer shots tomorrow.

16 Comments
  1. July 9, 2012 11:03 am

    Wow the photos are truly beautiful.

  2. July 9, 2012 11:22 am

    this is a wonderful set of images, ferry.
    now i’m homesick for summer..

  3. July 9, 2012 12:19 pm

    Shot #3 is such a beauty.

  4. July 9, 2012 2:54 pm

    The second and third to last pictures are BEAUTIFUL!

  5. haeshu permalink
    July 9, 2012 11:05 pm

    sultry. as it should be…

  6. apattus permalink
    July 10, 2012 12:25 am

    I like your diary, I set your page in my chrome :)

  7. July 10, 2012 3:58 am

    Summer storms make me think of young lovers, kisses and bare feet.

  8. July 10, 2012 6:36 pm

    Wow, that top shot reminds me so much of the Accademia in Florence – intentional gallery mimicry or just happenstance? I am loving your summer shots – they are so evocative, and my reaction to them is almost visceral. It reminds me of some of my favorite summer novels – where you absorb the imagery and it is almost as though you have lived it. Keep ’em coming!

  9. July 10, 2012 10:09 pm

    I like that picture of the lights with the rain in the leaves. You’ve got some wonderful summer-y shots here.

  10. July 11, 2012 9:02 am

    i love your description of the storm against the windows of the museum, and then the subsequent golden light filtering through. moments like that make me so incredibly excited to be alive.

    beautiful collection.

  11. July 15, 2012 11:52 pm

    The mood and light in the rain and after rain photos is incredible. I like Hannah’s description of these being sultry, so true. Dang, I miss thunderstorms!

  12. July 16, 2012 3:14 pm

    beautiful collection…very nice!!

  13. July 19, 2012 6:18 pm

    The light is so enchanting…the hanging lights and the lanterns are lovely

  14. traceykinohio permalink
    August 12, 2012 7:28 pm

    All amazing, but my fave has got to be #7 – that long slash of light through the shade. Really nice photos.

Trackbacks

  1. Light and Shadow | Chez Moi
  2. Sgtbungles

Comments are closed.